Shingledecker Shines For $7,000 Payday At Mercer

MERCER, PA – The BRP Modified Tour 25th Silver Anniversary Showdown found local racer Jeremiah Shingledecker capture the 50-lap feature win and taking home the $7,000 top prize money.  This race was to celebrate the 25th season of the BRP Modified Tour and produced the largest payoff for the Big Block Modifieds in Western Pennsylvania.

Time trials set the heat races and Garrett Krummert set the track record with a time of 16.203 and took home $100 for setting fast time compliments of Team Green/MRO Outreach Ministries.  The heats were lined up according to times and taking heat race wins were Erick Rudolph, Rex King, Jr. and Chas Wolbert.

Eric Gabany was to start on the pole for the feature, but had problems with his car and was unable to make the call for drivers introduction so he was put to the rear of the field.  This gave Jeremiah Shingledecker the pole with Mike Kinney, the Michaels Mercer Raceway Big Block Modified champion in just his Rookie Year in a Modified the outside pole.  Starting in row two was Rick Regalski and Garrison Krentz.

At the drop of the green for the 50-lap event Mike Kinney jumped into the lead at the drop of the green flag over Shingledecker, Krentz and Garrett Krummert.  Kinney held the lead through the first four laps before Shingledecker took the lead away on lap five.  The caution flag flew on lap eight for Rodney Beltz and on the restart Krummert was able to take the lead from Shingledecker with Erick Rudolph making his way into third.

Krummert set sail and extended his lead by several car lengths over Shingledecker until Krummert suffered a flat tire on lap fourteen bringing out a caution.  Krummert was able to come out at the tail of the field and Shingledecker inherited the lead again.

Several caution periods occurred in the final 35-laps but it never fazed Shingledecker and he cruised to his largest ever paying feature win.  An excited Shingledecker crawled out of the car in victory lane and said, “I need a beer!!! That’s more than double the biggest race we ever won.  I have to thank the Michaels family for putting this on.  Their track is 200% better than it was. When you have Rudolph and Krummert besides you, you can only have so many restarts until they beat you but it’s part of the show. It feels good to get back here and picking up $7000 doesn’t hurt anyone’s feelings.”

Garrett Krummert started at the rear after his flat tire and came through the field to finish second.  Eric Gabany who started at the rear of the twenty-six-car field finished third.  Fourth went to Erick Rudolph with Mike Kinney finishing fifth.

The Hard Luck Award sponsored by Rudolph Snow Plowing went to Brad Rapp who suffered engine troubles.  The New Track Record Holder and Fast Qualifier sponsored by Team Green/MRO Outreach Ministries went to Garrett Krummert with a time of 16.029.  The Fast Lap of the Race Award sponsored by Competition Carburetion went to Jeremiah Shingledecker.

This race concludes the 2022 racing season for the BRP Modified Tour Racing Series.  The board will start to work on the 2023 season and updates will be upcoming in the months ahead.

Feature Finish:  Jeremiah Shingledecker, Garrett Krummert, Eric Gabany, Erick Rudolph, Mike Kinney, Rex King, Jr., Chas Wolbert, Rick Regalski, Steve Barr, Tom Holden, Kyle Fink, Stee Slater, Eric Beggs, Josh Deems, Tyler Willard, Rodney Beltz, Garrison Krentz, Mark Frankhouser, Ray Bliss, Tom Glenn, Kevin Green, Ayden Cipriano, Adam Hilton, Dave Reges, Brad Rapp

The BRP Modified Tour racing series is a non-profit organization established to give Big Block Modifieds in the Western Pennsylvania/ Eastern Ohio area a chance to compete with one another for a higher purse structure and for a point fund for the scheduled events, started in 1998 by Tim Engles, Lon and Pam Baker and Randy Myers.  The BRP Modified Tour has had great success at bringing regional cars together at various speedways in Western Pennsylvania, Ohio, New York, West Virginia, and Canada.

We would like to thank the following sponsors for their support of our organization.  Bicknell Racing Products, Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic, Sunoco Race Fuels/ Bazell Oil, King Brothers, McCool’s Signs and Graphics/Slippery Rock Sportswear, Mad Skins Race Car Bodies/Sunflowers of Sanborn, Big Daddy’s Speed Center, Flynn’s Tire & Auto Centers,

Frankland Racing Supply, Hall’s Safety Equipment, McCandless Ford, Moore’s Auto Body,

MRO – Motor Racing Outreach/Team Green, Rockhouse Bar and Grill, Russ King Racing,

Steve’s Auto Body, Thermo Supply, Competition Carburetion, Eperthener Auto Wrecking,

GME Mfg., Racequip Safety Products, Rudolph Snow Plowing and Wrisco Aluminum.