Elliott Wins Caution Free Modified Feature Saturday at Five Mile Point

KIRKWOOD, NY – Donnie Elliott recorded his first Modified victory of the season on Saturday at Five Mile Point Speedway. The 30 lap feature event went caution free. James Cornell was the winner of the annual “Little Mike’s Race to Win” race worth $1,000 and honoring the memory of former Track Champion Mike Stolarcyk, III. Over 130 race teams once again jammed the Five Mile Point Speedway pit area on Saturday.

Elliott and Glenn Knapp led the Modified starting field to the green flag for the start of the 30 lap feature event. The start proved to be important as Elliott got the advantage immediately. Elliott ultimately led all 30 laps wire to wire in the caution free event but a late race challenge from Shuan Walker and tricky lapped traffic certainly made the final laps exciting.

During the early stages of the Modified main Elliott opened up his lead quickly. Walker wasted no time as he advanced from fourth to second in the first two laps. Brian Weaver also followed his lead as he moved from fifth to third on the first two laps. A number of terrific battles took place throughout the field as the racy and wide quarter mile surface provided for excellent racing action.

With the race going caution free Elliott first approached lapped traffic on lap 16 as he worked past David Doig, Jr. Both Elliott and Walker were glued to the bottom of the speedway as it was another five laps before the leaders caught Brad Shaffer. Once Elliott worked to the inside of Shaffer and moved past he again opened his advantage. Shaffer was fast on the top as Walker struggled to clear him in the pursuit of Elliott. It took Walker until lap 28 to make his way past Shaffer and he immediately locked in on the race leader Elliott. On the final two laps Walker pulled within striking distance but ran out of time as Elliott collected win number one on the season. For Walker, the second place finish was his best of the season with Weaver taking third at the stripe. Two-time winner Joey Colsten finished fourth with Nick Rochinski advancing from eighth to fifth at the finish. The point lead battle between Rusty Smith and Brian Malcolm was won by Malcolm on this night. Malcolm finished seventh with Smith settling for eleventh at the finish.

The annual “Little Mike’s Race to Win” for UMP/IMCA style Modifieds is always a very special event at the speedway. The race honors former Track Champion Mike Stolarcyk, III who passed away nine years ago. James Cornell brought out his Chuck Akulis paint scheme “Pink Panther” body for this special event. The throwback paint scheme brought back a lot of memories for race fans in what is already an emotion filled race each year. On the track Cornell took the lead on lap 1 from his fourth starting slot and led every lap. Much like the Modified race a late race charge by second place runner Jake Maynard proved to be exciting during the final two laps. Maynard closed the gap over the final laps but was not able to make a serious bid for the win. For Cornell the victory was worth $1,000 and very emotional. This is a race that everyone wants to win. In addition to the emotion of the annual race for James Cornell it was even more meaningful as the victory was dedicated to his mom who is battling very serious health issues currently. The race was slowed by only one caution.

Tim Howell raced to his first Crate Sportsman victory of the season on Saturday. He held off Kyle Pierce over the final laps to record the win. Pierce finished second after starting sixth. Current point leader Alex Yankowski finished third after starting ninth. Matt Cole was doing “double duty” also racing in the “Little Mike’s Race to Win”. Cole collected fourth in this one. Rookie Tyler Peet had another strong drive for fifth place at the finish.

Ray Lindquist recorded his second Street Stock victory of the season. Richie Hitzler was the Xcel 600 Modified Tour race winner. Jimmy DiFulvio was the Lightning Cat Expert race winner with Steve Lunn winning the Novice feature. Tommy Groover was a first time winner in the Factory Stocks with Joshua Landers winning the Junior Xcel Modified race.

Five Mile Point Speedway is silent this Saturday, August 4th but roars back to action with double Modified features and a full racing program on Saturday, August 11th.

MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (30): DONNIE ELLIOTT, Shaun Walker, Brian Weaver, Joey Colsten, Nick Rochinski, Mike Colsten, Brian Malcolm, Glenn Knapp, Brian Puckett, Travis Smith, Rusty Smith, P.J. Goodwin, Byron Worthing, Aleia Geisler, Brad Rothaupt, Brad Shaffer, Dave Doig Jr., Larry Beers, Thomas Furguson, Randy Brokaw. DNS – Dan Solomon, Barry White.

CRATE SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20): TIM HOWELL, Kyle Pierce, Alex Yankowski, Matt Cole, Tyler Peet, Devon Zona, Tom Hampton, Leo McGurrin, Blaine Klinger, Randy Fox, Joe Guastella, Tanner Harpell, Nate Brinker, Mark Goodwin, Dan Burman, Todd Titus, Russell Benke, Brad Cicio, Matthew Addona, Jeremy Williams, John Redner, Kinser Hill, Arthur Bray, Meckenzie Marsh.

LITTLE MIKE’S RACE TO WIN FOR UMP STYLE MODIFIEDS: JAMES CORNELL, Jake Maynard, Gary Roberts, Tyler Stoddard, Matt Cole, Jason Benjamin, Bill Nichols, Beau Ballard, Lenny Miller.

STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20): RAY LINDQUIST, Buck Mills Sr., Tyler Yeagle, Doug Polhamus, Doug Stack Sr., Doug Stack Jr., Jarrad Dennis, Kevin Garland, Matt Bowman, Keith Beach, James Sykes, Bob Mills.

XCEL 600 MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20): RICHIE HITZLER, Bailey Boyd, Josh Pepe, D.J. Hunt, Travis Fichter, Dakota Anderson, Geoffrey Sutton, Ray Gradwell, Shawna Schibilia, Mike Wilcha, Robert Martin, Chase Scutt, Grant Schibilia, James Randall, Chelsee Beebe, Hunter Deihl, Damon Henry, Tyler James, Tyler Smith, Nolan Smith, Gabby Meixell, Adam Mudge, Scott Landers, John McKilligan, Eric Boyd. DNS – Jess Michel.

LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15): JIMMY DIFULVIO, Nick Kennedy, Kenny Underwood, Bob Kress, Jake Maynard, Dave Simms, Brian Salmini, Josh Wilder, Mat Mather, Caleb Lacy, Don Doster Jr., Mike Ferris, Tucker Harpell. DNS – Billy Maynard.

LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (12): STEVE LUNN, Walter Decker, Randy Lane, Brandon Gumar, Mike Stark, Bethany Bertram, Ashley Slater, Cory Brown, Jason Colwell Jr., John Maynard. DNS – Billy Colwell.

FACTORY STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15): TOM GROOVER, Charlie Towner, Andy Brigham, Charlie Gilbert, Buck Mills Jr., Justin Slezak, Carter Dennis, Kevin McDonald, Adam Gilbert, Alan Komar, Gregg Turner, Steve Mower, Sheldon Whitman. DNS – Don Reeves.