USAC Midgets Join Thunder on the Hill Racing Season on July 30 at Grandview

BECHTELSVILLE, PA – It all started when Don Kreitz Sr. won the very first midget race sanctioned by UMRC at the Grandview Speedway on June 12, 1965.

Grandview Speedway is just the perfect venue for midgets with its’ high-banks and racy straightaways. For years, Grandview has thrilled many race fans with the excitement that only midgets can provide at the track on the hill. Some 228 events were presented at the primer one-third mile Berk’s County oval since that first event in 1965. Midget racing continued at Grandview Speedway through the years including some thrilling double-header Sunday night events presented by prominent Promoter Ed Darrell. The midgets last run at Grandview was part of a Thunder on the Hill event on May 24, 2015 when Tim Buckwalter earned win.

Through this long and rich history, the midgets competed at Grandview under several different sanctioning bodies. As the UMRC Midgets presented the first event, other sanctioning bodies included SMRC, AOM, ARDC and on two occasions, ARDC and USAC teamed up for a pair of events on the Hill. There were also two non-sanctioned midget races. ARDC was the dominant organization, sanctioning over one-hundred and eighty of two-hundred and twenty-eight events.

Joining Don Kreitz Sr on the midget win list from 1965 to 1969 were the likes of Dutch Schaeffer, Len Duncan, Johnny Coy, Tommy McAndrews and Earl Halaquist. But this list goes on to include almost every legend in midget racing. On two previous occasion, the USAC Midgets ran the hill with ARDC co-sanctioning the event. Rich Vogler took the win on July 3, 1988 as Russ Gamester scored the other win on July 2, 1989.

So the tradition will continue on Tuesday night, July 30 when Grandview Speedway opens the Eastern Swing of the P1 Insurance USAC National Midget Series. Time Trials and qualifying events will lead up to the 35 lap USAC Midget feature. Making this double-header even bigger, the NASCAR 358 Modifieds will be on the card racing in qualifying events and a 30 lap feature. Gates will open at 5:00 PM with race time set for 7:30 PM. Some special pre-race activities will take place honoring the long and exciting history of the midgets at Grandview Speedway with special guests and restored race cars on hand.

Some of the 2018 stars of the P1 Insurance USAC National Midget Series include Logan Seavey, Brady Bacon, Chad Boat, Spencer Bayston, Tyler Courtney, Justin Grant, Tanner Carrick, Kevin Thomas, Jr, Zeb Wise and Ryan Robinson. Favorites from the 2018 Eastern USAC Midget roster include Alex Bright, Adam Pierson, Ryan Greth, Tommy Kunsman Jr., Ryan Wilson, Shawn Jackson and Steve Craig just to name a few. A star-studded field is expected for this return of the midgets to the “track on the hill” for the 30th Anniversary Thunder on the Hill Racing Series.

GRANDVIEW SPEEDWAY- – MIDGET ALL TIME CAREER FEATURE WINNERS: 22 Leigh Earnshaw, 20 Bob Cicconi, 17 George Ferguson Jr., 13 Johnny Coy, 10 John Heydenreich, 9 Lenny Boyd, 9 Steve Buckwalter, 8 Hank Rogers Jr., 7 Jimmy Maguire, 7 Jim Hettinger, 7 Van May, 7 Ray Bull, 6 Nick Fornoro, 5 Duane Carter, 5 Dana Carter, 4 Jimmy Kirk, 4 Johnny Hubbard, 4 Midge Miller, 4 Lou Cicconi, 4 Tim Buckwalter, 3 Wayne Woodward, 3 Drew Fornoro, 3 Binky Lederer, 2 Jan Opperman, 2 Dub May, 2 Billy Hughes, 2 PJ Roberts, 2 Guy Cicconi, 2 Tim Dietz, 2 Andy Martin, 2 Billy Pauch Jr., 2 Alex Bright, Drivers with 1 win, Don Kreitz Sr., Dutch Schaeffer, Len Duncan, Tommy McAndrews, Earl Halaquist, Gene Bergen, Sonny Sanders, Ken Good, Dennis Schaeffer, Stevie Howard, Bruce Jones, Frank Holz, Chris Chrisman, Kim Ceasare, Sleepy Tripp, Ronnie Dunstan, Frank Fiore, Joe Lingle, Rich Vogler, Russ Gamester, Brett Mowrey, Walt Stearly, Marc Dailey, Jerry Coons Jr., Tracy Readinger, Nick Wean, Trevor Kobylarz, Brendan Bright, Steve Drevecki. 61 different drivers have won the 228 events. Most Consecutive Wins, 1975 Jim Hettinger 5 win in a row. Midget Statistics provided by Jeff Alhum.

Additional events on the 2019 NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series will be announced over the next few weeks.

2019 Dates

Tuesday, June 11 USAC Non-Wing Sprints & 358 Modifieds Jesse Hockett Classic $10,000 to Win!

Tuesday, July 2 PA Sprint Speed Week 410 Sprints $10,000 to win & 358 Modifieds

Tuesday, July 30 USAC Midgets & 358 Modifieds

Thursday, August 22 All Star Sprints Smoke on the Hill Thunder Cup & 358 Modifieds

Grandview Speedway Contact Information
GPS USERS: 43 Passmore Road, Bechtelsville, PA 19505
Located less than a mile off Route 100, 10 miles north of Pottstown, PA
Speedway Phone: 610-754-7688
Thunder on the Hill Racing Series Phone: 443-513-4456
Series Website:

Track Website:
Twitter/Instagram: @TOTHRACING

About Thunder on the Hill Racing Series
The brainchild of Grandview Speedway owner Bruce Rogers, special events promoter Bob Miller and local driving star Dave Kelly, the Thunder on the Hill Racing Series celebrates 30 years of the most anticipated events of the racing calendar year after year. In 132 events, over $4.6 million dollars has been divvied up among the area’s fastest racers. What started as a single 410 Sprint Car event in 1990 has blossomed to feature a variety of racing action including 358 Modifieds, USAC Wingless Sprints, All-Star Circuit of Champions, 360 & 410 Sprint Cars, Sportsman, Late Models, Midgets, Legend Cars, DIRTcar and ROC Modified events. The 2019 30th Anniversary Series of Thunder on the Hill is dedicated to Bruce Rogers.

About Grandview Speedway
Grandview Speedway is a high-banked one-third mile clay oval, celebrating their 57th Anniversary season in 2019. The facility offers free parking, quality food at reasonable prices (be sure to try the french fries), a program book, Grandview Speedway and Thunder on the Hill race wear and great viewing from every seat in the house. Race fans may take part in the Inside/Out promotion, where you can sign up (no charge) to watch warm-ups from inside turn four. Race fans are also invited to victory lane following the racing program and, race fans may enter the pits after the races to meet the drivers. Be ready to enjoy the spine-tingling fireworks salute on the feature event parade lap.