Anthony Perrego Tops September Showdown At Georgetown

GEORGETOWN, DE – Taking full advantage of increased banking on the upper groove, New York’s Anthony Perrego rolled the outside lane to victory on Friday night at Georgetown Speedway.

Perrego, driving Brian Smith’s Superior Remodeling No. 44, powered from sixth starting spot to the win in the ‘September Showdown’ and earned $3,000 for his efforts in the 30-lap main event.

The win for Perrego was the second of his career at Georgetown. He previously topped the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial in March 2016.

“Win or lose, the track was awesome tonight,” Perrego, 23, said after climbing to the roof of his small-block powered car on the frontstretch. “Our car liked the outside. I needed some green-flag laps to get it wound up but I could see I was running down Jamie (Mills.).”

First State driver Matt Jester launched off the pole in the Wilkins family No. 90W and led the race’s opening three laps. Jamie Mills utilized a restart to take over at the front of the field on lap four.

During the race’s first third, Perrego was moving toward the front. On lap 11, he assumed second and began to chase down Mills.

Stepping to the track’s outside line, Perrego inched ever closer to Mills’ Blue Hen Racing No. 30. On lap 18, he built enough momentum to overtake the leader.

Once in front, Perrego motored away to take the win, $3,000 and an extra $500 in product from Art’s Radiator.

Mills, of Milford, Del., held off the late advances of Wind Gap, Pa., veteran Frank Cozze to finish second. Cozze guided Dave Renaldo’s No. 401 to a third-place finish, followed by Jordan Watson of Milford, Del., who was challenging for the lead before slipping off the track’s upper lip, and 14th-starter Billy Pauch Jr. of Milford, N.J.

Driving from 19th to seventh, Ryan Watt was the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Hard Charger, receiving 24 free custom screen-printed tee-shirts.

Surging forward from seventh position, Neshanic, N.J.’s Matt Stangle earned a $1,000 payday in the L&J Sheet Metal Crate 602 Sportsman main. The win was Stangle’s first at the historic Sussex County track.

The teenager surpassed Mike Hough on a lap-six restart and was never headed. Dwayne Crockett drove from eighth to take over second spot on lap 13 and chased Stangle to the checkered.

Stangle earned an additional $250 product certificate from Art’s Radiator for his efforts.

Tom Moore Jr., Hough and Westley Smith completed the front five.

C.J. Schirmer dominated the 12-lap Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Car main event over Oscar Fields, Josh Smith, Todd Miller and Robert Paczkowski.

The 12-lap Little Lincoln feature was a three-car battle down to the wire. Kirk Lawson edged Landy Adams and Joseph Tracy in the run to the checkered.

Taking the lead with just two laps remaining, Robert Smith won the 12-lap Delaware Super Truck main. David Smith, who led the opening nine laps, settled for second, over Shane Clogg.

From dead last, Scott Calhoun won the 12-lap Delmarva Charger main. Calhoun was able to overtake Tanner Marvel at the halfway point.

Racing resumes at Georgetown on October 27-28 with the Mid-Atlantic Championship Weekend, a full weekend headlined by Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By VP big-block/small-block Modifieds paying $5,000 to win, Super Late Models offering $5,000 to win and small-block Modifieds with a $3,000 winner’s share. A complete weekend breakdown is on the speedway website.

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A new website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, or by contacting the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).


Modified Feature Finish (30 laps): ANTHONY PERREGO, Jamie Mills, Frank Cozze, Jordan Watson, Billy Pauch Jr., Matt Jester, Ryan Watt, Andy Bachetti, Ryan Godown, David Van Horn Jr., Brandon Grosso, Richie Pratt Jr., Rick Laubach, H.J. Bunting, Shawn Ward, Brian Hitz, Scott Hitchens, Kevin Sockriter, Jimmy Horton, Craig Von Dohren, Bobby Firth, Danny Johnson, Carson Wright, Michael White, Jim Britt, Brad Trice.

L&J Sheet Metal Crate 602 Sportsman Feature Finish (20 laps): MATT STANGLE, Dwayne Crockett, Tom Moore Jr., Mike Hough, Westley Smith, Kevin Gardner, Jordn Justice, Connor Otten, Rich Deck Jr., Colby Steele, David Jenkins, Trent Van Vorst, Ryan Riddle, Nick Alberti, Sean Metz, Duane Rust, Jason Rush, Jeff Marker, Dwayne Heck, Adam White, Jeff Brown.

Did Not Start: Daniel Johnson Jr.

Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Car Feature Finish (12 laps): C.J. SCHIRMER, Oscar Fields, Josh Smith, Todd Miller, Robert Paczkowski, Robert Blann, Don Davidson, Dwayne Heck, Joe Walbert, Chris Phillips, Kelly Putz, David Schamp, Chris Loveland.

Little Lincoln Feature Finish (12 laps): KIRK LAWSON, Landy Adams, Joseph Tracy, Matt White, Kevin White, Bunky White, Jordan Herbert, Ryan Walsen.

Delmarva Charger Feature Finish (12 laps): SCOTT CALHOUN, Robert Paczkowski, Tanner Marvel, Joe Waters, Ashley Merritt, Derek Swafford, Chris ‘Tippy’ Martinez, Randy Merritt, Ben Knotts, Geoff Carey, Jay Sipple.

Delaware Super Truck Feature Finish (12 laps): ROBERT SMITH, David Smith, Shane Clogg, Brian Meisenholder, Dale Elliott, Jerry Hill, Mike Kennedy, Dick Beauchamp, Thomas Jackson, J.R. Bergman, Billy Lockwood, Rocky Whitley, Matthew Smith, Dave Bailey, Bobby Reed.

Did Not Start: Marvin Smith, Matt Esham.