Canada’s Stevin Goldner Picks up First win on the Sign Shop @Kinney’s Lucas Oil ESS iRacing Series

SYRACUSE, NYAlymer, Ontario’s Stevin Goldner has been close several times in taking home the checkered flag on The Sign Shop @Kinney’s Lucas Oil ESS iRacing Series.  At The Dirt Track at Charlotte on Tuesday night, he lead most of the 25 lap event and held off challenges of Rylin Turley late to get his first win on the 11 race Series.

The win moved Goldner to third in points trailing only Bryce Bailey and Troy Wagaman Jr for the title.  “We finally put some of the bad luck we had lately behind us to win in the ESS Series. It feels good,” said Goldner shortly after the win, “There’s a bunch of good cars in this league to get a win means a lot.  I’ll tell you, I was making sure it was going to be hard for someone to pass me at the end.  I’m just glad it worked out.”

Dylan Swiernik led the 25 lap A-Main early on and was trading the top positions with Goldner and Turley until he made a wall encounter on lap 15 ended his bid for his first win on the Series.  This put the battle between Turley, who has had his share of podium finishes, and Goldner for the win.

Goldner took over the top spot on lap 15 and survived a lap 21 caution to take home win #1.  Turley was a close second with Jake Karklin getting his second podium finish in three weeks for third, John Trenca was home for fourth with defending Empire Super Sprint Champion Paulie Colagiovanni in fifth after starting in 20th.

Rounding out the top ten were Sammy Reakes IV, Wagaman Jr., Kevin Loveys, Rob Hile and Bailey who came from the rear twice to salvage a 10th place finish and hold on to his points lead.

Heat wins were won by Bobby Hackel, Swiernik and Goldner.  Billy VanInwegen won the B-Main while Hackel was overall fast time in time trials.  A total of 33 sprints were in the pits.

Next week will be a special non-point event on the Asphalt at the Oxford Plains Speedway.

The Sign Shop at Kinney’s Lucas Oil ESS iRacing Series – Race #8 – Dirt Track at Charlotte – Stevin Goldner ($30), Rylin Turley ($25), Jake Karklin ($20), John Trenca ($15), Paulie Colagiovanni ($10), Sam Reakes IV, Troy Wagaman Jr., Kevin Loveys, Rob Hile, Bryce Bailey, Andrew McGill, Jordan Poirier, Bryan Kata, Adam Buchanan, Billy VanInwegen, Kody Hartlaub, Trevor Years, Lee Ladouceur, Dylan Swiernik, Brett Wright, Joe Kata, Zach Weigand, Shilo Boyce, Bobby Hackel.

DNQ – Reed Whitney, Joe Trenca, Jeff Eddy, Billy Richardson, Steven Durham, Connor Ross, Lance Dewease, Tyler Cartier, CD Coville. (33 Cars).

Heat Wins – Hackel, Swiernik, Reakes IV

B-Main – VanInwegen

Fast Time – Hackel.

The Sign Shop @Kinney’s Lucas Oil ESS iRacing Series Points after Week #8.

872 Bryce Bailey

776 Troy Wagaman Jr

718 Stevin Goldner

699 Adam Buchanan

676 Rylin Turley

584 Kevin Loveys

536 Bryan Kata

508 Paulie Colagiovanni

495 Jordan Poirier

482 Jake Karklin