Empire Super Sprints Coming to Fonda Saturday Night


FONDA, NY – If you have never witnessed sprint cars racing at the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway, Saturday, May 26 is a perfect opportunity for you to see the lightning fast speeds the winged sprint cars turn on the ½ mile fairgrounds track.

Sprint cars have been a staple of the Memorial Day weekend racing programs at the “Track of Champions” in the past and this year is no different, as the ESS group will be making their first appearance back at Fonda on Memorial Day weekend since 2015.

Also on the racing card on Saturday, May 26 sponsored by A-Verdi Storage Containers will be all regular weekly divisions including the big block modifieds, 602 sportsman, pro stocks, and street stocks. It will also be Military Appreciation Night with racing scheduled to start at 7:00 p.m.

According to the ESS website, the Earl Halaquist Memorial feature event for the ESS sprint cars will pay $2,000 to the winner and $300 to start. Marty (former Fonda Speedway Race Director Marty Beberwyk) and Ric (former Fonda Speedway promoter Ric Lucia) will sponsor the Dash for Cash event for the sprint cars with a $500 purse.

Previous winners of the Earl Halaquist Memorial event held by the ESS Group at the various tracks the event was held:

8/14/2004 – Dundee, NY – Blake Breen

8/15/2005 – Dundee, NY – George Suprick

8/12/2006 – Dundee, NY – Chuck Hebing

7/22/2007 – Fonda, NY – Justin Barger

8/5/2008 – Fonda, NY – Justin Barger

5/23/2009 – Fonda, NY – Doug Emery

5/29/2010 – Fonda, NY – Justin Barger

5/28/2011 – Fonda, NY – Justin Barger

5/26/2012 – Fonda, NY – Jessica Zemken-Friesen

9/21/2013 – Fonda, NY – Jeff Cook

8/26/2014 – Afton, NY – Chuck Hebing

8/25/2015 – Afton, NY – Matt Tanner

8/23/2016 – Afton, NY – Steve Piorier

8/12/2017 – Fonda, NY – Danny Varin

The history of the ESS group at Fonda shows a total of 19 events run at the track with 13 different winning drivers led by Justin Barger with five wins; Lance Yonge and Steve Poirier both with two wins; John Brutcher, Bobby Parrow, Tom Taber, Craig Lane, Doug Emery, Jessica Friesen, Jeff Cook, Chuck Hebing, Stewart Friesen, and Danny Varin all with one win apiece.

Three events have been held so far in 2018 on the ESS series with Jason Barney, Paul Kinney, and Mark Smith the winners of those events. The current ESS point standings show Barney leading the way with 353 followed by Coleman Gulick with 269, Kinney with 236, Jonathan Preston with 227, and Matt Tanner with 217.

So come to the Fonda Speedway on Saturday, May 26 and help the Demitraszek family celebrate Memorial Day on Military Appreciation Night as we honor all of our soldiers who fight every day for our freedom so that we can enjoy the lifestyles that we do.

For more information about the Fonda Speedway you can go to their website www.newfondaspeedway.com and for more information about the ESS Sprint car group you can go to their website www.empiresupersprints.com