Orange County Track Champs Crowned This Saturday

MIDDLETOWN, NY-Champions Night, Saturday, September 9, wraps up the weekly racing season at Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, New York. At the conclusion of the evening’s racing program, the track point champions will be crowned in each of the four racing divisions. 

During the racing season, accumulating points in a descending order are awarded for finishing positions in each division’s feature races. The top three finishers in heat races earn additional points also in descending order.  The top-ten finishers in the final point standings in each division earn monetary awards from the point funds.  

On Champions Night, all four divisions—DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, H.O.Penn Small-Block Modifieds, Sportsman, and NAPA Northeast Parts Street Stocks will be racing in qualifying and feature races. While only the H.O. Penn Small-Block Modifieds has a tight battle for the top spot, in all the divisions slots 2-10 are wide open and may change drastically.

Currently in DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, Anthony Perrego (503 points) holds a 50-point edge over Danny Creeden (453).  Dillon Steuer (435) is third, followed interestingly by Jimmy Horton and Brett Hearn tied (each 418) for fourth.  Sixth through 11th is equally close: Tyler Boniface (415), Billy VanInwegen (414), Craig Mitchell (410), Matt Sheppard (409), Charles Loiodice (407), and Steve Dodd (406).

Dillon Steuer (381) has a slim seven-point lead over Anthony Perrego (374) among the H.O. Penn Small-Block Modified contingent, with Billy VanInwegen (359), Tanner VanDoren (340), and Corey Cormier (321) completing the top-five.  Danny Creeden and Charles Loiodice (each 317) are tied for sixth, followed by Craig Mitchell (315), Tyler Jashembowski (313), Bob Hentschel (290), and Tommy Meier (288).

All he has to do is show up and Brian Krummel will take home top Sportsman honors.  Krummel’s (1,129) lead over Tyler Johnston (999) is insurmountable.  Only two points separate third Kasey Hufcut (956) and fourth Mike Sabia (954), while Jeff Higham (941) is fifth.  Sixth through tenth are held by Jared LaBagh (920), Ryan Nieger (900), Gary Edwards (869), Nick Giardini (810), and Tyler Peet (780).

Bob Sleight, Jr. (705) tops the NAPA Northeast Auto Parts Street Stocks, with Jack Beaumont (651), Ray Tarantino (600), Doug Sterling (577), and Mike Vigiletti (562) rounding out the top-five. Sixth through tenth belong to Ryan Modiano (561), Charlie Donald (556), Ron Constable (538), Walt Henry (537), and Jim Hajkowski (497).

General admission for grandstands and Drive-In for September 9 is $20.00/Seniors and Military $16.00. Party Deck $35 each, $140 table maximum four, VIP Tower seating $50 each. Parking on the grounds is free. Drive-In parking $1.00. Children 12 and under are free. Pit admission $30 member, $35 non-member. The Drive-In and Grandstands open at 5:00 pm. Racing begins at 6:30 pm.

Please consult the speedway website for any weather-related changes in opening times for the pits and stands. For the latest racing news and event information, including the September 19 Eve of Destruction and Sportsman Exhibition Race and the October 20-22 Eastern States Weekend, fans and competitors should always check the speedway website, and social media.