Krummert Captures BRP Tour Win At Mercer, Rudolph Wins Championship

MERCER, PA – On a beautiful mid September evening Michaels Mercer Raceway celebrated the first night of the BRP modified 25th anniversary showdown 2 day show with Garrett Krummert picking up his 2nd higher paying BRP modified race of the year at Mercer defeating Erick Rudolph and Mike Kinney. Jimmy Morris picked up his 2nd Racesaver 305 sprint feature of the year; Curt Bish won the pro stock invitational and track champ Andy Thompson won his 7th mini stock feature of the year.

Jimmy Morris would take off from his outside pole position and was not seriously challenged until the end when Vivian Jones would close the gap but Morris held on by .451 to win his 2nd Racesaver 305 sprint feature and his historic 15th career in the class at Mercer . “I could hear a motor back there and the car got freeer and I knew someone was coming and when I saw the white flag I knew I had to take it easy as the car was getting loose. I’m blessed to still be doing this. Wow 15 wins!!! It’s a team effort with my family and crew I can’t thank everyone enough. Track is racey and I appreciate the hard work from the team so we can race here!!” Jones would be 2nd, Jake Gomola was 3rd, Greg Dobrosky 4th and Andy Priest 5th.

The pro stocks returned for the first time this season with Curt Bish picking up his 13th career Mercer feature. 7 time winner veteran Gary Miller would lead from the pole and would make the car 90 feet wide and Bish would hound him all over the race track. On lap 8 Bish would get around Miller and would continue to lead. However veteran Chris Schneider would reel him in lap after lap as on lap 10 he was a full 2 seconds behind but would close the gap and would finish just .686 at the end behind Bish. Raceway 7 and Eriez track champ Chris Withers would finish 3rd, Coleton Longwell 4th and Miller fell back to 5th. Bish would say, “I’m glad there wasnt more than 20 laps tonight, it helped me out tonight with my tire choice. Gary made that car wide he’s a good driver and anytime you can beat Schneider it’s a good night. We’ve had a good year we’ve won 5 out of 10 starts and I couldn’t do it without my crew and sponsors.”

Andy Thompson held off Josh Eakman by 4 seconds to wrap up his 2nd mini stock track championship in a row and his 7th win of the season. The battle would be for 2nd as Eakman would get around Corey Bice who was 2nd since lap 4 at the checkered by just .166 at the line. Randy Ealy would come home 3rd after going to the tail with rear ended damage to finish 2nd in points over Trevn Schaffer who finished 5th. Andy said ,”I didn’t know how big of a lead I had but I love racing here the track was beautiful tonight you didn’t have to lift at all!!”

305 Sprints Feature 20 Laps
1. 16-Jim Morris[2]; 2. 20M-Vivian Jones[6]; 3. 4J-Jacob Gamola[1]; 4. 88-Greg Dobrosky[5]; 5. 21N-Andy Priest[4]; 6. 27K-Jeremy Kornbau[8]; 7. 82M-Roman Jones[3]; 8. 25-Jarrett Rosencrance[10]; 9. 12G-Tommy Jasen[9]; 10. 17S-Shane Shook[7]; 11. X7-Andy Cavanagh[12]; 12. (DNS) 3-John Jerich

Heat 1 8 Laps
1. 4J-Jacob Gamola[2]; 2. 82M-Roman Jones[1]; 3. 88-Greg Dobrosky[5]; 4. 17S-Shane Shook[4]; 5. 12G-Tommy Jasen[3]; 6. 3-John Jerich[6]

Heat 2 8 Laps
1. 16-Jim Morris[1]; 2. 21N-Andy Priest[3]; 3. 20M-Vivian Jones[5]; 4. 27K-Jeremy Kornbau[6]; 5. 25-Jarrett Rosencrance[4]; 6. X7-Andy Cavanagh[2]

Mini stock Feature 15 Laps
1. 5-Andy Thompson[4]; 2. 55-Josh Eakman[6]; 3. 10-Corey Bice[1]; 4. 38-Randy Ealy[2]; 5. 10S-trevn schaffer[3]; 6. 36PACK-DJ MacRae[8]; 7. 66M-Matt Miller[7]; 8. 999-Adam Aley[11]; 9. 12N-Joshua Funkhouser[9]; 10. 60-Dillon Thorne[5]; 11. 6-Mike Kelley[19]; 12. C4-Alex Claypoole[10]; 13. 79-John McCraken[12]; 14. 325Z-Zack Swartz[17]; 15. 029-Ben Aley[15]; 16. 27B-Nancy Boughner[18]; 17. 33-Brianna Parker[13]; 18. 64-Jordan Reges[14]; 19. 16-Daniel Hostetler[16]; 20. (DNS) 00-Cole Miller

Heat 1 6 Laps
1. 10-Corey Bice[6]; 2. 5-Andy Thompson[7]; 3. 66M-Matt Miller[4]; 4. C4-Alex Claypoole[1]; 5. 33-Brianna Parker[2]; 6. 16-Daniel Hostetler[5]; 7. 6-Mike Kelley[3]

Heat 2 6 Laps
1. 38-Randy Ealy[1]; 2. 60-Dillon Thorne[2]; 3. 36PACK-DJ MacRae[4]; 4. 999-Adam Aley[3]; 5. 64-Jordan Reges[5]; 6. 325Z-Zack Swartz[6]; 7. 00-Cole Miller[7]

Heat 3 6 Laps
1. 10S-trevn schaffer[4]; 2. 55-Josh Eakman[3]; 3. 12N-Joshua Funkhouser[1]; 4. 79-John McCraken[5]; 5. 029-Ben Aley[6]; 6. 27B-Nancy Boughner[2]

Pro stock Feature 20 Laps
1. 29-Curt J Bish[3]; 2. 55-Chris Schneider[8]; 3. 21W-Chris Withers[1]; 4. 7-Colton Longwell[6]; 5. 1M-Gary Miller[2]; 6. 44-Jacob Wheeler[12]; 7. 23-Pat Fielding[7]; 8. 61M-Charlie McMillen[9]; 9. 28Y-Terry Young[11]; 10. 71-Joey Anderson[16]; 11. 12M-Scott Malone[13]; 12. 47-Mike Gilliland[15]; 13. 81-Mike Miller[10]; 14. 50-Ron Boardman[5]; 15. 8C-Russ Coyne[14]; 16. (DNS) 7B-Matt Bernard

Heat 1 8 Laps
1. 7B-Matt Bernard[2]; 2. 1M-Gary Miller[4]; 3. 50-Ron Boardman[1]; 4. 23-Pat Fielding[3]; 5. 61M-Charlie McMillen[5]; 6. 28Y-Terry Young[7]; 7. 12M-Scott Malone[8]; 8. 47-Mike Gilliland[6]

Heat 2 8 Laps
1. 29-Curt J Bish[1]; 2. 21W-Chris Withers[3]; 3. 7-Colton Longwell[2]; 4. 55-Chris Schneider[8]; 5. 81-Mike Miller[7]; 6. 44-Jacob Wheeler[6]; 7. 8C-Russ Coyne[4]; 8. 71-Joey Anderson[5]