Cody Ochs Captures DIRTcar Checkers

FULTONVILLE, NY – 2019 Co-Champion in the Red Chair DIRTcar 602 Crate Sportsman Travis Green and ‘The Bomber’ Brendan Gibbons brought the field to green in the 30-lap feature event.

Gibbons quickly jumped out to the early race lead with Green keeping tabs on the front running b24 machine. The other co-champion Andrew Buff was lurking in the top 5 and got by Ricky Quick for 4th around the halfway mark of the feature event. At the same time Cody Ochs made his way by Green for the runner-up spot. Gibbons was pedaling as fast as he could, but little did he know the 33 of Ochs was coming and bringing the 92 of Buff with him. With 10 laps remaining, Ochs was within a second of Gibbons’ rear bumper, and with 5 to go made an error losing some ground. It appeared Gibbons was enroute to his 1st win of the season, but Ochs regrouped, and was on the Gibbons bumper taking the white flag. The two were side by side coming off turn 4 and it was Ochs taking the victory by a margin of 0.074 seconds! While the Gibbons machine took the checkers and the crate motor under the hood expired. Great racing by two of the best at the Ridge. Buff crossed the line for 3rd, Green and Quick rounded out the top 5.

Carter Gibbons and Zach ‘The Real Stuff’ Buff raced to the green flag in the makeup Limited Sportsman feature from last week, with Buff gaining the upper hand going into turn #1. Taylor Wason and Tommy D’Angelo raced their way into top 5 finishes, but at the end of 20 laps it was Buff with his 1st career Ridge victory.

In the regularly scheduled limited sportsman feature Buff also used the advantage of a heads up start to rocket to the lead away from Kyle Dingman. Lurking in the top 3 was the #07 of Taylor Wason, looking fast & smooth searching for his 1st Ridge win, and on lap #13 he got around the Dingman machine and set his sights on Buff. Wason ran a nice clean race and settled for 2nd behind Buff who doubled up on the night in the division.

Beau Ballard has been an opening night machine in the northeast this season, and the 1st event of the season at the Ridge was the makeup Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro-Stock event and the Ballard 15 was nothing less than dominant. Ballard led every circuit on his way to his 4th career win over Andy Graves, Scott Towslee, Luke Horning and ‘The Natural’ Chuck McSpirit.

In the regular Pro-Stock event Towslee and Graves battled for the top spot, with Graves taking over. An unfortunate incident on lap 8 of the feature saw the multi time track champ Cousin Luke Horning get loose and spin in turn 4, right in the path of oncoming Buck Gasner. The two collided hard and the Horning machine was turned upside down. Thankfully, all drivers were uninjured, but both were done for the remainder of the evening. When racing resumed, Graves took off, but with a handful to go, Ballard found himself getting by Towlsee for 2nd and rocketing to Graves’ rear bumper. Graves would not be denied, and his cool hands led him to his 4th career Pro-Stock win at the Ridge. Ballard, Towslee, Jay Fitzgerald and Ken Griffin rounded out the top 5.

Matt Mosher used all his muscle to outduel Kenny ‘The Mailman’ Allen in an incredible FantaSStic 4 Street Stock Series win. Jason Samrov (with his wife sponsor this year’s top 3 trophies at The Ridge) was 3rd, last week’s winner Adam Tranka 4th and Josh Samrov 5th.

The ‘Outside Executioner’ Josh Kane was able to get by Brandon Tyler and sail his way to his 2nd DIRTcar Dual Cam Mini Stock of the season, while Dale VanAllen finally got the monkey off his back and back to his winning ways in the DIRTcar Single Cams over defending champ Wayne Russell Jr.

The Slingshot by Tobias Empire Series was in town and ‘BAM-BAM’ Brock Pinkerous battled 2020 Ridge champion Lucas Duncan from the start to finish in the Northeast Paving & Sealcoating Junior Slingshot division. Avery Decker held pace with the top 2 but could not make a challenge and crossed the line 3rd, Josh Landers and Hayden Ackernecht took home top 5s.

Adam Fusco and Andrew Turpin led the field to green in the All-Star portion of the show with Fusco quickly grabbing the top spot in his 771 machine. Fusco was the class of the field until Brett Putnam made his way around him for the lead with 3 laps to go. While this was happening, Turpin got around Fusco for 2nd, which was a critical move in the race as Putnam would slow going into turn 1 on the white flag lap. Turpin turned the wheel hard to avoid the slowing Putnam and outraced Fusco to the checkered flag. For Turpin, his 1st win in a slingshot anywhere.

The Ridge is back in action next Sunday with all division in action plus the Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series.

The Red Chair DIRTcar 602 Sportsman: Cody Ochs, Brendan Gibbons, Andrew Buff, Travis Green, Ricky Quick, Ryan Heath, Garrett Poland, Joe Orlando, Jerry Cohn, Justin Buff, John Scarborough.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro-Stocks Make-Up Feature: Beau Ballard, Andy Graves, Scott Towslee, Luke Horning, Chuck McSpirit, Buck Gasner, Doug Sheely, Don Collins, Jay Fitzgerald, Ken Griffin, Chris Daughtry.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro-Stocks: Andy Graves, Beau Ballard, Scott Towslee, Jay Fitzgerald, Ken Griffin, Chuck McSpirit, Doug Sheely, Luke Horning, Buck Gasner, Chris Daughtry, Don Collins.

Limited Sportsman Makeup Feature: Zach Buff, Carter Gibbons, Thomas D’Angelo, Tyler Wason, James Hineman Jr, Mike Hill, Frank Twing Jr.

Limited Sportsman: Zach Buff, Tyler Wason, Thomas D’Angelo, Kyle Dingman, Carter Gibbons, James Hineman Jr, Frank Twing Jr., Mike Hill.

FantaSStic 4 Street Stock Series: Matt Mosher, Ken Allen, Jason Samrov, Adam Tanka, Josh Samrov, Wayne Gaige, Rob VanAernam, John Filarecki, Harley Shepard.

DIRTcar Single Cam Mini Stock: Dale VanAllen, Wayne Russell Jr, Len St. Andrews, Austin Orcutt, Lee Horning, Harris St. Andrews.

DIRTcar Dual Cam Mini Stock: Josh Kane, Brandon Tyler, Zach McSpirit, Jamie Warner, Ariana Shultz, Gina Voris.

Northeast Paving & Sealcoating All-Star Slingshots: Andrew Turpin, Adam Fusco, Tucker Jones, Nick Auspelymyer, Darryn Fallis, Jim Pollard, Matt Sabo, Joshua Persse, Tavien Blowers, Scott Sprague, Brett Putnam, Spencer Cherko, Tyler Vadney, Nick Millard, Dan Ballard, Tyler Holcomb.

Northeast Paving & Sealcoating Junior Slingshots: Brock Pinkerous, Lucas Duncan, Avery Decker, Josh Landers, Hayden Ackerknecht, Cole Conrad, Corky Warner, Jaden Pierce, Trevor Houghton, Chase Zimmer, Sloan Cherko.