Cormier Wins GRIT Sportsman Main at Five Mile Point

KIRKWOOD, NY – Five Mile Point Speedway hosted the GRIT Crate Sportsman series finale on Saturday and Corey Cormier drove to the $1,000 victory. When it was all said and done Jimmy Zacharias was crowned the 2020 GRIT Sportsman Tour Champion. Steven Deinhardt raced to the win in a very special Street Stock race that paid $1,300 for the victory. The 34 lap event was a Memorial race honoring Chad Sindoni.

The Insinger Performance Crate Sportsman saw twenty-six starters take the green for the 25 lap feature event. Jimmy Zacharias and Stacey Jackson brought the field to the green flag with Zacharias taking the initial lead at the start. Corey Cormier, the 2019 Track Champion charged up from his fourth starting slot to second by lap number 2 as the caution flew for Rich Talada. On the restart Cormier took his act to the high side of the quarter mile and made his way around Zacharias for the race lead. Zacharias continued to stay close in second as A.J. Potrzebowski held the third position.

Throughout the field two and three wide battles took place throughout the field. Some of the early moves included: Brian Calabrese (5th place starter), Tyler Johnston (10th place starter), Tommy Collins (13th place starter) and Bobby Hackel (16th place starter) and another former Track Champion Kyle Rohner (23rd place starter). As the race hit the halfway mark Cormier was still flying on the high side of the speedway with Zacharias remaining close. Calabrese worked past Potrzebowski for the third slot and 2020 Track Champion Gary Smith had broken into the top five at this stage.

Johnston, Collins, Hackel and Rohner were all picking off cars almost every lap as their impressive advances continued. On lap 18 Smith headed pit side with mechanical problems and Johnston broke in to the top five. Collins was now in pursuit of Johnston with Dominic Roselli on his heels. The final five laps saw intense lapped traffic for Cormier as the race went caution free for over twenty laps. Zacharias was able to close in but never able to make any bid for the win.

At the finish it was Cormier, Zacharias, Calabrese, Potrzebowski and Johnston in the top five. Collins, Roselli, Hackel, Brandon Loucks and Stacey Jackson rounded out the top five. Rohner advanced from twenty-third to eleventh at the finish and Todd Titus advanced from twenty-second to twelfth at the stripe. For Cormier the victory was worth $1,000 and the second place finish by Zacharias was enough to lock up the GRIT Sportsman Series title.

The Street Stocks returned to the speedway for their second start of the season. This time it was a very special Memorial event in honor of Chad Sindoni. The 34 lap feature event found Lanson Albanese and Tyler Yeagle on the front row for the start. Yeagle took advantage of the outside to take the immediate lead at the start. Albanese ran in second early with Kurt Decker, Jon Carpenter and Gene Sharpsteen battling in the top five. Much like the Sportsman there were three-wide battles all over the speedway. Carpenter and Decker exchanged the third position several times as the front Duo of Yeagle and Albanese had their own intense battle. Sharpsteen had to contend with Steven Deinhardt for the fifth place battle. Doug Stack, Sr. was driving the #34 numbers that Chad Sindoni ran and he was a man on a mission as he sliced through the field from his fifteenth starting slot.

On lap 12 the caution flew on three separate occasions one of which knocked Decker out of the event. Deinhardt was now up to fourth as the top three remained unchanged. When racing resumed the battle for the race lead continued between Yeagle and Albanese with Deinhardt taking over third on lap 14. The caution flew again on lap 15 and on the restart Albanese drifted wide and Deinhardt pounced taking over second. Yeagle would relinquish the race lead one lap later to Deinhardt as Carpenter looked to challenge for the runner-up slot.

Sharpsteen saw his great run derailed as he had a tire go flat on lap 23 bringing out the next caution of the race. Deinhardt continued as the race leader at this point with Yeagle, Carpenter, Albanese and now Stack solidly in to the top five. Carpenter took advantage of the restart to take over second place as Albanese rallied back to challenge Yeagle for third.

