Twice is Nice for Wyatt Scott at Freedom

Eriez Speedway - Wyatt Scott (2020)

ARCADE, NY – Two was the magic number Friday night at Freedom Motorsports Park as four drivers took their second wins of the season on Sixt Lumber Night.

Dutch Davies took off and ran away from the field at the start of the 25-lap Super Late Model event, pulling out a full straightaway by lap 10 on Wyatt Scott. Once the race got past halfway, Scott started reeling in Davies, and he made the pass for the lead on lap 19. One lap later, Davies pitted under yellow with a flat right rear, rejoining at the tail of the pack. Scott held off a determined charge from Greg Oakes over the final two laps to take his second win of the year, followed by Bob Dorman, Mike Wonderling, and Kyle Bedell.

The 20-lap Street Stock feature saw Tom Kemp and Bill Taylor jump out to an early advantage, with Taylor taking the lead from Kemp on lap 3. Joe Chamberlin moved into third, but his car started to smoke and he would up dropping on just before a yellow on lap 18 bunched the field. Taylor and Kemp thrilled the fans with a two lap side by side battle for the win, one that Taylor managed to get by just half a car length at the finish. Aaron Miller, Michael Oakes, and Ted Mascho rounded out the top five.

In the Pro Mod division, Steve Dixon took the lead from Dennis Lunger Jr and survived some early race restarts, one of which sent Adam Ashcroft to the tail of the field after a spin. As Dixon increased his lead at halfway, Ashcroft was tearing through the pack, moving into fourth when the yellow flew for a Tyler Oakes spin on lap 14. Ashcroft got by Al Brewer for third on the restart, but could not catch Lunger Jr and Dixon, who brought home his second win in two starts at Freedom in 2021. Brewer and John Woodward Jr took fourth and fifth.

Ray Bliss Jr grabbed the top spot from Byron Dewitt in the 20-lap DIRTcar Sportsman feature, leaving Dewitt to battle with Michael McCary for second. McCary did get by Dewitt, but one corner later Dewitt executed a crossover move and retook the runnerup spot. As they diced, Bliss cruised away and took his first win at Freedom since 2018, with Dewitt, McCary, and Dan Kolb following.

It was another dominant performance for Andy Schumaker in the Mini Stock feature as he went wire to wire for the win, with only a lap 6 caution putting him within sight of Brian Johnson and DJ Williams, who spent the first two thirds of the race battling for second. At the finish, Schumaker had win number two on the year, with Johnson getting the better of Williams in the race for second. Curt Rung and Rick Heeman rounded out the top five.

The 12-lap Bandit feature was won by Ridge Cobb, his second of the year, with Cody Atwater, Kayley Bacon, Seth Johnson, Cole Harding.

Racing continues at Freedom Motorsports Park on Friday, July 2nd with the Zimmers Service Center ULMS Pete Loretto Memorial for Super Late Models, presented by Briggs Transport. All of the regular divisions in will be in action for the event, with heats starting at 7:30 p.m. For more information, visit .


SUPER LATE MODELS-WYATT SCOTT, Greg Oakes, Bob Dorman, Mike Wonderling, Kyle Bedell, Dutch Davies, Jason Dobson, Zack Wich, Mike Smith, Jon Rivers, Dave Scott (DNS).

DIRTcar SPORTSMAN-RAY BLISS JR, Byron Dewitt, Michael McCary, Dan Kolb.

PRO MOD-STEVE DIXON, Dennis Lunger Jr, Adam Ashcroft, Al Brewer, John Woodward Jr, Adam Peterson, Duane Powers, Justin Chaddock, Tim Schram, Brent Ritter Sr, Tyler Oakes, Dean Ingalls.

STREET STOCK-BILL TAYLOR, Tom Kemp, Aaron Miller, Michael Oakes, Ted Mascho, Justin Neff, Jim Weatherley, Joe Chamberlin, Bill Demick, Ron Richter.

MINI STOCK-ANDY SCHUMAKER, Brian Johnson, DJ Williams, Curt Rung, Rick Heeman, Joe Bieber, Grayson Harding, Jacob Neamon.

BANDITS-RIDGE COBB, Cody Atwater, Kayley Bacon, Seth Johnson, Cole Harding.