Umbenhauer Scores First Thunder on the Hill Series Win

BECHTELSVILLE, PA The NASCAR 358 Modifieds rounded out a full night of action on Tuesday night at Grandview Speedway where Jared Umbenhauer led his family-owned No. 5 machine to a $3,000 win, his first Thunder on the Hill Racing Series win.

Umbenhauer started in the first row alongside Modified rookie, Jack Butler.  The duo battled door to door for the first five laps around the one-third mile Grandview high banks, before a lap 6 slider gave Umbenhauer the lead.

The sole caution of the event flew on lap 13 when Ron Kline pulled to the high side of turn two.

Umbenhauer continued his dominance on the restart, with only a brief challenge from Jeff Strunk just passed the halfway mark, dodging lapped traffic and coasting on to the win.

Jeff Strunk finished in second, Craig VonDohren came home in third, Doug Manmiller in fourth and Mike Gular completed the top five finishers.

ZEMCO Headers offered $50 Gift Certificates to winners of both the USAC Sprint Car and Modified Heat Races.  Those certificates were claimed by Briggs Danner, Robert Ballou, and Jake Swanson for USAC and Jared Umbenhauer, Brett Kressley, Duane Howard, and Justin Grim in the Modifieds.

GT Radiators added a $100 bonus to the Modified Heat Race winners Jared Umbenhauer,  Brett Kressley, and Duane Howard.

NASCAR 358 Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Jared Umbenhauer  2. Jack Butler  3. Nate Brinker  4. Mike Gular  5. Alex Yankowski  6. Kenny Gilmore

Heat 2 – 1. Brett Kressley  2. Doug Manmiller  3. Kevin Hirhtler  4. Jeff Strunk  5. Craig Whitmoyer  6. Kyle Weiss

Heat 3 – 1. Duane Howard  2. Craig Von Dohren  3. Mike Lisowski  4. Ryan Watt  5. Kris Graver  6. Rick Laubach

Consi – 1. Justin Grim  2. Brian Hrithler  3. Danny Bouc  4. Ron Kline  5. Matt Stangle  6. Steve Young

Feature (30 Laps)  1. Jared Umbenhauer  2. Jeff Strunk  3. Craig VonDohren  4. Doug Manmiller  5. Mike Gular  6. Brett Kressley  7. Jack Butler  8. Alex Yankowski  9. Ryan Watt  10. Duane Howard  11. Kenny Gilmore  12. Rick Laubach  13. Danny Bouc  14. Kyle Weiss 15. Nate Brinker  16. Justin Grim  17. Matt Stangle  18. Kris Graver  19. Craig Whitmoyer  20. Steve Young  21. Kevin Hirthler  22. Mike Lisowski  23. Ron Kline 24. Brian Hirthler