Final 60 News and Notes from the 60th Knoxville Nationals – DTD Exclusive


It’s a sad day as the 60th edition of the Knoxville Nationals has come and gone.  Some drivers will leave Iowa as depressed as I am as they wonder what could have been while others make the trek down the road all smiles.

With the finale in the history books, here are my final 60 news and notes from the final night of the Knoxville Nationals at the Knoxville Raceway.

1. Paul McMahan was a scratch from the B-Main prior to action after his crash on Thursday night.

2. Zeb Wise replaced him. He was allowed to start the car at the tail of the B-Main.

3. Former Knoxville Nationals winners Sammy Swindell, Kraig Kinser, Steve Kinser, Ron Shuman, Tim Shaffer, David Gravel, Donny Schatz, Brad Sweet, Bobby Allen and Danny Lasoki were honored in pre-race ceremonies.

4. Logan Wagner was a scratch from the E-Main after wrecking hard on Friday night with Austin McCarl.

5. Skylar Gee’s Mark Coldren owned No. 07 broke during D-Main hot laps.

6. During pre-race ceremonies the Australian, Canadian and American national anthems were sung.

7. The Budweiser Clydesdales made an appearance at the track prior to racing action.

8. Racing began at 8:14 p.m. Central Time with the E-Main pushing off.

9. Only 10 of the 15 cars scheduled for the E-Main started the event.

10. Austin Miller was the first caution of the night which occurred during the E-Main. He was running second when he slowed with mechanical issues.  He was running in second at the time of his misfortune.

11. Jason Sides captured the checkers in the E-Main.

12. The first red flag of the night came on lap six of the D-Main when Chris Martin flopped lightly over on his side. Noah Gass was also involved.

13. Jack Dover was the D-Main winner.

14. Jacob Allen was the highest finishing E-Main transfer driver finishing 14th in the D.

15. Pennsylvania Posse members Robbie Kendall (11th), TJ Stutts (17th), Dylan Cisney (19th) and Tyler Esh (22nd) had their nights come to an end in the D-Main.

16. Scott Theil qualified from the D-Main to make the C-Main. His car wouldn’t fire for the start of the race.

17. Terry McCarl was the first car out of the C-Main when he slowed on lap three.

18. Wayne Johnson got a right rear flat while leading the C-Main on lap 12.

19. Hunter Schuerenberg won the C-Main.

20. Marcus Dumesny, of Australia, first Knoxville Nationals ended with an eight place finish in the C.

21. Port Royal regular Mike Wagner’s night ended in the C-Main when he finished 18th.

22. Carson Macedo won the B-Main going away with Kerry Madsen in second.

23. The finish for third and fourth in the B-Main was four-wide at the checkered flag with Bayston, Sheldon Haudenschild, Cory Eliason and the lapped car of Josh Baughman all together at the line.

24. The final transfer spot changed hands multiple times in the final laps of the B-Main.

25. Bayston missed out by inches at the line at the checkered flag as Haudenschild just beat him.

26. Haudenschild was sideways at the line which forced him down into the infield after he took the checkers.

27. Jac Haudenschild made his final Knoxville Nationals appearance finishing 24th in the B-Main.

28. Jac was interviewed after the B-Main to loud cheers from the crowd.

29. California led all states with the number of drivers in the A-Main field with six. (Gio Scelzi, Kyle Larson, Brad Sweet, Carson Macedo, Cory Eliason, Rico Abreu).

30. Pennsylvania was second overall with five drivers making it into the feature event. (Brent Marks, Logan Schuchart, Danny Dietrich, Anthony Macri, Brock Zearfoss)

31. Australians picked up four starting spots in the feature field. (James McFadden, Brooke Tatnell, Kerry and Ian Madsen)

32. Indiana was represented by Tyler Courtney and Justin Peck.

33. Connecticut (David Gravel), Missouri (Brian Brown) North Dakota (Donny Schatz), Oklahoma (Shane Stewart), Ohio (Sheldon Haudenschild), South Dakota (Justin Henderson) and Washington (Kasey Kahne) each had one representative in the field.

34. The fuel stop in the A-Main came on lap 26.

35. Abreu was the first caution of the A-Main when he went spinning on the fronstretch on lap 27.

36. He had some help from Kerry Madsen that sent him around.

37. Brown flipped on lap 30 of the A-Main when he hopped the cushion in turn one.

38. Courtney slid sideways to avoid the contact with Brown and also flipped. Neither were injured, but both of their Nationals were over.

39. Eliason got a piece of a flipping car forcing him to head to the work area with damage. The team changed the top wing, but other damage ended his night.

40. Sheldon Haudenschild pitted with a flat right rear. He rebounded to finish in 10th.

41. On lap 35, Kerry tried to pull a slider on Sheldon in turn four. Kerry was unable to clear him and ended up sideways before saving it and continuing on.

42. David Gravel’s had a fuel nozzle come loose in the feature. His engine ended up expiring while he was running in the third position.

43. Logan Schuchart made serious progress in the second half of the race coming from 12th to finish in fifth at the checkered.

44. Macedo was the highest finishing B-Main driver in the feature. He finished ninth from 17th.

45. Brent Marks was docked two spots at the break for his crew not being clear when the second horn sounded.

46. Marks was fourth at the time of the penalty. He ended up being the highest finishing Pennsylvania regular when he came home in sixth.

47. Brooke Tatnell was also docked two positions. He went on to finish 12th.

48. Danny Dietrich was the first car out of the A-Main finishing 24th after starting 16th.

49. Aryton Gennetten won the Rookie of the Year Award after finishing 14th in the B-Main.

50. Scelzi earned the Jesse Hockett “Mr. Sprint Car” Award which tallies points for the 360 Knoxville Nationals, the Front Row Challenge and the Knoxville Nationals.

51. Larson won $176,000 for his triumph.  This includes $150,000 for winning and $1,000 for each lap led.

52. There were only three appearances by the Pella Motors two-seater Sprint Car during the night.

53. Scelzi took home the $2,000 Pole Award.

54. Jason Johnson Racing captured the Best Appearing Crew Award.

55. McFadden won the Best Appearing Helmet Award.

56. Bobby Mincer’s Mark Kinser throwback won the Best Appearing Throwback Car Award.

57. Eliason won the Best Appearing Car Award.

58. The final checkered flag fell at 11:32 p.m. Central Time.

59. The 50/50 on Saturday night paid $36,352.

60. The 2021 edition of the Knoxville Nationals was a sellout on Saturday night with over 22,000 fans in the grandstands and the infield.