$20,000 to Win Jim Nace Memorial to Offer Biggest Winners Share of Unsanctioned 410 Race

Ray Tilley Classic- Selinsgrove Speedway - 11 TJ Stutts

SELINSGROVE, PA – Selinsgrove Speedway will present the Jim Nace Memorial/37th Annual National Open for 410 sprint cars, the track’s crown jewel race, at 7 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 14.

This year’s Open will offer $20,000 to win – the biggest winner’s share for an un-sanctioned sprint car race in Pennsylvania in 2019! The race will pay $6,000 to finish second and $600 to start the A-main out of the $50,000 purse!

Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format. The Fast Tees Fast Time Award will pay $300.

Grandstand and pit gates will open at 4 p.m. Qualifying is slated to begin at 7 p.m. The rain date, if needed, will be Sunday, Sept. 15, at 6 p.m.

For the 10th straight year, the 410 Open will honor the life and racing career of Nace, the track’s only five-time sprint car champion who died in November 2009 following a seven-year battle with cancer.

The PASS/IMCA 305 sprint cars will compete in a 20-lap feature to round out the open wheel doubleheader.

In last year’s race, Ryan Smith of Kunkletown out-dueled third-generation racer Freddie Rahmer of Salfordville for his first victory in one of central Pennsylvania’s most prestigious sprint car races.

Hall of Famer Fred Rahmer of Salfordville is the track’s only five-time winner of the Open with victories in 1995, 1996, 1997, 1999, and 2000.

In 2014, the late Greg Hodnett of Spring Grove became the third driver to win the Open four times. Hodnett’s other Open victories came in 1998, 2004, and 2007. Todd Shaffer of Millerstown is the other driver on the Open career win list with four championships in 1993, 1994, 2001, and 2008.

In 2013, Pat Cannon of Etters joined the late Maynard Yingst of Linglestown and Rahmer as only the third driver to win three consecutive National Opens. Cannon also won in 2012 and 2011. Yingst’s wins in the Open occurred in 1983, 1984, and 1985.

Other past repeat winners include Lance Dewease of Fayetteville (2002, 2009, 2010), Don Kreitz Jr. of Sinking Spring (1986 and 1992), and Lucas Wolfe of Mechanicsburg (2005 and 2016).

Single-time winners of the Open include Dave Blaney of Cortland, Ohio (1987); Keith Kauffman of Mifflintown (1988); Doug Wolfgang of Sioux Falls, S.D. (1989); Sammy Swindell of Bartlett, Tenn. (1990); Johnny Mackison Jr. of York (1991); Stevie Smith of Broken Arrow, Okla. (2003); Chad Layton of Harrisburg (2006); Danny Dietrich of Gettysburg (2015); and Brian Brown of Grain Valley, Mo. (2017).

Following the National Open for sprint cars, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series will invade Selinsgrove Speedway for the Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center 21st Annual Late Model National Open Saturday, Sept. 21, paying $10,000 to win. The limited late models will share the racing program with the super late models on the final racing card of the season.

For a complete schedule, the latest news, results, and race status, visit selinsgrovespeedway.com or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can be reached at 570.374.2266.

Purse for 2019 Jim Nace Memorial/37th Annual National Open for 410 Sprint Cars: 1) $20,000 2) $6,000 3) $3,500 4) $2,500 5) $2,000 6) $1,700 7) $1,400 8) $1,300 9) $1,200 10) $1,100 11) $1,000 12) $800 13) $750 14) $700 15) $650 16-24) $600 Gates Open: 4PM Race Time: 7PM Rain Date: Sunday, Sept. 16, 6PM Also Racing: PASS/IMCA 305 Sprint Cars Admission for Saturday, Sept. 14: Adults $30; Students (12-17) $15; Kids 11 & Under FREE: Pit Passes $40