Cory Hedgecock Notches First-Career Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals Victory at 411 Motor Speedway


SEYMOUR, TN – Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn. took the lead from Michael Chilton on lap 15 to drive the remaining distance and claim his first-career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV Tuesday Night at 411 Motor Speedway.

Hedgecock became the 36th different winner in tour history, worth $3,500 while driving the Eagle Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis. His car is sponsored by Cushman, K&P Used Cars, Transport One, VooDoo Technology, Sweet Trucking Co. and Rebel Diesel Performance.

Michael Chilton led the field from the drop of the green flag until lap 15 when Cory Hedgecock made his presence known and grabbed the lead down the front chute. Hedgecock would lead the remaining distance for the payday over sixth-starting Eric Wells. Michael Chilton finished third with 12th-starting Brandon Overton finishing fourth and Casey Roberts finishing fifth. Vic Hill would finish sixth but 21st starting Dale McDowell finished seventh.

Only three caution flags slowed the 35-lapper. The first yellow flag came on lap 19 as Randy Weaver spun in turn four. The next caution waved on lap 24 as Shanon Buckingham came to a stop on the backstretch halfway into the infield. The final caution flag came on lap 33 as Tommy Kerr slowed his Rocket Chassis mount in turn four.

The series moves to Toccoa Raceway in Toccoa, Ga. on Thursday Night July 19th paying $3,500-to-win and $400-to-start for Round Three. This will mark the series’ first-ever visit to the track located in Northeast Georgia.

Official Summary of Results
Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series
Round 2-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN

Feature Finish:
1. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
2. Eric Wells-Hazard, Ky.
3. Michael Chilton-Hazard, Ky.
4. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
5. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
6. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
7. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
8. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
9. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
10. Michael Page-Douglasville, Ga.
11. Joey Coulter-Concord, N.C.
12. Jason Hiett-Oxford, Ala.
13. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
14. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
15. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
16. Cla Knight-North Augusta, S.C.
17. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
18. Austin Smith-Rome, Ga.
19. Tommy Kerr-Maryville
20. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
21. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
22. Randy Weaver-Crossville, Tenn.
23. David Crabtree-Maryville, Tenn.

Entries: 31
Overall Fast Qualifier: Cory Hedgecock-13.499 seconds
Time of Race: 19 minutes, 37 seconds
Lap Leaders: Chilton (1-14), Hedgecock (15-35)
Cautions: Three (laps 19, 24, 33)
Red Flags: None
Provisionals: Dale McDowell, Donald McIntosh, Craig Vosbergen (Emergency)

Heat-1 Finish: Cla Knight, Kenny Collins, Tommy Kerr, Jason Hiett, Aaron Ridley, Cade Dillard, Donald McIntosh, Jonathan Rowan, Steve Smith, Peter Nicola, Clyde Overholt.

Heat-2 Finish: Brandon Overton, Casey Roberts, Joey Coulter, David Crabtree, Austin Smith, Dale McDowell, Craig Vosbergen, David Doherty, Mike Price, Craig Greer.

Current Series Points (after two races):
1. Eric Wells-390
2. Dale McDowell-386
3. Vic Hill-384
4. Casey Roberts-380
5. Donald McIntosh-366
6. Aaron Ridley-356
7. Forrest Trent-352
8. Robby Moses-348
9. Craig Vosbergen-342
9. Cla Knight-342
9. Brandon Overton-342
12. Shanon Buckingham-324