Ricky Newton Scores Thursday Night Thunder Win at Genesee – DTD Exclusive


BATAVIA, NY – Third-generation driver Ricky Newton broke the three-race win streak by Kyle Inman Thursday Night at Genesee Speedway. The Oakfield, N.Y., pilot took the lead from the drop of the green flag to lead all 30-laps in the GRIT Racing Series opener.

Newton shared the front row with Jim Harbison and would take off into the lead. Kyle Inman started 16th on the grid after having a mechanical issue during his qualifying heat and steadily worked his way through the field. Newton, Jonathan Reid, and Dave Conant pulled away from the field and thought they had settle the race amongst themselves.

After the races’ lone caution on lap 18, Cameron Tuttle entered the top three, and Kyle Inman would race inside the top six. Newton, Reid, and Conant pulled away with Newton scoring the win.

Reid finished in second with Conant coming home in third place. Garrison Krentz and Inman completed the top five. Cameron Tuttle, TJ Newton, Jim Harbison, Ray Bliss Jr, and Jordan Moden rounded out the top ten.

“The win certainly feels good,” Newton said. “With the year that we have had, it is good to finally get one. “I cannot thank my family, sponsors, and crew enough for their support.”

The win for Newton in the Genesee County Clash came with a $1,000 payday and a guaranteed starting spot in the GRIT Winter Nationals at North Florida Speedway in Lake City, Florida in February 2021.

“Mr. Excitement” Jeremy Wonderling won his second race in five days at the Batavia, N.Y., oval in the RUSH Late Models. After an early race altercation, the Scio, N.Y., driver worked the outside of the track to take the lead away from Doug Ricotta and went on to score the win. Wonderling would hold off Ricotta, JJ Mazur, Austin Hauser, and Brian Kotarski. Career-best finishes were had by Austin Hauser (4th) and Austyn Fugle (6th).

“We were able to maneuver our way out of trouble and the kept the car clean and in one piece this week”, Fugle said. “That’s a win in itself sometimes, especially how our season has started”, Fugle continued.

Race winner Jeremy Wonderling commended track promoters Jim and Pam Johnson, along with the track prep crew for preparing a fast and smooth racing surface, despite the humid conditions and lack of rain to help with moisture in the track. Several drivers across all of Genesee’s divisions said the same sentiments.

Other winners at Genesee include Josh Pangrazio winning in the Street Stocks for the second time in five days. The first three rows of the Street Stock feature were filled with several track champions, including former Pro Stock track champion Dan Schulz, who would take the lead from the drop of the green flag. Reigning track champ Josh Pangrazio took the lead on lap three and would not look back. John Zimmerman, Dennis Cummings, Schulz, and Jesse Qutermous would complete the top five finishers. Cole Susice scored the Mini Stock win over Brad Shepard and James Gayton. Brian Gregory leads all 12 circuits to score his first Bandits win of the season, ending the three-race win streak by Jake Bansmer. Brian Monahan Jr held off Dylan Duhow to score the Novice Sportsman feature.

Genesee Speedway Results: 7/9/2020-Carquest Night

GRIT Sportsman Tour Feature (30 Laps)- RICKY NEWTON, Jonathan Reid, Dave Conant, Garrison Krentz, Kyle Inman, Cam Tuttle, TJ Newton, Jim Harbison, Ray Bliss, Sarah Johnson, Jordan Moden, Noah Walker, Zach George, Phil Vigneri III, Larry Vick, Kyle Richner, Byron Dewitt, Clayton Cain.

Lap Leader- R. Newton 1-25.
Heat Winners- Krentz, Tuttle, Walker.

Cornerstone Eye Associates RUSH Late Model Feature (25 Laps)- JEREMY WONDERLING, Doug Ricotta, JJ Mazur, Austin Hauser, Brian Kotarski, Austyn Fugle, Bill Holmes, Beamer Guzzardi, Dave DuBois, Tim Schram, Jimmy Johnson, Billy DuBois, Jon Rivers, Nick Snayczuk, TJ Downs, Paul Grigsby, Mark Sundt, Greg Mrzywka.

Lap Leaders- Ricotta 1-7, Wonderling 8-25.
Heat Winners- Wonderling, Rivers.

Yasses Trucking & Construction Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- JOSH PANGRAZIO, John Zimmerman, Dennis Cummings, Dan Schulz, Jesse Qutermous, Tommy Kemp, Pat Powers, Dan Brumsted, Bill Taylor, Dale Rissinger, Mike Kelly, Dave Bansmer, Byron Dewitt, Brandon Sherwood, Brett Crawford, Dustin Goss, Damian Long, Randy Gregory, Matt Tracey, Nick Stark, Shawn Hazlett (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Schulz 1-3, Pangrazio 4-20.
Heat Winners- Schulz, Pangrazio, Zimmerman.

Pellegrino Auto Sales Mini Stock Feature (15 Laps)- COLE SUSICE, Brad Shepard, James Gayton, Brad Whiteside, Eric Brumsted, Bailey Logsdon, Rocco Conte, Andy Gayton, Don Whiteside, Andy Schumaker, Larry Wise, Cody Wise, Shauna Knapp, Jessica Schleede, Curtis Rung, Dylan Strade, Jeff Wynes, Ashley Harbison, Olivia Coniber, Dante Mancuso, Brandon Shepard, Rich Conte, Robert Knapp, Russ Bulger Jr, Jamie Pew.

Lap Leaders- Susice 1-15.
Heat Winners- Brad Shepard, Brandon Shepard, B. Whiteside.

Novice Sportsman Feature (15 Laps)- BRIAN MONAHAN, Dylan Duhow, Tim Nies, Mike Taddonio, Michael McCarthy, Allison Dewitt.

Lap Leaders- Monahan 1-15.

DML Sealing Bandits (12 Laps)- BRIAN GREGORY, Jake Bansmer, Tyler Guzzardi, Alexis Traxler.

Lap Leaders- Gregory 1-12.

ogram starting at 7 pm for the fans in the grandstands and those watching at home on DirtTrackDigest.tv, the Bandits and Novice Sportsman had a feature-only format. The show was moved at a steady pace as lightning and rain could be seen all around the property and was falling nearby, but no precipitation fell at the racetrack.