Austin Hubbard Dominates Independence Day Summer Classic Super Late Model Event, Earning $3,500 Before Large Crowd; Sparky White $1,776 RUSH Victor


GEORGETOWN, DE – Seaford, Del.’s Austin Hubbard drove to a dominant victory in Sunday night’s Super Late Model main event at Georgetown Speedway.

Hubbard earned $3,500 for his efforts in the Independence Day Summer Classic event, becoming the third winner in as many nights for the mini-series, which began at Bedford (Pa.) Speedway on Friday night and moved to Winchester (Va.) Speedway on Saturday before embarking on the First State Sunday.

A series-high 24 Super Late Models signed in for the second appearance of the season by the division at Georgetown. A swiftly run show, including qualifying and five feature events, was completed by 9:54 p.m.

Hubbard, driving his Rocket XR-1 No. 11, drew the outside pole for the 35-lap feature and made the most of his good fortune, as he paced the entire distance comfortably over eventual runner-up Ross Robinson.

“Brett Deyo has done an amazing job with this race track and I feel fortunate to be here tonight,” Hubbard said before the large crowd in Victory Lane.
“We went with a softer tire and it helped with the restarts. There were a lot of good cars tonight.”

Robinson, who lives virtually across the street in Georgetown, Del., settled for second, fending off the advances of sixth-starting Dale Hollidge of Mechanicsville, Md. Delaware driver Amanda Whaley and Pennsylvania’s D.J. Troutman filled out the front five.

Heat winners were Hubbard, Whaley and Robinson. Mark Pettyjohn was the fast qualifier in time trials.

David “Sparky” White topped the companion 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model event, earning $1,776. White felt significant pressure from Joey Warren in the race’s final laps. Warren worked to the inside of White on several occasions and attempted to pull even in a drag race to the checkered flag.

However, White’s Elliott Farms-backed No. 16 raced to the stripe first.

“Joey didn’t make that one easy on me,” White said. “I’m thrilled to get the win tonight with all these cars here.”

Following White and Warren across the line were Cory Lawler, Derek Magee, and Hubbard who had been as far back as 16th in the race’s early going.

Dwayne Heck dominated the Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Car Club 12-lap main and promptly announced during his interview in the winner’s circle that his car is for sale!

Jay Sipple won the Delmarva Charger 12-lap, non-stop feature and David Smith was the Delaware Super Truck 12-lap nightcap victor.

Racing resumes to Georgetown Speedway on Friday, July 21 with the only United Racing Club (URC) 360 Sprint Car appearance of the season, plus Big-Block/Small-Block Modifieds in a $2,500-to-win main, L&J Sheet Metal Crate 602 Sportsman, Little Lincolns, Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars, Delmarva Chargers and Delaware Super Trucks.


Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A new website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or by contacting the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).


Super Late Model Feature Finish (35 laps): AUSTIN HUBBARD, Ross Robinson, Dale Hollidge, Amanda Whaley, D.J. Troutman, Donald Lingo Jr., Danny Snyder, Brandon Bernheisel, Dan Stone, Chad Myers, Mike Wilkins, Cody Gray, Dylan Evans, Kerry King, Reese Masiello, Ricky Elliott, Dale Murphy, Geoff Kerry, Mark Pettyjohn, Bob Geiger, Dave Troutman, Jason Dean, Tyler Emory, Dan Green.

Crate Late Model Feature Finish (20 laps): SPARKY WHITE, Joey Warren, Cory Lawler, Matt Glanden, Austin Hubbard, David Pettyjohn, Derek Magee, Allen Brannon, Mike Franklin, Devin Brannon, Darren Alvey, Timmy Booth, Jamie Emory, Jamie Eicholz, Nick Davis, Trevor Collins, Scott Tessman, Richard Harden, Brandon Sturgis, Matt Tarbox, Robert Paczowski, Matt Hill, Zac Weller.

Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Car Feature Finish (12 laps): DWAYNE HECK, C.J. Schirmer, Mark Williams, Josh Smith, Dave Schamp, L.J. Walbert, Chris Loveland.

Delmarva Charger Feature Finish (12 laps): JAY SIPPLE, Tanner Marvel, Robert Paczowski, Scott Calhoun, Ashley Merritt, Derek Swafford, Randy Merritt, Ben Knotts, Earl Truitt.

Delaware Super Truck Feature Finish (12 laps): DAVID SMITH, Shane Clogg, Robert Smith, Matt Esham, Thomas LeCates, Bobby Reed, Kirk Miles, Rocky Whitley, Dale Elliott, Mike Kennedy, Jerry Hill, Marvin Smith, Dick Beauchamp, Matthew Smith, Thomas Jackson, J.R. Bergman.