Mat Williamson Takes Checkers At Merrittville

THOROLD, ON – Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Racing returned to Merrittville Speedway with Young McNamara presenting racing action on Saturday. Mat Williamson of St. Catharines, Ontario returned to Pleasentview Victory lane in the Corr/Pak Merchandising 358 Modifieds. The Right Choice Auto & Leisure Sportsman feature was won by Brad Rouse from Fort Erie, On. Guelph On. Native Chris Hale won the feature in the Hoosier Stocks. Brent Begolo went to victory lane in Rona Doidge Modified Lites and the Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 cylinders saw Jay Moulton score the victory.

After having last week off due to a rain out, the Corr/Pak Merchandising 358 Modifieds returned to action at Merrittville Speedway. Tanner Podwinski and Dylan Davidson made up the front row for the feature. Mat Williamson made his way up to the top spot after starting 11th. The win marked Williamson’s second of the season at Merrittville. Pete Bicknell, Gary Lindberg, Fred Carleton, and Chad Chevalier completed the top 5.

In Right Choice Auto & Leisure Sportsman action, Billy Bleich Jr. and Darrell Farraway led the field to green. Brad Rouse would go on to win after starting 8th. Rouse held off last year’s track champion Cody McPherson, Curtis Friesen, James Friesen, and outside pole sitter Darrell Farraway.

After Trevor Want and Bryce Richardson took the green in the Hoosier Stocks, it would be two weekly favourites emerging from the mid pack to duel for the checkers. Chris Hale, who started 13th was able to hold off Dave Bailey who started 12th. Rounding out the top five was Mark Fawcett, Kyle Pelrine, and Donny Lampman.

Ryan Anderson and Leroy Buscumb made up the front row for the Rona Doidge Building Centres Modified Lites feature. A familiar face would once again find himself in Pleasentview Victory, as Brent Begolo made it three wins in a row in the division. Begolo scored the win over Josh Sliter, Tyler Winger Chris Watson, and Dillan Sliter.

The Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 Cylinder feature began with Richard Hadler and Vincent Pagnotta. Jay Moulton climbed from his 4th starting spot and drove away with the win. John Luebeck, Ken Hair, Tyler Lafantasie, and Austyn Werstroh completed the top five finishers.

The 71st season of racing at “Canada’s Oldest Dirt Track” gets back in action June 4th with a full night of Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Racing events presented by Auto FX Graphics & Signs. Corr/Pak 358 Modifieds, Right Choice Auto & Leisure DIRTcar Sportsman, Rona Doidge Building Centres Mod Lites, and Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 Cylinders will all take to the track to begin June. The V6’s will also see another race and the Big Bike Giveaway on this evening as well. Pit gates will open at 5:00 pm, grandstands open at 5:30, and racing will begin at 7:00 pm.

Follow Merrittville on social media including Facebook (, Twitter (@Merrittville), and now Instagram (@merrittvillespeedway). For results, point standings, and more, check out the brand new

RACE RESULTS –- May 28th, 2022

Corr/Pak Merchandising 358 Modifieds – MAT WILLIAMSON, Pete Bicknell, Gary Lindberg, Fred Carleton, Chad Chevalier, Luke Carleton, Ryan Susice, Shayne Pierce, Tanner Podwinski, Scott Wood, Brad Rouse, Todd Gordon, Dylan Davidson, Boyd MacTavish, Ryan Ferri, Tom Neale, Derek VanMil, Brandon Gruhl, Dave Flannigan Jr.

Qualifying Heats: Scott Wood, Fred Carleton, Gary Lindberg

Right Choice Auto & Leisure DIRTcar Sportsman: BRAD ROUSE, Cody McPherson. Curtis Friesen, James Friesen, Darrell Farraway, Justin Sharp, Adam Leslie, Billy Bleich Jr., Jay Mallory, Brent Begolo, Taylor Vanderzanden, Rob Knapp, Nelson Mason, Terry Smith, Trevor Wright, Jason Vanmil, Noah Mamo, Daniel McKay, Spencer Smolders, Nathan Peattie, Mitch Dumont, Chris Hawkins, Cameron Lane

Qualifying Heats: Cody McPherson, Taylor Vanderzanden, James Friesen

Hoosier Stocks: CHRIS HALE, Dave Bailey, Mark Fawcett, Kyle Pelrine, Donny Lampman, Rob Murray, Brad Sheehan, Jason Fontaine, Bryce Richardson, Trevor Want, Gofast Teeple, Pete Reid, Zach Bleich, John Couture, Kyle Haynes, Chris Schneider, Kyle Andress, Jim Lampman, Mark McDonald, Kacey Huffman

Qualifying Heats: Mark Fawcett, Gofast Teeple, Jim Lampman

Rona Doidge Building Centre Modified LItes: BRENT BEGOLO, Josh Sliter, Tyler Winger, Chris Watson, Dillan Sliter, R.J. Pietz, Jeffery May, Ryan Anderson, Dave Cornish, Rob Misener, Leroy Buscumb, Cohen Corbet, Ryleigh Sliter, Sean Iftody, Gavin Hill


Qualifying Heats: Josh Sliter, Brent Begolo


Vansickle Pet Valu/Pv on the Lane 4 Cylinders: JAY MOULTON, John Lubeck, Ken Hair, Tyler Lafantaise, Austyn Werstroh, Dylan Llord, Trevor Deboer, Brian Aube, Vincent Pagnotta, Cole Hardy, Jordan Denobriga, Alex Riley, Jeremy May, Marl Deagle, Sam Iftody, Richard Hadler, Cierra Keus, Dave Winniger, Clinton Barrick, Danny Wurster, Hana Rothwell, Jeremy Hughes, Mike Giberson, Randy Always


B Feature: JEREMY HUGHES, Mark Deagle, Cierra Keus, Mike Giberson, Randy Alway, Danny Wurster, Steve Miller, Mason Anderson, James McDonald


Qualifying Heats: Ken Hair, Jay Moulton, Trevor DeBoer