Poirier Sweeps Knights of Thunder Weekend

Knights of Thunder - Humberstone Speedway - Jordan Poirier

PORT COLBORNE, ON – Jordan Poirier passed Jim Huppunen on the last lap to win Saturday’s Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series A-Main at Humberstone Speedway. The victory helped Poirier to sweep the Knights of Thunder portion of All-Canadian Championship weekend, and remain undefeated in 2021.

Cory Turner and Travis Cunningham made up the front row Friday’s 25 lap A-Main, and Turner took the early lead with Poirier close behind. Turner was about to encounter traffic when Corey Gruhl’s stopped car brought out a yellow flag with five laps complete. Turner stayed in the lead when the green flag reappeared, but had to move out of the low groove in traffic. Poirier pounced on the opportunity and made a daring move through traffic to make the winning pass just before the race reached the halfway point.

Turner gained ground on Poirier on several occasions, but ended up settling for the runner-up spot. Cunningham took the third podium spot, followed by row six starter Jacob Dykstra, and Ryan Turner. Tyler Rand, Shone Evans, Jim Huppunen, Josh Hansen, and Mat Williamson rounded out the top ten. A star in Big Block Modified racing, Williamson was making his first 360 Sprint Car start. Heat race wins were claimed by Holly Porter, Cory Turner, and Shone Evans.

Ryan Turner and Travis Cunningham made up the front row for Saturday’s 25 lap A-Main, and Turner took the early lead in what turned out to be a caution-free race. Jim Huppunen overtook Turner for the lead on lap nine and went on to lead the majority of the race until Poirier slipped past on the last lap.

Huppunen settled for the runner-up spot, while Cory Turner charged from row five to finish third, followed by Ryan Turner, and Aaron Turkey. Travis Cunningham, Tyler Rand, row ten starter Liam Martin, Josh Hansen, and Mikey Kruchka rounded out the top ten. Jordan Poirier, Aaron Turkey, and Josh Hansen claimed heat race wins.

The Pinty’s Knights of Thunder series will next be in action on Friday, August 6 at Merrittville Speedway, and Saturday, August 7 at Southern Ontario Motor Speedway. Visit www.knightsofthunder.com, www.merrittvillespeedway.com, and www.southernontariomotorspeedway.com for more information.

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps – NT
1. 1-Holly Porter[1]; 2. 90-Travis Cunningham[2]; 3. 91-Ryan Turner[5]; 4. 84-Tyler Rand[7]; 5. 3G-Dale Gosselin[8]; 6. 15-Dan Nanticoke[6]; 7. 70-Baily Heard[3]; 8. 9B-Scott Burk[4]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps – 2:04.037
1. 13-Cory Turner[2]; 2. 01-Mikey Kruchka[1]; 3. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[3]; 4. 88H-Josh Hansen[4]; 5. 0-Mat Williamson[7]; 6. 5-DJ Christie[5]; 7. 68-Aaron Turkey[6]; 8. 35C-Corey Gruhl[8]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps – 2:04.178
1. 87X-Shone Evans[2]; 2. 28-Jordan Poirier[3]; 3. 11-Jamie Turner[4]; 4. 14H-Jim Huppunen[5]; 5. 9-Liam Martin[7]; 6. 11J-Chris Jones[6]; 7. 46-Kevin Pauls[1]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – NT
1. 28-Jordan Poirier[3]; 2. 13-Cory Turner[1]; 3. 90-Travis Cunningham[2]; 4. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[11]; 5. 91-Ryan Turner[8]; 6. 84-Tyler Rand[5]; 7. 87X-Shone Evans[7]; 8. 14H-Jim Huppunen[12]; 9. 88H-Josh Hansen[15]; 10. 0-Mat Williamson[13]; 11. 3G-Dale Gosselin[10]; 12. 68-Aaron Turkey[19]; 13. 11-Jamie Turner[9]; 14. 01-Mikey Kruchka[4]; 15. 1-Holly Porter[6]; 16. 9-Liam Martin[14]; 17. 11J-Chris Jones[17]; 18. 5-DJ Christie[18]; 19. 70-Baily Heard[20]; 20. 9B-Scott Burk[22]; 21. 15-Dan Nanticoke[16]; 22. 46-Kevin Pauls[21]; 23. 35C-Corey Gruhl[23]
A-Main Lap Leaders – Cory Turner 1-12; Jordan Poirier 13-25
Margin of Victory – 4.226 seconds
Hard Charger – Jacob Dykstra +7