Summer Slam Race Number Three Sunday at Five Mile Point

KIRKWOOD, NY – The third race of the Modified Summer Slam is this Sunday, August 13th at Five Mile Point Speedway. The 30 lap Modified feature event will pay an impressive $2,500 to the race winner. Every team on hand will certainly be looking for the top pay day but currently two weekly competitors Mike Colsten and Nick Rochinski are tied for the Modified Summer Slam point lead entering this Sunday. Racing on Sunday begins at 6 p.m.

The Modified Sunday Summer Slam program at Five Mile Point Speedway has been a big success since track owner Andrew Harpell began the program last season. The program was designed for weekend Modified stars and that has certainly proven to be the case. Five Mile Point Speedway is having a very successful 2017 campaign and weekly Modified car counts have been on the climb.

Just the last two Modified events (held on July 16th and July 29th) have seen an average car count of 32 Modified teams in the pits with outstanding talent on hand in just those two races. The July 29th Heath Memorial saw one of the most talented fields the southern tier has seen all season long. On July 16th Donnie Elliott towed in from Middletown, NY to take the $4,000 top prize from the locals in the Modified Summer Slam race number 2. On July 29th the weekly teams dominated taking all three podium positions with Kevin Bates scoring the $2,000 Heath Memorial win over track regulars Mike Colsten and Glenn Knapp. That field saw drivers from all over the northeast in competition. Over half of the starting grid had recorded feature wins this season.

The competition this Sunday should be no different. Track regulars Mike Colsten and Nick Rochinski are currently tied for the Modified Summer Slam point lead entering this Sunday. 2016 Modified Summer Slam Co-Champion Brad Szulewski is in third in the point standings with Kevin Bates and Modified Rookie Randy Fox in fifth. Brian Weaver and Tyler Siri are tied for sixth place with Joey Colsten, Rusty Smith and Mike Butler rounding out the top ten. Rusty Smith was only two laps away from the $4,000 payday in Modified Summer Slam race number 2 when a flat tire derailed his hopes. He had led the entire race prior.

The Modified race pays an impressive $2,500 for only 30 laps of feature action. Tonarlo’s Restaurant in Conklin, NY has added $500 to the winners share to get the total up to the $2,500 plateau. There are a number of other posted bonuses that will be up for grabs including the ongoing Driver Loyalty Bonus Program presented by Shakelton NAPA Auto & Truck Parts. Shakelton NAPA Auto & Truck Parts and Tonarlo’s Restaurant in Conklin have stepped up to help make the 2017 Modified Summer Slam program outstanding.

A full program of racing will be on tap this Sunday in addition to the Modifieds at Five Mile Point Speedway. The Xcel 600 Modified division will be running their third and finale Summer Slam race of the season. They will be joined by all of the weekly FMP divisions. All races will be a non-handicapped “draw/redraw” format for starting position.

Grandstand admission is only $15 for adults, $12 for seniors, $5 for youth (ages 13 – 17) and kids 12 and younger will be admitted FREE! Racing begins at 6 p.m. Pit gates open at 3 p.m. this Sunday with grandstand gates opening at 4 p.m. Hot laps begin at 5 p.m.

For additional information please phone 607-775-5555 or log on to You may also email the speedway directly at Five Mile Point Speedway – “The Home Speedway of the Southern Tier” where kids 12 and younger are admitted FREE to every race event!

IMPRESSIVE LIST OF DRIVERS THAT HAVE COMPETED IN LAST TWO MODIFIED EVENTS HELS AT FIVE MILE POINT SPEEDWAY (JULY 16TH AND 29TH): Donnie, Elliott, Steve Davis, Nick Rochinski, Richard Smith, Brian Puckett, Brett Hearn, Mike Colsten, Erick Rudolph, Rusty Smith, Randy Chrysler, Brad Szulewski, Brian Weaver, Tyler Siri, Randy Fox, Kevin Bates, Brian Malcolm, Corey Costa, Mitch Gibbs, Ron Cartwright, Mike Butler, Joey Colsten, P.J. Goodwin, Matt Roberts, Willie Osmun, Glann Knapp, Aleia Geisler, Matt Brewer, Randy Gates, Steven Deinhardt, Steve Babicek, Chris Ostrowsky, Nick Petrilak, Tom Hampton, Anthony Perrego, Dan Creeden, Brett Tonkin, Danny Tyler, Brandon Grosso, Jerry Higbie, Jesse Kline, J.R. Fulpher, Randy Green, Bob Trapper, Alan Kellogg, Dom Roselli, Mike Dougherty Jr., Alan Barker, Brad Shafer, Matt Solomon, Dave Calaman, Rich Devia.