Buff Beats Weather and Field at Glen Ridge


FULTONVILLE, NY – Mother nature threw everything but the kitchen sink at the Ridge for their finale Sunday night. However, track officials worked hard to get the races in and when the checkered flag flew on the event & the fog settled in for good, it was Andrew Buff taking home the $1500 50 lap Sportsman Feature win, while Beau Ballard went back to Back to close out the 2020 season in Prostocks and the remainder of our champions were crowned: Damon Anderson (Streetstock), Josh Kane (Mini Stock DOHC), Wayne Russell Jr (Mini Stock SOHC), Dan Ballard (All Star Slingshot) & Lucas Duncan (Jr Slingshots).

Tanner Warner & Jason Reome led the field to green in the 50 lap Red Chair 602 DIRTcar Crate Sportsman feature. Reome grabbed the early lead but he would not have it for long as on lap four, Andrew Buff took the top spot away. Buff pulled out to a comfortable margin but a lap 15 caution bunched the field back up. What Buff didn’t know until the field bunched back up into rows of two was that his brother Justin was right there with him.

 Andrew took the lead off the restart but Justin used the top side to his advantage and took the lead away & it appeared that Justin was going to win. However, his car began to slightly fade. This allowed Andrew to reel him back in. However, Andrew had company as well as invader Bobby Hackel was nipping at the heels of the 92. Andrew threw a slidejob on his brother to take the lead and Hackel took second shortly after.

                As they navigated lap traffic, it appeared Andrew Buff had the better car to handle in traffic as he pulled away from Hackel & he would go onto pickup the win. Hackel would have to settle for second, Justin Buff finished in third while Tony Farone & Travis Green would round out the top five.

Tony Markou & Beau Ballard sat on the front row for the 35 lap Prostock race. Ballard would take the early lead but he would have his hands full as Josh Coonradt was nipping on his heels. Coonradt would take over the top spot on lap 16. Ballard wasn’t going down without a fight as he wrestled the lead back on lap 18. As Coonradt battled with Ballard for the top spot, Ivan Joslin & Luke Horning drew in on the top two.

Coonradt could get to the back bumper but he could never complete the pass for the lead again as Beau Ballard picked up win number three of 2020. Coonradt came home second, Horning got third in the last handful of laps, Ivan Joslin came home fourth and Chad Jeseo completed the top five.

In the 15 lap Street Stock feature, Kenny Allen led the field to green. However, it wasn’t long before a lead change happened as Harley Shepard took over the top spot. A lap four caution for Damon Andersons flat tire bunched the field back up.

Shepard took the lead once again but he had his hands full as Adam Tranka & Matt Mosher were right on the 627’s back door. Tranka managed to nose ahead on lap nine and Tranka pulled away for his fifth win of 2020. Harley Sheppard came home second, Evan Denue had an impressive run as he finished third in his first trip to the ridge, Damon Anderson finished fourth and Kenny Allen completed the top five.

Tranka won the battle but, Damon Anderson won the war as he picked up his first career track championship at the ridge.

James Venditti took home the Limited Sportsmans feature. Carter Gibbons came home second while Darren Sperbeck, Joe Venditti, & Issac Walker rounded out the top five.

In the Mini Stocks, Josh Kane took home yet another win en route to his first career championship at the ridge in the dual cams. Dale Van Allen took home the single cam win while Wayne Russell Jr took home his first track championship and second championship in three days (Won the Single Cam Championship at Albany Saratoga).

Scott Sprague led the All Star Slingshots field to the green flag in the final 15 lap event. However, Bob Morey quickly took the lead away. Morey pulled out to a lead but Dan Slosek reeled him in and took away the lead on lap six & that was all she wrote as Slosek went onto pickup his first career win at the Ridge.

In the Jr. Slingshots feature, Lucas Duncan took advantage of his fourth place starting spot and went onto pickup his fourth win of 2020 and the championship in the class. Liam Jackson came home second, Sloan Cherko finished in third, Frank Twing Jr came home fourth and Hayden Ackerknecht completed the top five.

The Red Chair DIRTcar 602 Sportsman: Andrew Buff, Bobby Hackel, Justin Buff, Tony Farone, Travis Green, Derrick McGrew Jr., Tanner Warner, Fred Proctor, Garett Poland, Billy August, Mark Mortensen, Al McCoy, Jerry Cohn, Cody Ochs, Ryan Heath, Jason Reome, Larry Niemiec, Brendan Gibbons.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro-Stocks: Beau Ballard, Josh Coonradt, Luke Horning, Ivan Joslin, Chad Jeseo, Tony Markou, Buck Gasner, Ken Griffin, Doug Sheely, Matt Groncki, Don Collins, Charlie Yurkewecz.

Limited Sportsman: James Venditti, Carter Gibbons, Darren Sperbeck, Joe Venditti, Issac Walker.

Street Stocks: Adam Tranka, Harley Shepard, Evan Denue, Damon Anderson, Ken Allen, Tom Compoli, Janai St. Pierre, Nick Napoli, Matt Mosher.

2020 Track Champion: Damon Anderson (1st career Glen Ridge Track Championship)

Single Cam Mini Stock: Dale VanAllen, Jamie Warner, Wayne Russel Jr, Ray Young, Daniel Joubert, Lee Horning, Shaun Hemstreet

2020 Track Champion: Wayne Russell Jr. (1st career Glen Ridge Track Championship).

Dual Cam Mini Stock: Josh Kane, Brandon Tyler, Gina Voris.

2020 Track Champion: Josh Kane (1st career Glen Ridge Track Championship)

Northeast Paving & Sealcoating All-Star Slingshots: Dan Slosek, Mike Hill, Bob Morey, Tyler Vadney, Nick Auspelmyer, Dan Ballard, Brock Pinkerous, Tucker Jones, Conner Hill, Darryn Fallis, Jim Duncan, Don Boonstra, Scott Sprague, Gordon Smith, Jim Pollard, Jim Gage, Blane King, Andrew Millard.

2020 Track Champion: Dan Ballard (1st career Glen Ridge Track Championship).

Northeast Paving & Sealcoating Junior Slingshots:  Lucas Duncan, Liam Jackson, Sloan Cherko, Frank Twing Jr, Hayden Ackerknecht, Kai DeWitt, Joshua Landers, Corky Warner, Cole Conrad

2020 Track Champion: Lucas Duncan (1st career Glen Ridge Track Championship).