McCoy Holds Off Buff for Glen Ridge Win

FULTONVILLE, NY – The Ridge held one of its special nights this past Sunday evening as they honored the Hall of Fame, Class of 2019. Sportsman & Pro-Stock champion Butchie Irwin, championship winning car owner Bill Nelson, current contributor and former racer Denny Tillison, former street stock champion and contributors Rob & the late Bob VanAernam, and one of the original pioneers to where Glen Ridge is today, ‘Custom’ Bob Neimetz. They join 2018 inductees Bobby Vedder, The Hayes Family, Randy Hotaling, Don Warner.

Ryan Heath and Scott McCoy brought the Red Chair 602 Crate Modified to the green flag for their 30-lap affair. Heath jumped out the early lead and set sail into the sunset. Last race winner Andrew Buff was making his trek to the front from his 11th starting position getting by Rocky Warner and a slew of others. Heath was setting a torrid pace when lapped traffic came into play allowing McCoy to close in on the front running rookie. Heath was making veteran moves in traffic, but the #6r Troyer was getting loose, once again allowing McCoy his chance to make a serious threat for the lead. The two battled side by side, but on lap 26, Heath would go into turn 1 and get loose and spin bringing out the caution and also an end to his masterful drive. McCoy would inherit the lead and hold off the advances of Buff and Warner to pick up his 1st career Red Chair 602 Crate Modified win.

In another night of firsts, two-time Jr. Slingshot Track Champion, and All-Star Slingshot feature winner, ‘The G Man” Garrett Poland outdueled Harold Robitaille to pick up his first career Limited Sportsman feature win. Poland worked lapped traffic as if he had been running open wheeled cars for decades, yet this was only career start #4. Robitaille, Travis Whitbeck, David Boisclair, and Jerry Cohn completed the top 5.

Andy Graves loved his 1st career Yurkewecz Auto Crusher Pro-Stock victory two weeks ago that he felt the need to re-visit victory lane for the 2nd straight week. Buck Gasner and Steve Cosselman would be the front row for the 20-lap feature go with Cosselman taking the point at the drop of the green flag. Gasner, with friend and now Glen Ridge Hall of Famer Custom Bob in attendance, would hang tough for a podium position. Graves would overtake Cosselman on a lap 5 restart and never look back. Luke Horning, who had an early race spin, would recover for 2nd, Gasner with an impressive 3rd place finish, Cosselman, and Jim Normoyle rounded out the top 5.

Josh Kane once again outdueled John Napoli and Tim Billington got back to his winning ways in the DOHC and SOHC Mini Stock feature.

Cliff Haslun, who hot lapped fellow competitor Damon Anderson’s #5, would climb back aboard his now infamous ‘Jezzi’ and hold off a feisty Anderson, Kenny Allen and new Hall of Famer Rob VanAernam in the street stock division’s 15 lap feature event.

Sprague Racing/Wade Tour teammates Bob Morey & Scott Sprague led the ultra-fast and competitive All-Star Slingshot feature to head starter Joe Kriss’ green flag. The field was fast & furious and in the end Mike ‘The Thrill’ Hill, with son Connor as special guest flagger, got to double checker flag his father’s feature win! Brett Putnam crossed the line 2nd but was disqualified in tech giving Danny Ballard the runner up finish, Tyler Vadney, Spencer Cherko and Sprague were the top 5.

In the Northeast Paving & Sealcoating Jr. Slingshot division, Miss Sloan Cherko drove a masterpiece of a feature event and dominated the 12-lap event to pick up her 1st career win at the ‘Fastest ¼ Mile on Dirt’ over Brock Pinkerous, Lucas Duncan, Connor Hill, and Corky Warner.

Three first time winners this weekend, who can put their names in the record books next week!?

Next week at The Ridge, the Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series returns to where it all began, with the ‘Thrill on the Hill’ spectacular. The Red Chair 602 Crate Sportsman, Limited Sportsman, Yurkewecz Auto Crusher Pro-Stocks, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, All-Star Slingshots and the NPS Jr. Slingshots are all on the racing card. Pits open at 3pm, hotlaps at 530pm and heat racing kicks off at 6pm. September 8th, Vengeance gets another shot at redemption, 50-laps, sail paneled modifieds running for $2500, and a guaranteed starting spot in the September 28th Fonda 200!

As always you can check us out on the web at or like & follow us on Facebook!

August 24th, 2019 Racing Results

The Red Chair 602 Crate Modified Feature: Scott McCoy, Andrew Buff, Rocky Warner, Joe Orlando, Brendan Gibbons, Tucker O’Connor, Mike Ketchum, Bill August, Justin Buff, Ryan Heath, Cody Ochs, Jake Mason, Jim Introne Jr, Mike Jackson.
Heat Winners: Ryan Heath, Scott McCoy.

Limited Sportsman Feature: Garrett Poland, Harold Robitaille, Travis Whitbeck, David Boisclair, Jerry Cohn, James Vendetti, Tanner Warner, Zack Dufel, Mike Canastra.
Heat Winners: Garrett Poland, Tanner Warner.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Pro-Stock Feature: Andy Graves, Luke Horning, Buck Gasner, Steve Cosselman, Jim Normoyle, Jim Burton, Randy Cosselman, Jim Groncki, Malcum Warner.
$100 Shults Auto Center Winner’s Bonus: Andy Graves.
Heat Winners: Andy Graves, Steve Cosselman.

DOHC Mini Stock Feature: Josh Kane, John Napoli.
SOHC Mini Stock Feature: Tim Billington, Zach McSpirit, TJ Marlitt, Dale VanAllen.

Street Stock Feature: Cliff Haslun, Damon Anderson, Kenny Allen, Rob VanAernam.

All-Star Slingshot Feature: Mike Hill, Danny Ballard, Tyler Vadney, Spencer Cherko, Scott Sprague, Nick Auspelmyer, Jim Gage, Bob Morey, Blaine King, Don Boonstra, Mike Bellinger, Brett Putnam (DQ).
Heat Winners: Nick Auspelmyer, Mike Hill.

Northeast Paving & Sealcoating Jr. Slingshot Feature: Sloan Cherko, Brock Pinkerous, Lucas Duncan, Connor Hill, Corky Warner, Cole Conrad, Tavien Blowers, Tucker Jones, Ryan McCoy.
Heat Winners: Brock Pinkerous, Connor Hill.