Cody McPherson, Shone Evans Score Tour Wins at New Humberstone

PORT COLBORNE, ON – St. Catharines, Ontario’s Cody McPherson took home the victory in the BEI Lightning Series event for the Harvey’s/Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman on Verge Insurance Centre Night at the New Humberstone Speedway. Shone Evans from Scotland, Ontario won his third Action Sprint Tour event of 2018. Chad Homan from Macedon, NY won his fifth Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models feature of the 2018 campaign. Olivier Larocque from Port Colborne, Ontario won his fourth Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature in the last six races. Mitch Dumont from Welland, Ontario won his seventh Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Truck feature of the season.

Cody McPherson and James Michael Friesen brought the BEI Lightning Series to the green flag for their 40-lap main event with McPherson leading the opening circuit. Friesen would take the lead away from McPherson and the duo would trade off having the lead until McPherson took the lead for good by lap five. Several caution periods plagued the event, including a six-car pileup on lap 10 in turn three. Off a lap 10 restart, McPherson, Friesen, and 2017 BEI Lightning Series, RoC Dirt 602 Sportsman Series Champion, and 2017 Humberstone Speedway track champion Chad Chevalier raced in third place and the lead trio would be the cars to beat on this evening. A Jay Mallory spin, in turn, one would bunch the field up for the final time, and in the end, it was McPherson getting the $1,000 payday, for his first BEI Lightning Series win of the season, and fifth Humberstone Speedway triumph in 2018. James Michael Friesen would cross the line in second place, with Chevalier, Greg Panunte, and Justin Sharp completing the top five. The results of the event are under technical review.

Race number seven of the 2018 Action Sprint Tour presented by was led to the green flag by Shone Evans and Liam Martin with Evans showing the way. Aaron Turkey moved into second after passing Josh Hansen on lap three. Blaine Barrow slowed on the top side of turn two to bring out the races first caution on lap seven. The restart would see Evans and Turkey pull away from the rest of the field. Points leader Jesse Costa got around Brandon Murrell to move into fourth place. Evans and Turkey would pull away after a lap 10 restart. The red flag would come out on lap 18 as Jerry Hill went on his side after contact with Dereck Lemyre. Hill climbed out of his car under his own power. The final two laps would see Costa go on his side, in turn, one while battling for third place. Costa was assisted out of his racer with the assistance of the medical staff.  The second attempt at the green-white-checkered finish would see Evans hold off Turkey to score his third Tour win of 2018. The final of three visits by the Action Sprint Tour at Humberstone will be on Sunday, September 2.

Ken Winfield and Rob Pietz were on the front row for the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models feature event with Pietz jumping into the lead. Adam Ferri and Chad Homan battled for second place with Homan moving into the position. Homan to the lead on lap 7 and would start to pull away from the field. The yellow flag would come out just after the halfway mark as Rob Pietz and Adam Ferri spun in turn three. On the restart, Homan would continue to show the way.  The red flag came out on lap 12 as Mike Greene, Ken Winfield and Rob Pietz got together on the front straightaway. On the lap 12 restart, Homan would regain the lead as Adam Ferri raced in second place. Homan would go on to score the win, his fifth of the season.

Olivier Larocque pulled into the lead early in the 20-lap feature for the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks. Larocque would continue to lead over Leroy Buscumb, Evan Curtis, Cole Hardy, and Mike Sarantakos as they raced in the top five for much of the main event. Larocque, Buscumb, and Hardy battled for the lead until Buscumb fell out of the top five. Larocque would go on to score the win, his fourth of the season.

Dylan Llord and Danny Wurster set the pace in the main event for the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks feature with Llord leading the opening circuit. Mitch Dumont used the outside to get around Wurster and would challenge Llord for the lead. Dumont would clear his SOS teammate Llord for the lead and would go on to score the win, his seventh of the season and his sixth straight checkered flag.

NEWS AND NOTES: 78 cars signed in pitside including 29 BEI Lightning Sportsman Series drivers and 19 drivers of the Action Sprint Tour.

Next Sunday night, Rick’s Delivery presents the Gabe Bellante Memorial for the Harvey’s/Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman. A full card of Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and Pro 4 Trucks will be presented plus the popular Autograph Night.  Gates will open at 4:30 pm with racing getting underway at 6:30 pm. Kids are encouraged to join the Humbee’s Kids Club for their activities starting at 5:00 pm on race nights.


BEI Lightning Sportsman Series: (UNOFFICIAL PENDING TECHNICAL REVIEW): CODY MCPHERSON, James Michael Friesen, Chad Chevalier, Greg Panunte, Justin Sharp, Dave Conant, James Henry, Brett Senek, Dave DiPietro, Kyle Inman, Dylan Davidson, Jim Harbison, Trevor Wright, Matt Sharpe, Emily Puchalski, Jordan Cosco, Luke Carleton, Jay Mallory, Zach George, Scott George, Brad Rouse, Robbie Johnston, Adam Leslie, Derrick Borkenhagen Failed to Qualify: Zack Sam, Garrison Krentz

Qualifying Heats: Brad Rouse, Chad Chevalier, Dave Conant, Greg Panunte

Low Cash Dash: Derek VanMil, Tyler Puchalski, Scott Sonnenberg

Consolation Winner:  Jim Harbison

Action Sprint Tour presented by SHONE EVANS, Aaron Turkey, Josh Hansen, Jacob Dykstra, Brad Herron, Brandon Murrell, Steven Beckett, Paul Klager, Ryan Hunsinger, Jordan Hill, Terry Baker, Brian Nanticoke, Dereck Lemyre, Al Giletta Jr, Trevor Young, Jesse Costa, Jerry Hill, Blaine Barrow, Liam Martin

Qualifying Heats: Brandon Murrell, Josh Hansen, Liam Martin

Pro Fabrication RUSH Late ModelsCHAD HOMAN, Adam Ferri, Colton Ledingham, Jeff Dayman, Rob Pietz, Jay Liverance, Tim Gillespie, Kenny Winfield, Mike Greene

Qualifying Heat: Chad Homan

Cosco Haulage Mini StocksOLIVIER LAROCQUE, Cole Hardy, Evan Curtis, Brandon Iudiciani, Mike Sarantakos, Leroy Buscumb, Dan McKay, Go Fast Teeple, Clinton Nichols, David Hoyle, Sam Iftody, Sean Iftody

Qualifying Heats: Evan Curtis, Olivier Larocque

Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 TrucksMITCH DUMONT, Dylan Llord, Danny Wurster, Justin Towers, Doug Crawford, Jay Dupuis, Stephanie Ayers, Brian Monahan Jr

Qualifying Heat: Danny Wurster