Brandon Overton Takes Back-to-Back Southern Nationals Victories with Swainsboro Raceway Payday


SWAINSBORO, GA – Brandon Overton overtook longtime race leader Casey Roberts on lap 47 and held on for the remaining six circuits and the $5,300 payday at Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway during Round Four of the tour.

This was the seventh career victory for Overton, of Evans, Ga., while driving the Billy Franklin-owned, BCI Asphalt, Textron Off Road, Hoosier Racing Tire, RW Powell Construction-sponsored Clements Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis.

Two cautions and one red flag slowed the event. The first caution flag came on the opening lap as a multi-car incident halted the race. On the restart, a red flag stopped the field for the second time. On lap 27, the final caution flag flew as Dennis Franklin came to a stop in turn four with a flat tire.

The Series will stay at Swainsboro Raceway in Swainsboro, Ga. for Round Five on Saturday racing 53 laps for $5,300-to-win.

Official Summary of Results
Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series
Round 4-Swainsboro raceway-Swainsboro, GA

Feature Finish:
1. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
2. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
3. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
4. Joey Coulter-Concord, N.C.
5. Ross Bailes-Clover, S.C.
6. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
7. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-Ocala, Fla.
8. John Henderson-North Augusta, S.C.
9. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
10. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
11. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
12. Dennis Franklin-Gaffney, S.C.
13. Cla Knight-North Augusta, S.C.
14. Pearson Williams-Dublin, Ga.
15. Brian Connor-Martinez, Ga.
16. Kale Green-Pelion, S.C.
17. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
18. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, W. Australia
19. David Doherty-Sydney, Australia
20. J.R. Moseley-Columbus, Ga.

Entries: 20
Overall Fast Qualifier: Casey Roberts-14.810
Time of Race: 38 minutes, 30 seconds
Lap Leaders: Roberts (1-46), Overton (47-53)
Cautions: Two (laps 0, 27)
Red Flags: One (lap 0)
Provisionals: None

Heat-1 Finish: Aaron Ridley, John Henderson, Brian Connor, Cla Knight, Craig Vosbergen, Donald McIntosh, David Doherty, Pearson Williams, Kale Green, J.R. Moseley (Did Not Start).

Current Series Points (after four races):
1. Dale McDowell-774
2. Casey Roberts-772
3. Brandon Overton-742
4. Donald McIntosh-732
5. Forrest Trent-720
6. Aaron Ridley-706
7. Shanon Buckingham-704
8. Joey Coulter-692
9. Craig Vosbergen-688
9. Cla Knight-688
11. Robby Moses-676