Billy Pauch Scores First Modified Thunder Victory In Smoke On The Hill 2 At Grandview Thursday

BECHTELSVILLE, PA – A pair of first-time NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series winners landed in victory lane Thursday night at Grandview Speedway when Levan Machine and Truck Equipment presented Smoke on the Hill 2.  Clute, TX’s Aaron Reutzel picked up his eighth Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions win of the season and Billy Pauch – who holds eleven Thunder Sprint Car wins – picked up his first ever Modified Thunder win.  Thirty sprint cars and forty-three 358 modifieds took part in the event that enjoyed sponsorship from  NAPA Auto Parts,  Levan Machine & Truck Equipment and  Pioneer Pole Buildings.

 “I’ve never had such good equipment in my life,” Reutzel said after his 8th All Star win of the season propelled him into the points lead.  “All of my wins this season are thanks to my team.”

Reutzel led the field to the green, by drag racing side-by-side with Tim Shaffer down into the first corner of the one-third mile Berks County oval.  Reutzel’s No. 87 pulled away in dramatic fashion before a lap five yellow slowed the field.

Positions maintained on the restart and four laps clicked off before the red flag flew on the ninth circuit when the No. 44 of Trey Starks ended upside down after an altercation involving Tony Stewart and Lucas Wolfe.

Reutzel held control on the restart with a thrilling battle for second between Tim Shaffer and Paul McMahan while Greg Hodnett challenged Chad Kemenah for the fourth place position.

While Paul McMahan closed in on Reutzel’s lead — all eyes were on Freddie Rahmer.  The defending Thunder Cup Champion charged into the fifth spot just prior to the halfway point and into the third position just a few laps later.

Lapped traffic hindered Reutzel’s momentum on the 20th trip around the Grandview Speedway closing the distance between the top five competitors.  Reutzel held control through lapped traffic with a pair of driver duels behind him Paul McMahan and Freddie Rahmer battled side-by-side for second with Tim Shaffer and Kyle Larson in tandem competing for fourth.

The yellow flew on lap 27 when Shaffer spun while running in the fifth position.

Reutzel continued control on the restart with Rahmer on his rear bumper, while McMahan and Kyle Larson battled for the third position.  Larson pulled around McMahan on the high-side – but the yellow flew relegating the Speedweek winner back to fourth position.

With Rahmer and Larson in a heated battle for the runner-up spot – making contact on the backstretch, Reutzel charged away with a sizable advantage and claimed his first NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series victory.  Freddie Rahmer came home in second, Kyle Larson finished in third, Paul McMahan in fourth, and Chad Kemenah in fifth.

The event started off on a high note with Aaron Reutzel smashing a 10-year track record set by Jeff Shepard on May 21, 2008.  Reutzel’s time of 11.243 was almost two-tenths of a second faster.  Paul McMahan and Freddie Rahmer also set times under the original record with a 11.399 and a 11.402 respectively.

30 Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Cars took time.  Heat races were won by Spencer Bayston, Danny Dietrich, and Cale Conley.  Tim Shaffer scored the victory in the Dash and Mark Smith won the B-Main

Frenchtown, New Jersey’s Billy ‘The Kid’ Pauch scored his first NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series Modified victory dominating the 30-lap feature event.  Pauch started on the pole and lead brothers, Kevin and Brian Hirthler to the drop of the green.

On the fifth lap, Jeff Strunk powered to third from the seventh starting position and moved around Kevin Hirthler six laps later.   Pauch approached lapped traffic on lap 12 before the yellow flag flew for the first time when Brett Kressley spun.

On the restart Pauch took control and held off Jeff Strunk.  Strunk closed but couldn’t muster enough to make the pass.  Laps ticked off and Pauch claimed the checkered flag.  Strunk settled for second, Kevin Hirthler in third, Duane Howard in fourth, and Ryan Godown in fifth.

NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series returns on Saturday, October 13 for the House of Thunder Halloween Party featuring the 21st Annual Big-Block/Small-Block Modified Traffic Jam, Sportsman, and MASS 305 Sprint Cars.

