Bowman, DiPietro, Murray, Begolo, Werstroh, and Conley Scores Wins at Merrittville

THOROLD, ON – For the second time in 2019, St. Catharines, Ontario pilot Mike Bowman won the main event for the S&W Service Centre 358 Modifieds as Fastek Power Tools and Fasteners presented the racing program at Merrittville Speedway. Dave DiPietro from North Tonawanda, NY won his first David Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman feature of the season. Rob Murray from St. Catharines, Ontario won his sixth Hoosier Stock feature of the season. Brent Begolo from Thorold, Ontario won his fourth Doidge Building Centre Mod Lites feature of the season. Austyn Werstroh from Niagara on the Lake, Ontario scored his first career win in the Central Fabricating 4 Cylinders. Kevin Conley from Thorold, Ontario won his third Dave’s Auto and Speed Centre feature of the season.

NEWS AND NOTES: 97 cars signed in pitside for the racing action. The speedway would like to welcome the groups associated with the Merrittville Speedway Gives Back Program.

The road to the 2019 Merrittville Speedway track championships continues Saturday, August 31 as Semenuk’s Esso presents Season Championship night featuring the 358 Modified John Spencer Memorial. Pit gates will open at 5pm with grandstands opening at 5:30pm and showtime will be at 7pm sharp.

Follow Merrittville Speedway on social media including Facebook (, Twitter (@Merrittville), and online at


S&W Service Centre 358 Modifieds: MIKE BOWMAN, Ryan Susice, Mat Williamson, Pete Bicknell, Dalton Slack, Gary Lindberg, Tyler Willard, Todd Gordon, Fred Carleton, Scott Wood, Tim Jones, Rick Richner, Tanner Podwinski, Boyd MacTavish, Rob Knapp, Derek VanMil, Tom Neale

Qualifying Winners: Scott Wood, Gary Lindberg

David Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman: DAVE DIPIETRO, James Michael Friesen, Robbie Johnston, Trevor Wright, Brent Begolo, Jordan Cosco, Chris Watters, Jay Mallory, Ryan Ferri, Dylan Davidson, Adam Leslie, Justin Sharp, Jason VanMil, Luke Carleton, Joey Herremans, Noah Mamo, Nathan Peattie, Chris VanMil, Paul Gaboury, Ray Hockridge, Vince Fargnoli, Brad Rouse

Qualifying Winners: Brad Rouse, Robbie Johnston, Dave DiPietro

Hoosier Stocks: ROB MURRAY, Billy Bleich Jr, Rob Disher, Jason Fontaine, Brad Sheehan, Chris Schneider, Go Fast Teeple, Zach Bleich, Dave Small, Ian Blanchard, Chris Laskey, Jeff Bean, Robin Mortensen, Mason Smith, Spencer General-Thomas

Qualifying Winners: Brad Sheehan, Jason Fontaine

Central Fabricating 4 Cylinders: AUSTYN WERSTROH, Anthony Kelly, Jay Moulton, Kyle Rothwell, Jeremy Cooper, Tony Kelly, Tyler Lafantaisie, Rob Goulding, Kyle Haynes, Dylan Llord, Trevor Want, Vincent Pagnotta, John Lubeck, Cole Hardy, Brian Aube, Garnet Wilson, Dave Lane, Rob Shaw, Dan McKay, Clinton Barrick

Qualifying Winners: Jeremy Cooper, Jay Moulton, Kyle Rothwell

Doidge Building Centres Mod Lites: BRENT BEGOLO, Jeff May, Tyler Winger, Josh Sliter, RJ Pietz, Rob Misener, Cheeseburger Iftody, Chris Perry, Chris Watson, Randy Giroux, Dave Cornish, Ryleigh Sliter

Qualifying Winners: Cheeseburger Iftody, RJ Pietz

Dave’s Auto & Speed Centre V6: KEVIN CONLEY, John Couture, Josh Dymtrow, Rick Beales, Dave Hahl, Colton Lane, Tina Ronning, Jayda Gruhl, Cory Lawton, Kenny Hair, JJ MacDonald

Qualifying Winner: Tina Ronning, Kevin Conley