At the finish Deinhardt would go on to collect the $1,300 payday. Carpenter finished second with Albanese reclaiming third. Yeagle and Stack completed the top five. Shane Wolf drove from tenth to sixth with Brett Crawford charging from sixteenth to seventh at the stripe. Adam Depuy, Jason Quigley and Nick Robinson completed the top ten.

Evan Denue and Wayne Taylor set the pace for the start of the 20 lap Factory Stock main event. Two winners were set to be decided within the one race as several track’s rules were in effect. The overall winner and Factory Stock “Lites” winner would each earn winner’s payout on the night. Mike Morse charged from the eleventh place starting slot to take the overall win after a spirited battle with current Fall Series point leader Josh Towner. Justin Slezak, the 2020 Track Champion finished third with Stanley Matthews and Josh Dumas completing the top five. Sixth place finisher Greg Young was the overall Factory Stock “Lites” race winner over seventh place finisher Nate Hill. Billy Shoemaker, Brad Chilson and Glen Aumick rounded out the top ten.

Alan Komar added to this Crate Sportsman “Futures” Fall Championship point lead by leading wire to wire in the 20 lap nightcap feature event. Komar and Josh Allen had a great battle throughout the 20 lap affair with Allen coming across the line in second at the finish. Matthew Backus, Ned Fitch and Joe Buchanan completed the top five with Jake Mele in sixth.

COUNTER POINTS…A combined 56 Crate Sportsman teams were on hand Saturday with an impressive 38 Street Stocks…The Crate Sportsman teams will continue to race for $1,000 to win this Saturday as the track announced they would pay the full GRIT Series purse again on October 10th…The Chad Sindoni Memorial was put together in only a few weeks by Street Stock drivers Doug Polhamus and Doug Stack…Over $1,500 in bonus money was paid out throughout the field with Pops Automotive/Hamm and Sons Constructors/Facet-Purolater as the primary event sponsors…Three more Saturday races (October 10th, 17th and 24th) remain in the Fall Series Championship at the speedway…

GRIT CRATE SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25 LAPS): COREY CORMIER ($1,000) Jimmy Zacharias, Brian Calabrese, A.J. Potrzebowski, Tyler Johnston, Tommy Collins, Dominic Roselli, Bobby Hackel, Brandon Loucks, Stacey Jackson, Kyle Rohner, Todd Titus, Charles Loiodice, Rusty Smith, Tighe Sherlock, Jared Green, Devon Zona, Randy Brokaw, Matt Brewer, David Dickey, Seth Zacharias, Blaine Klinger, Matt Sobiech, Gary Smith, Mike Nagel Jr., Rich Talada. Jimmy Zacharias 2020 GRIT Crate Sportsman Champion.

CHAD SIDONI MEMORIAL STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH (34 LAPS): STEVEN DEINHARDT ($1,300), Jon Carpenter, Lanson Albanese, Tyler Yeagle, Doug Stack Sr., Shane Wolf Jr., Brett Crawford, Adam Depuy, Jason Quigley, Nick Robinson, Eric Beach, Bob Crandall, Bob Buono, Mike Wilber, Gene Sharptsteen, Butch Green, Abe Romanik, Gary Roberts, Kurt Decker, Eric Boynton, Ben Hulsander, Doug Polhamus, Don Russell Jr., Ricky Davis Sr., Mike Stoddard, Doug Stack Jr.

FACTORY STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS): MIKE MORSE, Josh Towner, Justin Slezak, Stanley Matthews, Josh Dumas, Greg Young, Nate Hill, Billy Shoemaker, Brad Chilson, Glen Aumick, Nick Stark, Lee Bills, Zach Kriner, Evan Denue, Wayne Taylor, Kurtis Stickle, Dom Denue, Scott Brown. Greg Young – Factory Stock “Lite” Best of Class.

FUTURES SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS): ALAN KOMAR, Josh Allen, Matthew Backus, Ned Fitch, Joe Buchanan, Jake Mele. DNS – John Williams.