Willix & McGrew Open DIRTcar Season At Glen Ridge

FULTONVILLE, NY – After a few seasons away from the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park, the Red Chair DIRTcar 358 Modified division made their return to the track as a weekly division one week ago. Mother Nature washed out the feature event, which will be made up at a later date.

This week, Mother Nature was not a factor and the first full program of the season was able to get in the record books. When all was said and done, a familiar face graced victory lane – Lance Willix.

Willix took the lead at the drop of the green and quickly opened up a comfortable advantage. Rookie campaigner Garrett Poland settled into second but quickly lost ground to the very quick Willix. Once out-front Willix never looked back in the caution free, 35-lap event.

The Theresa, New York driver took the win over Poland, Corey Cormier, Jordan McCreadie and Bill August. The win was his fourth career triumph at The Ridge in Modified competition. In qualifying action, heat race wins went to Poland and Willix.

The Classic Muscle Parts DIRTcar Sportsman division would also see a familiar face grace victory lane. Derrick McGrew, Jr., made his return to The Ridge a successful one as he claimed the nights 30-lap feature event. McGrew, the 2018 Limited Sportsman Track Champion, dominated the caution free event.

McGrew held a large lead over defending and now three-time track champion Andrew Buff for most of the event. With McGrew in slower traffic at the end, Buff was able to close in however he could not make the pass. McGrew picked up his 16th career feature win at the track (first in the division) over Buff, Floyd Billington, Zach Buff and Cody Ochs. The heat race win went to McGrew.

The familiar face trend continued in the Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro Stock feature event. Cousin Luke…Luke Horning took the lead early in the 20-lap feature event and never looked back. The five-time track champion would pick up the win over Johnny Rivers, Steve Cosselman, Slater Baker and Shawn Perez, Jr. The win was the 45th for Horning at the track (41st in the division). The heat races were won by Baker and Rivers.

Matt Mosher kicked off the Street Stock season in grand style by winning the divisions 15-lap feature event. Mosher, the 2021 track champion, battled throughout most of the event with Joe Wilson but in the end, held off the second-generation driver for the win. Wilson finished second with Jason Samrov third, Jason Barrett fourth and Josh Samrov fifth. The win was Mosher’s 11th of his career at the track. The heat race was won by Wilson.

In other action Tavian Blowers picked up the win in the Limited Sportsman division (1st win in division, 2nd win at track) while Damian Ward (Dual Cam – 1st win in division) and Bruce Liddle (Single Cam – 24th win in division) were victorious in the Leatherstocking Credit Union DIRTcar Mini Stock division. In Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Slingshot action, A.J. Albreada (All-Star – 2nd win in division) and Bodie Marks (Junior – 3rd win in division, 2nd of 2023) were feature winners.

The GR Live Driver of the Week honors went to Willix. Willix is now eligible for the GR Live Driver of the Year Award.

The Glen Ridge Motorsports Park is back in action this Sunday night, May 21st with the inaugural Silver Fox Showdown, in memory of Don Warner. It will also be Relay For Life night. Pit gates open at 3pm, front gates at 4pm with hot laps at 5:30 pm and racing at 6pm.

For more information on The Ridge log on to the track website at www.glenridgemp.com or find them on Facebook. Be sure to check out “GR Live”, the official post-race show of The Ridge every Sunday night following the racing action hosted by track Lead Announcer Toby LaGrange and Assistant Announcer Brady Houser.

Official Finish

Red Chair DIRTcar 358 Modifieds (35 Laps) – Lance Willix, Garrett Poland, Corey Cormier, Jordan McCreadie, Bill August, Tucker O’Connor, Jeff Gallup, C.J. Castelletti, Chris Bisson, Aaron Jacobs, Richie Price, Carter Gibbons.

Classic Muscle Parts DIRTcar Sportsman (30 Laps) – Derrick McGrew Jr., Andrew Buff, Floyd Billington, Zach Buff, Cody Ochs, Ricky Quick, Brendan Gibbons

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro Stocks (20 Laps) – Luke Horning, Johnny Rivers, Steve Cosselman, Slater Baker, Shawn Perez Jr., Kyle Weiler, Chuck McSpirit, Doug Sheely, Richard Spencer

Limited Sportsman (15 Laps) – Tavian Blowers, Connor Hearn

Street Stocks (15 Laps) – Matt Mosher, Joe Wilson, Jason Samrov, Jason Barrett, Josh Samrov, Rob VanAernam, Matt Wells

Leatherstocking Credit Union DIRTcar Mini Stocks (15 Laps) – (D) Damian Ward, (D) Gina Voris, (S) Bruce Liddle, (D) Brian Blanck, (D) Chad Hoffman, (S) Jack Minery, (D) Nicholas Bunn, (S) Jamie Warner, (D) Jay Ingersoll, (S) Blaze Post, (S) Hayleigh Gates (DNS)

Northeast Paving & Sealcoat All-Star Slingshots (15 Laps) – A.J. Albreada, Brett Putnam, Sloan Cherko, Devin Pierce, Adam Fusco, Jim Pollard, Dave Viall, Scott Sprague, Alex Boisvert, Justin House, Paul Holic (DNS)

Northeast Paving & Sealcoat Junior Slingshots (12 Laps) – Bodie Marks, E.J. Hatch, Kolton Gamble, Blake Patrick, Braxton Martin, Lucas Cole, Colton White, Jayden Wust, Izzy Pangman, Addi Pangman, Logan Carter, Alex Viall, Alex Cosselman