Haas Claims Williams Grove Sprint Main

MECHANICSBURG, PA – Cory Haas claimed the 25-lap sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, holding off late race challenges by Ryan Smith for the $4,080 payday.

Aboard the Trone No. 39, Haas also started on the pole of his main event and took the lead over Robbie Kendall on the first lap.

The first caution flag of the race came out on lap six, erasing a 2.199 second lead that Haas had built over Kendall and Smith.

Smith used the inside on the restart to get by Kendall for second in the third and fourth turns before another caution flag with nine down for a slowed Adrian Shaffer again bunched the field.

Freddie Rahmer, who started 12th in the field, drove from sixth to fourth on the restart, getting by Kody Lehman and Brian Montieth.

Montieth later withdrew from the event.

Haas was in control using the cushion and seemed to be home free for the win when a final yellow flag again slowed the pace, this time with three laps to go.

Smith kept the pressure on Haas when green replaced the yellow flag but Haas withstood the challenges to pick up his ninth career oval victory by .420 seconds.

It was the York drivers first speedway win of the season.

Smith crossed the line in second spot followed by Kendall, Rahmer and 13th starter Danny Dietrich.

Sixth through 10th went to Anthony Macri, Kyle Moody, Chad Trout, Kody Lehman and Rick Lafferty.

Heats went to Kendall and Haas.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website located at www.williamsgrove.com or by following the track on Twitter and Facebook.

Feature finish:


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Cory Haas, 2. Ryan Smith, 3. Robbie Kendall, 4. Freddie Rahmer, 5. Danny Dietrich, 6. Anthony Macri, 7. Kyle Moody, 8. Chad Trout, 9. Kody Lehman, 10. Rick Lafferty, 11. Rodney Westhafer, 12. Troy Fraker, 13. Dylan Norris, 14. Brian Montieth, 15. TJ Stutts, 16. Adrian Shaffer, 17. Mark Smith

DNS: Greg Plank