Larson Master’s the Dome for Gateway Dirt Nationals Midget Win

ST. LOUIS, MO – Kyle Larson kept the good times rolling Saturday night in the 30-lap, $10,000 to win feature for the Midgets at the Gateway Dirt Nationals. The NASCAR star took the lead at the midway point and never looked back in cruising to his second win of the weekend at The Dome at America’s Center.

Cannon McIntosh and Justin Grant opened up the race with a battle for the lead while Larson worked his way forward.  Larson moved into second by lap six after starting fifth.  From their he set his sights on McIntosh.

The pair battled, swapping slide jobs back and forth.  Larson made the move stick on lap 15 in turns one and two in order to assume the lead.

“I was surprised to get by him as soon as I did,” stated Larson.  “As the track got slicker it made easier to get through holes.”

McIntosh’s good luck came to a close two laps later when he got over.

Once the race resumed it was all Larson as the race for second and third became a three-car battle between Thomas Meseraull, Christopher Bell and Grant.  That race came to an abrupt end on lap 19 as Grant spun collecting the other two drivers.

This moved Chris Windom up to second for the green, but like those that came before him, Larson was too strong.

It looked like he easily had it sewn up until a caution on lap 29 for Chase Briscoe gave the field one last shot.

Larson was up to the task staying at the front for the win in the one lap shootout.

“I didn’t want to see that last caution,” said Larson.  “I knew they’d throw something at me in one.  I messed up in the holes on the last lap, but I had a big enough gap to get win.”

Windom finished second with Tyler Courtney in tow to finish third.  Tanner Thorson and Ricky Stenhouse Jr., rounded out the top five.

Gateway Dirt Nationals
Midgets – 30-laps
Dome at America’s Center
St. Louis, MO
Saturday, December 21, 2019

Feature Finish:
1 #1K Kyle Larson
2 #17BC Chris Windom
3 #7BC Tyler Courtney
4 #19 Tanner Thorson
5 #17JR Ricky Stenhouse Jr
6 #1NZ Michael Pickens
7 #39 Logan Seavey
8 #84 Christopher Bell
9 #4A Justin Grant
10 #5 Chase Briscoe
11 #52 Blake Hahn
12 #17B Austin Brown
13 #7X Thomas Meseraull
14 #08 Cannon McIntosh
15 #11A Andrew Felker
16 #19H Anton Hernandez
17 #9X Paul Nienhiser
18 #08K Karter Sarff
19 #8J Jonathan Beason
20 #1 Sammy Swindell