McCreadie and Chilton on the Front Row for Sunoco North South 100

UNION, KY – Tim McCreadie and Michael Chilton will make up the front row for Saturday night’s 39th Annual Sunoco North South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil at Florence Speedway.

McCreadie, the defending race winner, and Chilton, a Kentucky native, will lead the field for the $50,000-to-win event after earning the top two spots in heat race passing points from Friday Night.

In heat one of round one, Kentucky native Michael Chilton ran off and hid from the rest of the field, leading wire-to-wire to pick up the victory. Gregg Satterlee crossed the line in second followed by Kyle Bronson and Dale McDowell.

The second heat of round number one saw Tyler Erb take the lead at the start as he powered to the win over Kent Robinson, Darrell Lanigan, and Earl Pearson Jr. Lanigan gained the most points in the heat after he started ninth and finished third.

In heat three of round one, Kyle Strickler took the victory ahead of a hotly contested battle for second between two Indiana drivers, Devin Gilpin, and Hudson O’Neal. Gilpin, who started fifth edged out O’Neal for second. Zack Dohm was fourth.

Jonathan Davenport raced to the win in heat four of round one, repelling the challenges of Stormy Scott. Josh Richards came from sixth to finish third with Johnny Scott finishing fourth.

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt series point leader, Tim McCreadie, grabbed the fifth and final heat of round one. Brandon Overton was second followed by Dustin Linville and Mike Marlar.

McCreadie started off round two like he ended round one, by winning a heat race after starting in fifth. Matt Cosner ran second to McCreadie with Terry Phillips and Dale McDowell trailing.

The second heat of round number two was taken by Thursday Night’s winner and sixth place starter, Brandon Overton. Scott James finished second with Kyle Bronson and Earl Pearson jr. rounding out the top four finishers.

The third heat in round two would see the 2021 Ralph Latham Memorial winner, Josh Rice take the win. Mike Marlar was second with Spencer Hughes and Todd Brennan following.

Hudson O’Neal took the win easily outdistancing the field in the fourth heat of round number two. Zack Dohm came from sixth to finish second, with Ricky Thornton Jr. edging out Nick Hoffman for third.

Jimmy Owens came from his third starting spot in heat five to take the win. The big mover not only in this heat but of the night, was Michael Chilton who charged from 10th to finish second. Darrell Lanigan finished third and Shane Clanton took fourth.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Sunoco North South 100 – Presented by Lucas Oil
Friday, August 13th, 2021
Florence Speedway – Union, KY

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish, Round 1 (12 Laps): 1. 97-Michael Chilton[1]; 2. 22-Gregg Satterlee[2]; 3. 40B-Kyle Bronson[4]; 4. 17M-Dale McDowell[5]; 5. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr[7]; 6. 83-Scott James[9]; 7. 25-Shane Clanton[6]; 8. 66C-Matt Cosner[10]; 9. 20B-Todd Brennan[8]; 10. 8A-Curt Addison[3]

Summit Racing Equipment Heat Race #2 Finish, Round 1 (11 Laps): 1. 1T-Tyler Erb[1]; 2. 7R-Kent Robinson[2]; 3. 29-Darrell Lanigan[9]; 4. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[7]; 5. 75-Terry Phillips[8]; 6. 11B-Tommy Bailey[4]; 7. 11H-Spencer Hughes[6]; 8. 1GK-Grant Garrison[3]; 9. 7F-Jeremy Freeman[5]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish, Round 1 (11 Laps): 1. 8-Kyle Strickler[2]; 2. 1G-Devin Gilpin[5]; 3. 71-Hudson O’Neal[9]; 4. 17D-Zack Dohm[4]; 5. 15-James Rice[6]; 6. 18L-Trevor Landrum[7]; 7. 20TC-Tristan Chamberlain[8]; 8. 13-Vern Lefevers[3]; 9. 20C-Duane Chamberlain[1]

Ohlins Shocks Heat Race #4 Finish, Round 1 (11 Laps): 1. 49-Jonathan Davenport[1]; 2. 2S-Stormy Scott[3]; 3. 14-Josh Richards[6]; 4. 1ST-Johnny Scott[2]; 5. 11R-Josh Rice[9]; 6. 20-Jimmy Owens[7]; 7. 4G-Kody Evans[8]; 8. 17C-Jeremy Creech[5]; 9. 12J-Jason Jameson[4]

MyRacePass Heat Race #5 Finish , Round 1 (11 Laps): 1. 39-Tim McCreadie[5]; 2. 76-Brandon Overton[4]; 3. D8-Dustin Linville[2]; 4. 157-Mike Marlar[8]; 5. 0H-Nick Hoffman[7]; 6. 21H-Robby Hensley[3]; 7. 16-Justin Rattliff[9]; 8. 33-Jesse Lay[6]; 9. 23T-Ethan Toedter[1]

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish, Round 2 (10 Laps): 1. 39-Tim McCreadie[4]; 2. 66C-Matt Cosner[1]; 3. 75-Terry Phillips[2]; 4. 17M-Dale McDowell[5]; 5. 49-Jonathan Davenport[8]; 6. 8-Kyle Strickler[7]; 7. 1GK-Grant Garrison[6]; 8. 14-Josh Richards[3]; 9. (DNS) 18L-Trevor Landrum

Summit Racing Equipment Heat Race #2 Finish, Round 2 (11 Laps): 1. 76-Brandon Overton[6]; 2. 83-Scott James[2]; 3. 40B-Kyle Bronson[7]; 4. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[3]; 5. 20C-Duane Chamberlain[9]; 6. 7R-Kent Robinson[8]; 7. 16-Justin Rattliff[1]; 8. 17C-Jeremy Creech[5]; 9. 15-James Rice[4]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish, Round 2 (11 Laps): 1. 11R-Josh Rice[1]; 2. 157-Mike Marlar[2]; 3. 11H-Spencer Hughes[4]; 4. 20B-Todd Brennan[3]; 5. 1T-Tyler Erb[8]; 6. 1G-Devin Gilpin[5]; 7. 12J-Jason Jameson[6]; 8. 21H-Robby Hensley[7]; 9. (DNS) 8A-Curt Addison

Ohlins Shocks Heat Race #4 Finish, Round 2 (11 Laps): 1. 71-Hudson O’Neal[1]; 2. 17D-Zack Dohm[5]; 3. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr[4]; 4. 0H-Nick Hoffman[3]; 5. 22-Gregg Satterlee[8]; 6. 2S-Stormy Scott[6]; 7. 4G-Kody Evans[2]; 8. D8-Dustin Linville[7]; 9. (DNS) 7F-Jeremy Freeman

MyRacePass Heat Race #5 Finish , Round 2 (12 Laps): 1. 20-Jimmy Owens[3]; 2. 97-Michael Chilton[10]; 3. 29-Darrell Lanigan[1]; 4. 25-Shane Clanton[5]; 5. 33-Jesse Lay[4]; 6. 11B-Tommy Bailey[6]; 7. 1ST-Johnny Scott[8]; 8. 23T-Ethan Toedter[9]; 9. 20TC-Tristan Chamberlain[2]; 10. 13-Vern Lefevers[7]