Wight Wins Again; Gypsum Team Sweeps Top Two Spots – DTD Exclusive


FULTON, NY – For the third time this season, Larry Wight was victorious at the Fulton Speedway. The win extends Wight’s points lead, and moves his winning percentage for 35-lap features at the track this season up to 50%, taking the win in half of the six points events in 2017.

Second starting Matt Hulsizer jumped to the top spot early, looking for redemption after a disappointing run last week, where he went off on the hook while battling for the lead. Hulsizer quickly opened up a large gap between himself and the remainder of the field, but a lap 6 yellow for Max McLaughlin and Tom Sears tangling slowed the pace. Hulsizer picked up right where he left off on the restart, going right back to the cushion and walking away once more.

Behind Hulsizer was three and four wide racing throughout the pack. 18th starting Larry Wight had picked up four spots before the early caution, and rapidly picked off many more after the restart. Wight went to the extreme topside of the speedway and found himself in third by lap 9, advancing 11 spots in three laps. Wight picked off second from Mike Bowman with 13 laps completed, but another yellow for Tim Mayne’s blown tire on lap 15 allowed him to close in on the rear bumper of Matt Hulsizer. However, Hulsizer’s run came to an abrupt end, as he pulled pitside from the lead under the caution, thus handing the lead to Wight.

On the restart, Pat Ward slipped by to take second, while Jimmy Phelps chased him in third. Both drivers showed speed, but neither matched Wight on this run, as he opened up a big lead in just a handful of laps. Tom Sears recovered well from his early tangle, cracking into the top five by halfway. But, a puff of smoke from the rear of Sears’ machine sent him to the pits on lap 18, ending his charge through the field. One final yellow flew with 11 laps remaining, as Tim Kerr also suffered engine issues.

The remainder of the event was yet another Saturday night episode of the Larry Wight Show, as no driver was able to hang close for long in the late stages of the race. Chasing Wight across the finish line was Pat Ward, Tim Sears Jr., Jimmy Phelps, and Chad Phelps.

“We worked out a couple bugs with the car, and now we have it rolling good,” Wight noted. “We just can’t do anything wrong to it. I think we could’ve had something last night at Brewerton if we got a caution to bunch everyone back up, but hopefully this success carries over into tomorrow.”

In Late Model action, Jason Parkhurst nabbed his second win of the season by over 8 seconds, beating Chris Fleming and Kevan Cook in yet another caution free event. Glenn Forward slipped by Michael Stanton late in the first Sportsman feature to take the checkered, while Ronnie Davis survived a wreck-filled second Sportsman race to claim the win.
Chris Bonoffski grabbed another 4-Cylinder win, his second of the weekend, while Tyler Rodgers and John Stricker both grabbed their first Novice Sportsman victories.

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – LARRY WIGHT, Pat Ward, Tim Sears Jr., Jimmy Phelps, Chad Phelps, Billy Whittaker, Mike Bowman, Jim Witko Jr., Adam Roberts, Roy Bresnahan, Max McLaughlin, Katelyn Hile, Andrew Ferguson, Kody Graham, Joe August Jr., Tim Murphy, Ryan Jordan, Tim Kerr, Tom Sears Jr., Matt Hulsizer, Tim Mayne, Tim Harris, Chris Hile.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman #1 25 Laps) – GLENN FORWARD, Alan Fink, Todd Root, Corey Barker, Billy Clark Jr., Chris Mackey, Willy Decker Jr., Kyle Kiehn, Wade Chrisman, Joey Bounagurio, Ricky Yelle, Steve Marshall, Tyler Trump, Stephen Denton, Aron Backus, Torrey Stoughtenger, Kyle Perry, Mike Stanton Jr., AJ Miller, Brett Draper.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman #2 25 Laps) – RON DAVIS III, Will Shields, Nick Krause, Mike Button, Jeremy Dygert, Jeremy Pitcher,Chris Cunningham, Mike Phelps, Kyle Demerto, Ryan Hatherill, JJ Courcy, Pat LaPage, Jason Amidon, Jim Spano, Nate Higgins, Dorian Wahdan, Haiden Burdick, Dylan Zacharias, Jessica Power.

(Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models 20 Laps) – JASON PARKHURST, Chris Fleming, Kevan Cook, Sean Beardsley, Jason Occhino, Dale Caswell, Bret Belden, Chad Homan, Steven Coit, Mike Kazmierczak, Dick Parkhurst, Brandon Carvey, Max Hill.

(E&V Energy Novice Sportsman #1 15 Laps) – TYLER ROGERS, Joe Abbass, Kyle Rood, Ryan Gustin, Tom Mackey, Dan Dupra, Tom Juno, Wesley Hayes, Bill Megnin, Kearra Backus.
(E&V Energy Novice Sportsman #2 15 Laps) – JOHN STRICKLER, Jimmy Moyer, Rachel Zacharias, Matthew Becker, Jake Davis, Robert Gage, Pat Nolan, Dakota Bechler, Jake Petit, Colby Herzog.
(JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHRIS BONOFFSKI, Ray Bechler, Dakota Bechler, Jacobe Palmiter, Evan Wright, Quinn Wallis, Stephanie Seeley, Jeremy Lueck, Ken Pitsley, David DeNova, Joe Buske Jr., Nate Powers.