Edwards Dominates Firecracker STSS Sportsman Feature – DTD Exclusive


FONDA, NY – Chad Edwards picked up his second win of the season at Fonda Speedway in Sunday’s Short Track Super Series North Region Sportsman race.

The race got going with Matt Meade and Ricky Quick charging into turn one.  Edwards exploded out of the gate early getting past Quick on lap one to move into second.

On lap three, Edwards rolled by Meade for the lead. Tim Hartman and Brian Calabrese were on the move as well as they battled for spots in the top five.

Calabrese challenged Meade for second on lap five as Hartman also looked to pass Quick for fourth.

On Lap seven Calabrese and Meade made contact before Calabrese was finally able to get by him for second.  He would then be after Edwards for the lead.

Edwards stretched his lead too a half a track as he put the 96 of Michael Mcallion a lap down on lap 10.

Joe Williams charged late passing quick for fifth on lap 12.

Edwards was a rocket as he went to dominate the race.  In the interview he said “this one is extra special to win in front of all the fans and to be with a team who has struggled for a while I will certainly remember this one “

Calabrese finished second with Meade, Quick and Hartman rounding out the top five.

Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco Crate 602 Sportsman Halmar International North Region No. 1 Feature Finish (25 laps): CHAD EDWARDS, Brian Calabrese, Matt Meade, Ricky Quick, Tim Hartman Jr., Joe Williams, Mike Ballestero, JaMike Sowle, Brian Borst, Robert Bublak, Cody Clark, Griffen Mansmith, Michael Wagner-Fitzgerald, David Manchester, Charlie Tibbitts, Thomas Van Vorst, Anthony Cardamone, Blaine Klinger, Michael McCallion, Robbie Knipe, Joseph Coppola, Don Bellen, David Dickey, Tim Dwyer, Nick Plumstead, Jamie Yannone.

Did Not Qualify: Scott Zehnacker, Daniel Morgiewicz, E.J. McAuliffe, Matt Sobiech, Pat Mann.

American Racer/Lias Tire Bonus (FREE Tire): Robert Bublak (10th)
Beyea Custom Headers Redraw Bonus ($25): Brian Borst (Redrew 12th)
Driven Design & Embroidery Hard Charger Award ($50): Charlie Tibbitts (21st to 15th)
Evergreen Fuels Inc. Low Temperature Bonus ($60): Chad Edwards