Sandercock Wins Brighton Late Model Opener

BRIGHTON, ONT – Race fans were excited to hear the roar of the engines at Brighton Speedway Saturday night.

Fans eagerly packed the grandstands to take in a full racing card on opening night for the Kids Race for the Canadian National Autism Foundation presented by Archers Poultry and Oldies 96.7 FM. The weather had been a concern leading up to the event on May 11th but with lots of hardwork and determination the green flag dropped on the 52nd season at Brighton Speedway.

Sandercock Scores Opening Night Win

No. 55 Bradley Rayner and No. 57 Charlie Sandercock led the field of Vanderlaan Building Products Late Models to green. Rayner held a tight grip on the lead as Sandercock worked the high side trying to find an opening. Sandercock’s patience finally paid off on the sixth time by as he slid into first place and never relinquished the point. No. 29 Phil Potts earned solid runner up bragging rights, No. 89 Austin King took third, No. 46 Brandon Mowat was fourth and No. 5 Steve Baldwin was fifth respectively.

Hennessy’s horsepower pulls through to Victory Lane

No. 07 Curtis King and No. 87 Andrew Hennessy took the pack of Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modifieds to the green flag. King was dominate for half of the 25-lap feature as Hennessy and No. 48 Derek Greig flexed their muscles in the rear view. Car trouble moved Greig out of contention allowing Hennessy to gain some ground and eventually take the top spot on the 18th lap. Hennessy went on to victory lane with King in second, No. 32 Doug O’Blenis in third, No. 3 Nathan Rinaldi in fourth and No. 99 Linc Brown fifth.

Anderson secures smooth win

It only took Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock No. 72 Doug Anderson five laps to jump into first place as No. 51 Mike Freeman and No. 53 Wade Purchase battled him hard from each side. Anderson was determined to make a repeat of last year’s opening night and sail into victory lane. Returning champ Purchase proved to be Anderson’s number one contender fighting hard at his back bumper. Anderson parked it as Purchase took runner up, No. 48 Adam Wells earned third, No 85 Austin Reid placed fourth and No. 69 Steven Stachura fifth.

Kippen claims first checkered flag

It was a long time coming, Devon Kippen said as he jumped out of his No. 43 machine in victory lane celebrating his first Bill John’s Comp 4 victory on opening night. No. 55 Jamie Marshall was runner up, No. 4 Chris Tufford took home third, No. 17E Emily Peterson earned fourth. No. 14 m Matthew Moore took home first place in the mini-stock division and No. 7 Anthony Rinaldi was second. This race is a combined feature of the two four-cylinder divisions.

Golden and Gregory grab checkers

No. 85 Brittany Golden clinched checkers in the Quinte Super Stinger division and No. 1 Kyle Gregory earned his first win in the Junior Stinger class. The Junior Stingers had 21 cars take the feature green flag, the second largest class overall this season, this introductory class features many first-time racers who are excited to hit the clay.

Up next the Southern Ontario Sprints return to the 1/3rd mile clay oval. Pinty’s, Mix 97 and Brighton Recycling host the SOS presented by Sanderson Tire & Automotive featuring the Late Models, Thunder Stocks, Comp 4 and Mini Stocks. Adult admission is $20.00 and a Family Pass is $55.00. The green flag drops at 7:00 PM, Front Gates will open at 5:00 PM.

Saturday, May 11th Top 5 Feature Results

Vanderlaan Building Products Late Models

1st No. 57 Charlie Sandercock; 2nd No. 29 Phil Potts; 3rd No. 89 Austin King; 4th No. 46 Brandon Mowat; 5th No. 5 Steve Baldwin

Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modified

1st No. 87 Andrew Hennessy; 2nd No. 07 Curtis King; 3rd No. 32 Doug O’Blenis; 4th No. 3 Nathan Rinaldi’ 5th 99 Linc Brown

Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock

1st No. 73 Doug Anderson; 2nd No. 53 Wade Purchase; 3rd No 48 Adam Wells; 4th 85 Austin Reid; 5th 69 Steve Stachura

Bill John’s Comp 4

1st No. 43 Devon Kippen; 2nd No. 55 Jamie Marshall; 3rd No. 4 Chris Tufford; 4th No. 44 Tommy Bailey; 5th No. 17 Emily Peterson

Bill John’s Mini Stock

1st No. 14 Matthew Moore; 2nd No. 7 Anthony Rinaldi

Quinte Septic Senior Stingers

1st No. 85 Brittany Golden; 2nd No. 99 ; 3rd No. 42 Aidan Fletcher; 4th No. 08 Brian Cross; 5th No. 44 Mike Beaudrie

Quinte Septic Juniro Stingers

1st No. 1 Kyle Gregory; 2nd 22 Daniel Dick; 3rd No. 51 Patrick Easton; 4th No. 23 ; 5th No. 18 Carter Rhodes