Mat Williamson Scores 358 Modified Feature At Merrittville

THOROLD, ON Oakland, Ontario’s Dylan Westbrook scored his second victory in the Gary Cunningham Memorial as the Southern Ontario Sprints made their first visit of the season to the Merrittville Speedway on Saturday night. Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario won his fourth S&W Service Centre 358 Modified feature of the season. Rob Murray from St. Catharines, Ontario scored another victory in the Hoosier Stocks. Jay Moulton from St. Catharines, Ontario became the fifth different winner of the season in the Central Fabricating 4 Cylinders.

Rob Knapp and Dalton Slack brought the Modifieds to the green flag for their 35-lap feature with Knapp showing the way over Slack with Scott Wood, Mike Bowman, and Ryan Susice racing in the top five. Slack would take the lead away on lap six, just before the races first caution of the night. Off a lap seven restart, Knapp would regain the lead as Bowman, Mat Williamson, and Pete Bicknell raced in the top five. Williamson moved into third on lap ten. Williamson would battle with Knapp with Williamson taking the lead on lap 15. Rob Knapp spun in turn four to bring out the caution as Tim Jones and Shayne Pierce had nowhere to go on lap 28. Off the restart, Williamson and Lindberg battled for the lead with Lindberg taking the lead on the outside of turn four with five laps remaining. Off a late-race restart, Williamson would regain the lead and would go on to score the win, his fourth of the season.

Jake Brown and Steve Lyons brought the SOS to the green flag for their 25-lap A-Main with Jake Brown showing the way. Dylan Westbrook got around Cole McDonald to move into third on lap two and would go after Lyons. Westbrook would then use the slide-job to move into second place and then would take the lead away as the leaders hit lap traffic on lap seven. Westbrook would continue to stretch the lead over Jake Brown and Steve Lyons was being pressured by Mitch Brown for third place. Brown would move into third on lap 18 as Ryan Turner would move into fourth after passing Lyons on lap 19. Westbrook would go on to score the win with Ryan Turner and Mitch Brown completing the top three.

Zach Bleich and Bryce Richardson brought the Hoosier Stocks to the green flag for their 20-lap feature event with Richardson showing the way. Richardson would get loose exiting turn four, giving the lead to Rob Murray and Brad Sheehan.  Dave Bailey went up in smoke to bring out the caution on lap five. Murray would start to pull away from the field after the restart and Murray would go on to score the win, his third of the season.

Garnet Wilson and Dan McKay were on the front row for the Central Fabricating 4 Cylinders with Jay Moulton taking the lead away early on. Moulton would show the way with Tyler Lafantaisie giving chase. Off a mid-race restart, Austyn Werstroh worked his way through the field and would enter the top five, battling with Leroy Buscumb. Moulton would go on to score the win, holding off Rob Goulding by .14 thousandths of a second.

Rob Goulding scored the win in the Tim Hortons Enduro qualifier number two accelerated by JC Auto. Goulding ran his old faithful, his 12th Enduro with the car.

NEWS AND NOTES: $1 Hotdog night was once again a huge success. 99 cars signed in pitside for the racing program.

Next up on the schedule is the Canada Day Weekend doubleheader. Saturday, June 29, Submission Subs presents a full Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Racing Series program. Pit gates will open at 5, with grandstands at 5:30 and race time is scheduled for 7 pm.

Canada Day July 1, Graybar Electrical and Schneider Electric presents Fireworks! Racing action will feature the Race of Champions Dirt 602 Sportsman Series, the Action Sprint Tour presented by Race and the Northeast Late Model Alliance for RUSH Crate Late Models presented by Zanchin Truck and Trailer. The Hoosier Stocks will also have their Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt event. A school bus race will end the racing action before a gigantic Fireworks display lights up the sky. Showtime is at 7 pm.

Follow Merrittville Speedway on social media including Facebook (, Twitter (@Merrittville), and online at


S&W Service Centre 358 ModifiedsMAT WILLIAMSON, Gary Lindberg, Pete Bicknell, Mike Bowman, Ryan Susice, Scott Wood, Dalton Slack, Brent Begolo, Rick Richner, Tom Neale, Shayne Pierce, Bill Podwinski, Tanner Podwinski, Fred Carleton, Rob Knapp, Tim Jones, Chad Brachmann, Todd Gordon

Qualifying Winners: Pete Bicknell, Mat Williamson, Rob Knapp

Southern Ontario SprintsDYLAN WESTBROOK, Ryan Turner, Mitch Brown, Jake Brown, Jim Huppunen, Steve Lyons, Todd Hoddick, Ryan Susice, Cory Turner, Jamie Turner, Aaron Turkey, Cole McDonald, Holly Porter, Jim Porter, Chris Jones, Shawn Sliter, Jacob Dykstra, Adam West, Travis Cunningham, Dillon Sliter, Curtis Gartley, Al Gilletta Jr, Mike Ferrell, Kevin Pauls

Qualifying Winners: Chris Jones, Mitch Brown, Jim Huppunen, Dylan Westbrook

Hoosier StocksROB MURRAY, Brad Sheehan, Billy Bleich Jr, Bryce Richardson, Kyle Pelrine, Rob Disher, Chris Schneider, Robin Mortensen, Jason Fontaine, Zack Bleich, Dave Bailey, Adam Plazek

Qualifying Winners: Dave Bailey, Rob Murray

Central Fabricating 4 CylindersJAY MOULTON, Rob Goulding, Tyler Lafantaisie, Leroy Buscumb, Austyn Werstroh, Anthony Kelly, Jeremy Cooper, Vincent Pagnotta, Sam Iftody, Trevor Want, Garnet Wilson, Dan McKay, Fabio Oliveri, Cameron Lane, Mike Giberson, Cole Hardy, Kyle Rothwell, Kenny Hair

Qualifying Winners: Tony Kelly, Leroy Buscumb, Vincent Pagnotta