Friesen Picks Up Second Win Of Season At Fonda


FONDA, NY –  Stewart Friesen picked up another modified victory at the Fonda Speedway on Saturday night in dominating fashion, needing only 5 laps to move to the top spot from his 10th place starting position.

Adam McAuliffe and Danny Varin lead the 24 car starting field to the green flag, with the Varin getting the initial jump on the start. Green flag racing as short lived as the yellow would fly on lap two for the spinning car of Rich Christman in turn 4. By this time, the Friesen 44 machine was up into the 5th spot.

When racing resumed it was again Varin who lead the field charging into turn one, but a new challenger had emerged, the 247 car of Michael Maresca. Two laps later, the yellow flag would fall again, this time for the Jim Introne machine. Problems arose for the Varin 93 machine on the ensuing restart as the car did not fire on the restart, allowing Friesen to fly by into 2nd place.

On lap 6, Friesen completed the pass for the lead on Maresca. The final yellow flag of the night fell on lap 11 when both the 51 of Scott Huber and the 1z of Jessica Friesen would both have mechanical issues and head pitside for the remainder of the event.

When the green came back out, Friesen jumped out to another big advantage, but further back in the back the 3 of Mat Williamson, the 3D of Matt Delorenzo and the 1J of Rocky Warner were making their way into the top five. Both Delorenzo and Warner would pressure Williamson for the third spot, but Williamson would hold the position at the finish.

When the checkered flag flew, it was Stewart Friesen who picked up his 62nd career victory at the Track of Champions, with Michael Maresca a distant second. Mat Williamson, Matt Delorenzo and Rocky Warner completing the top five.


SUNOCO MODIFIED FEATURE – STEWART FRIESEN (62nd career win in the division), Michael Maresca, Mat Williamson, Matt DeLorenzo, Rocky Warner, Josh Hohenforst, Dave Constantino, Brian Gleason, David Shilling, Brian Pessolano, Danny Creeden, Roger Henion Jr., Allison Ricci, Bodie Bellinger, Craig Hanson, Rich Christman, Leo Fotopoulos Jr., Darwin Greene, Steve Akers, Ricky Davis III, Danny Varin, Adam McAuliffe, Jessica Friesen, Scott Huber, Devin Willis, Jim Introne Jr., Troy Palmer, Jeff Hoetzler, Kathy Bellen (DNS).

Lap leaders – 1-4 Danny Varin, 5 Michael Maresca, 6-30 Stewart Friesen.
Heat race winners – Danny Varin, Michael Maresca, Jessica Friesen.

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN FEATURE – JOE WILLIAMS (1st career win in the Crate 602 Sportsman division), Chad Edwards, Brian Calabrese, Mark Mortensen, Brian Borst, JaMike Sowle, Nick Scavia, Cody Clark, Michael Wagner-Fitzgerald, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Tucker O’Connor, Thomas VanVorst, Tim Dwyer, Anthony Cardamone, EJ McAuliffe, Charlie Tibbitts, Dan Santabarbara, Kevin Chaffee, Tim Hartman Jr., Ricky Quick, Rich Ricci III, Michael McCallion, Don Bellen, Aaron Cross, Griffen Mansmith, Brendan Gibbons, David Manchester, Joel Knudsen Jr. (DNS).

Lap leaders – 1-25 Joe Williams.
Heat race winners – Brian Borst, Brian Calabrese, Chad Edwards.

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN FEATURE – BRETT MORTENSEN (4th career win in the division), Carter Gibbons, Dylan Eldred, John Young, Kyle Dingman, Bill Port, Jeff Lutes, Harold Robitaille, Clayton DuMond, Stephen Gray, Pete Nowicki Jr., Kadon Hohensheldt (DNS).

Lap Leaders – 1 Pete Nowicki Jr., 2-13 Carter Gibbons, 14-15 Brett Mortensen.

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK FEATURE – JOSH COONRADT (5th career win in the division), Nick Stone, Luke Horning, Kenny Gates, Devon Camenga, Beau Ballard, Jason Morrison, Randy Cosselman, Andy Graves, David Emigh, Bill Knapp, Chuck Dumblewski, Jim Normoyle, Steve Cosselman, Jamie Warner, Justin Knight, Ivan Joslin, Tanner Warner, Don Collins.

Lap leaders – 1-3 Justin Knight, 4-11 Luke Horning, 12-20 Josh Coonradt.
Heat race winners – Nick Stone, Jim Normoyle.

ROBERT’S TOWNG & RECOVERY STREET STOCK FEATURE – AL RELYEA (2nd career win in the division), Jason Samrov, Dave Horning Sr., Michael Arnold, Lou Gancarz, Josh Samrov, John Bradt, Mark Burch, Jason Barrett.

Lap leaders – 1-2 Michael Arnold, Al Relyea.

FOUR CYLINDER CRUISER FEATURE – KEN HOLLENBECK (SOHC, 51st career win in the division), David Frame (DOHC, 1st career win in the division), John Napoli, Zach McSpirit, Wayne Russell, Shawn Hemstreet, David Peek-Britten, Bubba Cook, Mike Landux, Riley Pedrick, Justin Sargalis, Pat McSpirit.

Lap leaders – 1-15 Ken Hollenbeck.