Monteparte Wins Sears Memorial; Shields, Hutira, McNaney, and Deiter Victorious at Latrobe Speedway

By DJ Johnson

LATROBE, PA (August 26, 2023) Anthony Monteparte won the Bob Sears Memorial for the Joe’s Auto Body & Towing Pure Stocks, collecting $3,000 for his efforts. The win was Monteparte’s fifth of the season and second extra money win in a row. Monteparte also picked up $100 for being the Quick Qualifier. The $100 Hard Charger Award went to John Cain.

Troy Shields won his first in 2023 with an impressive performance in the K2 Engineering Crate Late Models. Shields went flag-to-flag for the victory.

Brett Hutira took his third consecutive Checkered Flag in the Wisneski Waste Removal Penn Ohio Pro Stocks.

Colton McNaney was victorious for the fourth time in ’23 and clinched the Special T Metals LLC Modified 4 Cylinder Championship.

Jason Deiter was declared the Dean Pollock’s Hobby Stocks winner after a disqualification for Non-Approved Parts.


Joe’s Auto Body & Towing Pure Stocks 15-Lap Feature

1. Anthony Monteparte 2. EJ Rozak 3. Matt Weltz 4. Joey Koteles 5. Greg Blystone 6. John Cain 7. Bill Schramm 8. Pete Miller 9. Corey Farris 10. John Greenwalt 11. Chris Hickok 12. John Hollis 13. Jim Zufall 14. Sam McAdams

Heat Race Winners: Monteparte & Rozak

K2 Engineering Crate Late Models 20-Lap Feature

1. Troy Shields 2. Michael Duritsky 3. Ryan Frazee 4. Marino Angelicchio 5. Jeff Ferguson 6. Clinton Hersh 7.Jay McCracken 8. Joe Zulisky 9. John Over 10. Vince Masi

Heat Race Winners: Hersh & Frazee

Wisneski’s Waste Removal Penn Ohio Pro Stocks

15-Lap Feature

1. Brett Hutira 2. Barry Farris 3. Bill Pluta Jr. 4. Mike DiFrancesca 5. Steve Mitchell 6. Joe Kelley

Special T Metals LLC Modified 4 Cylinders 12-Lap Feature

1. Colton McNaney 2.Joe Jacobs. 3. Dayton Hazlett 4. Tifani McElhouse 5. Chris Myers 6. Shawn Ghrist 7. Jeremy Grubbs 8. Brian Noel 9. Bud Lawver 10.Kenny Swink 11. Brandon Dempsey 12. Andrew Jones 13. Brandon Myers 14 Mike Pavlak 15. Steve Lakin 16. Paul Koffler III 17. Bryan Spangler 18. Jeremy DeGlau 19.John Grubbs

Heat Race Winners: McNaney, Koffler III & Brandon Myers

Dean Pollock Hobby Stocks 12-Lap Feature

1. Jason Deiter 2. Scott Casto 3. Dontae Buggio 4. Adam Jones 5. Bryce Hensel 6. Mat Underwood

We’ll say it again: hopefully, the fourth time will be a charm for Fan Appreciation Night at Latrobe Speedway during the 3rd Annual Bill Koerber Memorial on Saturday, September 2.

We will have giveaways, prizes, and Chinese Auction baskets on Saturday. There will be kids’ baskets, a Lottery Ticket basket, a basket with Summertime items, a Back-to-School basket, a basket with assorted Wines, and even a basket for Pets. We have a TV and lots more…

Fans will meet their favorite drivers on the front stretch, get autographs, and take photos. Fans will enter the track from turn 1.

The 3rd Annual Bill Koerber Memorial is dedicated to the late Bill Koeber, a former Pure Stock racer at Latrobe Speedway who passed away in 2021 after a battle with Cancer. Koerber was planning a comeback in 2019 before his passing.

The 3rd Annual Bill Koerber Memorial will pay $1,375 to the 12-lap Joe’s Auto Body & Towing Pure Stocks winner.

Previous winners include Anthony Monteparte in 2021 and Corey Faris in ’22.

Will we have a repeat winner, or will EJ Rozak or the field claim a Bill Koerber Memorial custom check by Vinyl Destination?


General Admission prices: Adults: $15, Seniors: $12, Military: $12, Kids 7-11: $10, and Kids 6 and under are always free.


PIT Gate prices: Adults:$35, and Youth: $20.

PIT Gates open at 4 p.m., the Grandstands at 5 p.m., and FAST-FIVE Racing at 7.


The Latrobe Speedway Kidz Klub is always accepting new members. Go to and click the Kidz Klub tab for the registration form if your child still needs to be signed up.

Please have a look at our website for more information. Go to or the Latrobe Speedway Stock Car Dirt Track page on Facebook.

Check out the latest version of Latrobe Speedway’s Ride Along powered by Joe’s Body Shop & Towing on our Facebook page and website.

Latrobe Speedway is located at 5114 Pleasant Unity Road, Latrobe, PA.