Gular Pockets $3,000 for Modified Checkers at Grandview

Hodnett Cup - Ollie's Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions - Grandview Speedway - 2A Mike Gular

BECHTELSVILLES, PA – It was a wet and wild night of racing at Grandview Speedway on Thursday night, as Levan Machine and Truck Equipment presented the Inaugural Hodnett Cup as part of the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series. Mike Gular won the NASCAR 358 Modified main event.

Gular of Harleysville, PA picked up the $3,000 win in the NASCAR 358 portion of the evening’s event.

Dylan Swinhart and Alex Yankowski made up the front row of the 30 lap feature event – but it was Gular who took the lead heading down the backstretch of the one-third-mile dirt track, with Duane Howard moving into the second position just one circuit later.

Gular and Howard dueled for the top spot for the first half of the event, before a lap 16 yellow flag slowed the action and reset the field.

A three-car battle for the win between Gular, Howard, and Jeff Strunk brought the event down to the wire.

Door-to-Door drag racing to the checkered flag, Gular picked up the win with Howard in second, Jeff Strunk in third, Craig VonDohren in fourth and Jared Umbenhauer in the fifth position.

Modified Heat races were won by Doug Manmiller, Jeff Strunk, and Dylan Swinehart. 29 NASCAR 358 Modifieds were signed in to compete.

The NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series returns on Saturday, October 19 with the Modifieds in a Big Block and Small Block Showdown, Sportsman, and MASS 305 Sprint Cars.

For more information visit

NASCAR 358 Modifieds
Heat 1 (10 Laps) – 1. Doug Manmiller 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Craig VonDohren 4. Ryan Watt 5. Briggs Danner 6. Louden Reimert

Heat 2 (10 Laps) – 1. Jeff Strunk 2. Jared Umbenhauer 3. Richie Pratt, Jr. 4. Alex Yankowski 5. Rick Laubach 6. Kevin Hirthler

Heat 3 (10 Laps) – 1. Dylan Swinehart 2. Duane Howard 3. Danny Erb 4. Mike Gular 5. Ryan Grim 6. Jack Butler

Feature (30 Laps) – 1. Mike Gular 2. Duane Howard 3. Jeff Strunk 4. Craig VonDohren 5. Jared Umbenhauer 6. Alex Yankowski 7. Brett Kressley 8. Rick Laubach 9. Briggs Danner 10. Ryan Watt 11. Richie Pratt Jr. 12. Dylan Swinehart 13. Brian Hirthler 14. Ryan Beltz 15. Doug Manmiller 16. Kevin Hirthler 17. Ryan Grim 18. Louden Reimert 19. Justin Grim 20. Ron Kline 21. Jordan Henn 22. Danny Erb 23. Billy Pauch Jr. 24 Jack Butler 25. Don Norris Jr.