Gill Goes Back-to-Back in World Short Track Championship Event at The Dirt Track at Charlotte – DTD Exclusive


CONCORD, NC – It was a win that didn’t come easy, but at the end of 30 laps at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, Jackson Gill found his way back to victory lane for the second year in a row with the DIRTcar Sportsman at the World Short Track Championship. It was a win worth $4,000.

“To win this two year in a row is unbelievable,” commented Gill. “This is might be our last year running here so we ended it on a good note.”

Corey Cormier started from the pole via the redraw before bolting out to lead the first few laps. That lead was negated on lap four when Kevin Ridley got into the wall in turn four after contact.

Kyle Inman took advantage on the restart to gain the top spot on the next lap. He set a strong pace out front with Gill working his way up from eighth. He took over second on lap seven before applying pressure to Inman.

Inman was undeterred out front. He kept Gill at bay maintaining the race lead with Gill searching for extra grip. Iman’s lead expanded as the race reached the halfway point.

On lap 18 the complexion of the race changed as Roddy Watts slowed in turn four for another yellow. Under the caution period, Inman went pit-side to change the right rear Hoosier after getting a flat. He ran over debris on the speedway.

Garrison Krentz now lined up next to Gill for the green flag. He gave Gill a run and secured the lead on the restart. Krentz just led the way at the line on lap 24 before Gill muscled his way back by on lap 25 to regain the top spot.

“I knew we didn’t have many laps left,” cited Gill. “We all hate making moves like that, but you got to do what you got to do to get the win.”

Gill pulled away from there as the battle for second heated up between Robert Bublak and Krentz. Bublak got the better of him in the final few laps to secure second.

At the checkered it was Gill with the win while Bublak was able to get around Krentz for second. Bublak got shuffled back early before regrouping and driving his way back up to second for his best career finish at The Dirt Track.

“It was survival of the fittest,” stated Bublak. “On the restart the guy drove us up the race track into the marbles and we lost a couple spots. I wasn’t going to give up. We are out here with a brand-new race car. I have to thank the DKM guys. This is the first full feature on it, so I’m happy with a second place.”

Krentz, a Ransomville Speedway regular, finished in the third spot in his first ever appearance at the World Short Track Championship. He admitted he raced Gill hard for the victory.

“I did get out front,” commented Krentz. “I pinched him down on the start and got it. I tried to stick on the bottom and he gave it back to me. That’s racing. I probably would have done the same thing. We are happy to be in third. This is our first time here, so I can’t complain.”

Daryl Nutting finished in the fourth after starting 17th with Utica-Rome Speedway track champion Matt Janczuk coming from 11th to complete the top five.

DIRTcar Sportsman Invitational Feature

Kevin Ridley had at least one thing to smile about at the conclusion of the World Short Track Championship for the DIRTcar Sportsman. Ridley dominated the 15-lap invitational taking home the $500 win. It was a much-needed victory for the Waterloo, N.Y., driver after he did extensive damage to his car in the main-event.

“The way our week’s gone I guess this is the best way to end it,” mentioned Ridley after the win. “It has been a disappointment up to this point.”

Kevin Root was solid finishing in second while young Derrick McGrew Jr., came home third. Jessica Power and Gill rounded out the top five.

World Short Track Championship
DIRTcar Sportsman 30
The Dirt Track at Charlotte
Concord, N.C.
Saturday November, 2 2019

Feature Finish:
1 Jackson Gill
2 Robert Bublak
3 Garrison Krentz
4 Daryl Nutting
5 Matt Janczuk
6 Andrew Buff
7 Kevin Root
8 Tyler Corcoran
9 Todd Buckwold
10 Jessica Power
11 Ryan Macartney
12 Mat Guererri
13 Mike Fowler
14 Derrick McGrew Jr.
15 Jack Speschock
16 Corey Cormier
17 Nicole Hoag
18 Richard Murtaugh
19 Kyle Inman
20 Chris Corbett
21 Sam Jinkin
22 Kinser Hill
23 Steve lary
24 Don Blaney
25 Robert Delormier
26 Alex Hoag
27 Roddy Watts
28 Jeff Taylor
29 Kevin Ridley

DIRTcar Sportsman Invitational Finish:
1 Kevin Ridley
2 Kevin Root
3 Derrick McGrew Jr.
4 Jessica Power
5 Jackson Gill
6 Kyle Inman
7 Garrison Krentz
8 Richard Murtaugh
9 Matt Guererri
10 Jeff Taylor
11 Nicole Hoag
12 Andrew Buff
13 Tyler Corcoran
14 Matt Janczuk
15 Daryl Nutting
16 Jack Speshock
17 Chris Corbett
18 Ryan Macartney
19 Roddy Watts
20 Corey Cormier