For more information visit

Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Cars

Time Trials: 1. Aaron Reutzel – 11.243  2. Paul McMahan – 11.399 3. Freddie Rahmer – 11.402  4. Greg Hodnett – 11.477 5. Spencer Bayston – 11. 485  6. Tony Stewart – 11.487  7. Kyle Larson – 11.488  8. Chad Kemenah – 11.502  9. Cale Conley – 11.512  10. Mark Smith – 11.518  11. Brock Zearfoss – 11.555  12. Tim Shaffer – 11.556  13. Trey Starks – 11.597  14. Danny Dietrich – 11.628  15. Anthony Macri – 11.650  16. Kyle Moody – 11.650  17. Ryan Smith – 11.664  18. Dave Blaney – 11.664  19. Ryan Taylor – 11.693  20. Alan Krimes – 11.694  21. Brandon Spithaler –11.725  22. Tyler Esh – 11.736  23. JJ Grasso – 11.745  24. Lucas Wolfe – 11.755  25. Jac Haudenschild – 11.804  26. Brandon Rahmer – 11.823  27. Carson Marcedo – 11.853  28. Tyler Ross – 11.890  29. Landon Myers –11.949  30. Brett Michalski –12.132

Heat 1 (10 Laps) – 1. Spencer Bayston  2. Chad Kemenah  3. Aaron Reutzel  4. Freddie Rahmer  5. Brock Zearfoss 6. Kyle Moody

Heat 2 (10 Laps) – 1. Danny Dietrich  2. Alan Krimes  3. Kyle Larson  4. Tony Stewart  5. Lucas Wolfe  6. Tyler Esh

Heat 3 (10 Laps) – 1. Cale Conley  2. Tim Shaffer  3. Greg Hodnett  4. Paul McMahan  5. Ryan Smith  6. Carson Macedo

Dash (6 Laps) – 1. Tim Shaffer 2. Aaron Reutzel  3. Paul McMahan 4. Cad Kemenah 5. Alan Krimes 6. Cale Conley 7. Danny Dietrich 8. Spencer Bayston

B-Main (12 Laps) – 1. Mark Smith  2. Ryan Taylor  3. JJ Grasso  4. Trey Starks  5. Anthony Macri  6. Dave Blaney 7. Brandon Rahmer

A-Main (35 Laps) – 1. Aaron Reutzel  2. Freddie Rahmer  3. Kyle Larson  4. Paul McMahan  5. Chad Kemenah  6. Danny Dietrich  7. Alan Krimes  8. Greg Hodnett 9. Ryan Smith  10. JJ Grasso  11. Cale Conley  12. Lucas Wolfe  13. Dave Blaney  14. Ryan Taylor  15. Carson Macedo  16. Kyle Moody  17. Anthony Macri  18. Tim Shaffer  19. Brandon Rahmer  20. Tyler Esh 21. Brock Zearfoss  22. Tony Stewart  23. Trey Starks  24. Mark Smith

NASCAR 358 Modfiieds

Heat 1 (10 Laps) – 1. Rick Laubach  2. Billy Pauch  3. Danny Erb  4. Craig VonDohren  5. TJ Lilly

Heat 2 (10 Laps) – 1. Duane Howard  2. Justin Grim  3. Brett Kressley 4. Colt Harris 5. Alex Yankowski

Heat 3 (10 Laps) – 1. Danny Bouc  2. Ryan Godown  3. Jeff Strunk  4. Kenny Gilmore  5. Frank Cozze

Heat 4 (10 Laps) – 1. Kevin Hirthler  2. Brian Hirthler  3. Ryan Watt  4. Mike Lisowski  5. Jared Umbenhauer

Consi 1 (10 Laps) – 1. Ryan Beltz  2. Louden Reimert

Consi 2 (10 Laps) – 1. Wade Hendrickson  2. Brandon Grosso

NASCAR 358 Modifieds (30 Laps) – 1. Billy Pauch  2. Jeff Strunk  3. Kevin Hirthler  4. Duane Howard  5. Ryan Godown  6. Craig VonDohren  7. Rick Laubach  8. Brian Hirthler  9. Danny Erb  10. Kenny Gilmore  11. Jared Umbenhauer  12. Danny Bouc  13. Ryan Watt  14. Mike Lisowski  15. Justin Grim  16. Louden Reimert  17. Alex Yankowski  18. Frank Cozze  19. Colt Harris  20. Brandon Grosso 21. Ryan Beltz  22. TJ Lilly 23. Brett Kressley 24. Wade Hendrickson