Moreland Bags Winchester First on Wild Night



WINCHESTER, VA – In his first start of the season, Waldorf Maryland’s Kenny Moreland drove to his first win of the 2017 campaign in last Saturday nights 30-lap Late Model feature at Winchester Speedway. Moreland’s win, worth $2000, made him the fourth different winner in the five races contested for the class this season.

The top six redraw placed Andy Anderson and Brian Booze on the front row for the start of the event with Anderson booming into the lead with Booze in tow. Anderson looked like a potential winner as he would lead until a multi car pile up brought out the red flag on the 14th circuit. During the red flag stoppage, Anderson exited his Jack Bland owned no.41 and appeared to make some type of repair on his racer. Officials stepped in and told Anderson he would be sent to the rear of the field for the rule infraction. Not happy with the call, Anderson showed his displeasure, before finally taking his car to the pit area. When racing finally got back under way Kenny Moreland, who was second to Anderson before the fateful red flag, was the new leader. Moreland would then pace the final 16-circuits over a hard charging Ross Robinson to post the win aboard his Rocket XR-1 no.24.

“I never expected to have gotten the lead the way we did.” A surprised Kenny Moreland stated post race. “This track was definitely elbows up tonight and I hope we put on a good show for all the fans that came out tonight.”

Moreland was quick to acknowledge the people behind his winning drive. “It seems like every week we’ve been rebuilding this car and everyone who helps, especially my mom and dad, this win is for them.”

Dale Hollidge came on late for third with Ronnie DeHaven Jr.and Walter Crouch rounding out the top-five. Setting fast time in time trials over the 22 car field was Jamie Lathroum as he set a new track record with a one lap time of 13.748. Heats went to Brian Tavenner, Hollidge and Robinson.

James Lichliter scored a flag to flag win in the 20-lap Limited Late Model headliner. Lichliter darted from the pole to the lead and would then have to repel the repeated advances from eventual runner-up Kyle Lear to post the win steering his MasterSbilt no.8.

“This is a big win for our team.” James stated in victory lane. “Kyle Lear is one of the best in the business and to hold him off for the win tonight is a great feeling.”

Austin Stover, Sam Rial and Kurt Zimmerman would trail at the finish. Heats for the 21 cars entered went to Greg Roberson, Lear and Stover.

Defending track champion Logan Roberson broke the three race win streak of Allen Brannon for his first of the season in the 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model main. Roberson, who lined up 5th for the start, took the lead from Devin Brannon on the 6th circuit and would cruise to the win in his family owned Rocket XR-1 no.17R.

“I wasn’t content following those guys, so on that lap five restart I charged the corner on the top.” Said Logan. “The car stuck pretty good up there and we were finally able to get a win here this season.” Devin Brannon held on for a career best second with his father Allen Brannon, Timmy Booth and Jacob Piper completing the top-five. Heats went to Roberson and Piper.

In support class action Craig Parrill drove to his first win of the season in the 15-lap Pure Stock feature with Ricky Feltner claiming his third checkered flag of the season in the 15-lap Enduro Stock main.

Late Model feature finish
1. Kenny Moreland 2. Ross Robinson 3. Dale Hollidge 4. Ronnie DeHaven Jr. 5. Walter Crouch 6. Andy Fries 7. Jamie Lathroum 8. Charlie Schaffer 9. Kevin Deremer 10. Brian Booze 11. Brian Tavenner 12. Jason Miller 13. Tyler Horst 14. Jonathan DeHaven 15. Matt Sponaugle 16. Brad Omps 17. Mike Steck DNS-Greg Roberson, Cody Gray, Matt Cosner, Scott Palmer DQ-Andy Anderson

Limited Late Model feature finish
1. James Lichliter 2. Kyle Lear 3. Austin Stover 4. Sam Rial 5. Kurt Zimmerman 6. Jeff Koller 7. James Carte 8. Justin Dillman 9. Jason Smith 10. Mark Bailey 11. Kyle Moser 12. Eric Hohol 13. Jonny Oliver 14. Jake Moser 15. Buddy Wilson 16. Jonathan DeHaven 17. Scott Merryman 18. Wesley Bonebrake 19. Kris Holliday 20. Bruce Kane 21. Greg Roberson

RUSH Crate Late Model feature finish
1. Logan Roberson 2. Devin Brannon 3. Allen Brannon 4. Timmy Booth 5. Jacob Piper 6. Chuck Bowie 7. Scott Sweeney 8. Dakota Riggleman 9. Richard Hawkins 10. Matt Tarbox 11. Gunner Kerr 12. Levi Crowl 13. Mike Franklin 14. Harry Shipe III 15. Transtan Stoner 16. Sam Brown

Pure Stock feature finish
1. Craig Parrill 2. Keith Koontz 3. Chris Sumption 4. Charles Wyant 5. Rob Nichols 6. Ethan Ours 7. Sam Crouch 8. Jeremy Tinsman 9. Tony Catlett 10. Dwayne Snyder 11. Jamie Zentmyer DQ

Enduro Stock feature finish
1.Ricky Feltner 2. Paul Jones 3. Mark Vegh 4. Dylan Rutherford 5. Dalton Dillman 6. Chet Morris 7. Tommy Caravello 8. Greg Breeden 9. Allen Jones