Jadon Frame Outduels Ferguson for First Spring Nationals Victory at Clarksville Speedway

CLARKSVILLE, TN – After finishing second in this race one year ago, Jadon Frame got over the hump and celebrated in Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series victory lane for the first time in his career on Saturday night at Clarksville Speedway! Jadon timed in third quickest overall during the qualifying session prior to securing a victory in the third heat race to earn the inside of the second row for the start of the 53-lap feature event. The Winchester, Tennessee native then outdueled outside polesitter Carson Ferguson to grab the lead on lap 26 before nabbing the point for good on the 29th circuit. Jadon then held off a rally from Chatham, Illinois star Brian Shirley in the late stages of the contest to collect the $10,053 first place prize money.

Shirley, who suffered through electrical problems last night at Crossville Speedway, drove his new #3s mount to a strong runner-up performance after starting the A-Main from the inside of the third row. Spring Nationals point leader and Crossville winner Carson Ferguson led a total of 27 circuits around the Clarksville, Tennessee oval before settling for a third place podium effort. Fast qualifier and polesitter Josh Putnam came home in the fourth finishing position, while Payton Freeman wrapped up his consistent weekend with a hard fought fifth place showing.

Five yellow flags halted the competition at the Volunteer State oval tonight. The first caution came on lap 10 when Brandon Tibaldi went for a spin. Gavin Schmidt then suffered a similar fate by spinning on lap 14 before a multi-car pileup on the ensuing restart once again slowed the action. Tommy Taylor then found himself stopped against the wall to draw a caution on lap 15. The fifth and final caution came on lap 47 when Kyle Beard lost a battle with an inside utility tire and came to a stop with heavy damage.

“I’m really speechless,” stated Frame in victory lane after recording the biggest win in his young career. “I never thought I would be able to get past Carson (Ferguson), as he was so good early in the race. Lapped traffic helped in my favor and my Capital racecar was just flawless tonight. I have to thank my entire family and everyone who helps on the car, along with all of my sponsors!”

Jadon Frame’s #J8 Capital racecar carries sponsorship in part from J&J Construction, Ballard’s Excavation, Teddy’s Lawnmower Service, United Truck Driving School, Powers Machine, Southeast Auto Direct, Jackson’s Auto Repair, and Base Racing Fuel.

A total of 26 competitors made their way to Clarksville Speedway tonight for the seventh round of the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series. Josh Putnam led the way in FK Rod Ends qualifying by posting his fast lap of 12.612 seconds. Putnam, Carson Ferguson, and Jadon Frame then picked up heat race victories before Gavin Schmidt took the checkers in the lone B-Main. Provisionals were awarded to Brandon Tibaldi and Levi Scarbrough, who rolled off from the eleventh row in the 53-lap headliner.

Following the action-packed tripleheader weekend in the states of North Carolina and Tennessee, Carson Ferguson finds himself atop the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series point standings by 22 markers over second place Payton Freeman. Cla Knight is also within striking distance, as he currently sits 24 points behind the leader in the third spot. In the seven series races held so far in 2022, a total of 116 different drivers have entered at least one event.

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels
Round 7 Race Summary
Saturday, April 23, 2022
Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, Tennessee

Schaeffer’s Oil Feature Finish (53 Laps):
1. (3) Jadon Frame $10,053
2. (5) Brian Shirley $5,000
3. (2) Carson Ferguson $2,500
4. (1) Josh Putnam $1,800
5. (4) Payton Freeman $1,250
6. (14) Christian Hanger $900
7. (11) Cla Knight $800
8. (10) David Seibers $700
9. (7) Scott Crigler $675
10. (6) Larry Barber, Jr. $650
11. (20) Levi Ashby $625
12. (18) Joe Denby $600
13. (15) Rusty Griffaw $575
14. (8) Kyle Beard $550
15. (17) Jordan Bauer $525
16. (22) Levi Scarbrough $500
17. (13) Jeff Sloan $500
18. (19) Gavin Schmidt $500
19. (16) Ryan Winchester $500
20. (12) Tommy Taylor $500
21. (21) Brandon Tibaldi $500
22. (9) Richard Frost $500

Entries: 26
Lap Leaders: Carson Ferguson (Laps 1-25), Jadon Frame (Lap 26), Carson Ferguson (Laps 27-28), Jadon Frame (Laps 29-53)
Cautions: 5 (Brandon Tibaldi Spins on Lap 10, Gavin Schmidt Spins on Lap 14, Multi-car Pileup on Lap 14 Restart, Tommy Taylor Stops Against Wall on Lap 15, and Kyle Beard Stops on Lap 47)

FK Rod Ends Time Trials:
Fast Time Overall: Josh Putnam 12.612

Sunoco Race Fuels Heat Race #1 Finish (Top Six Transfer): 1. Josh Putnam, 2. Payton Freeman, 3. Scott Crigler, 4. David Seibers, 5. Jeff Sloan, 6. Ryan Winchester, 7. Steven Stehle, 8. Levi Ashby, 9. Dan Wallace (DNS)

American Racer South Heat Race #2 Finish (Top Six Transfer): 1. Carson Ferguson, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Kyle Beard, 4. Cla Knight, 5. Christian Hanger, 6. Jordan Bauer, 7. Gavin Schmidt, 8. Bailey Proctor, 9. Robert Broege

E-Z GO Heat Race #3 Finish (Top Six Transfer): 1. Jadon Frame, 2. Larry Barber, Jr., 3. Richard Frost, 4. Tommy Taylor, 5. Rusty Griffaw, 6. Joe Denby, 7. Brandon Tibaldi, 8. Levi Scarbrough

Delph Communications B-Main Finish (Top Two Transfer): 1. Gavin Schmidt, 2. Levi Ashby, 3. Brandon Tibaldi, 4. Steven Stehle, 5. Bailey Proctor, 6. Levi Scarbrough, 7. Robert Broege, 8. Dan Wallace (DNS)

Provisionals: Brandon Tibaldi, Levi Scarbrough