Mat Williamson Celebrates Another Victory At Merrittville Speedway

THOROLD, ON –  Merrittville Speedway went to the dogs Saturday night as part of Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane’s presentation of Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Racing. Mat Williamson racing out of Ridgeway, Ontario won the Corr/Pak Merchandising 358 Modified feature. The Action Sprint Tour feature went to Jacob Dykstra of Port Colborne, Ontario. In the Right Choice Auto and Leisure Sportsman feature, Wainfleet, Ontario’s Adam Leslie grabbed the win. For the first time in his career at Merrittville, Clinton Barrick of Port Colborne, Ontario won the Vansickle Pet Valu, PV on the Lane Feature.

The Corr/Pak Merchandising 358 Modified’s welcomed special guest Ken Schrader, who piloted a second Bicknell Number 42 to a 16th place finish. Derek VanMil and Boyd MacTavish led the field to green, but VanMil was penalized for jumping the start. That moved Todd Gordon to the front of the field, who led the opening laps until caution flew for Luke Carleton spinning in front of the field. Two drivers involved in the incident, Gary Lindberg and Pete Bicknell were able to recover to finish 2nd and 4th respectively. Mat Williamson worked his way up from 12th starting spot to eventually take the lead. Along the way, he and Gordon got together which damaged Williamson’s suspension, however he would be able to take the checkers in the top spot. Lindberg beat Freddie Carleton by the narrowest of margins at the line for 2nd, with Bicknell 4th and MacTavish rounding out the top 5.

After starting on pole, it was all Jacob Dykstra in the Action Sprint Tour powered by Pinty’s. He started on the front row alongside Mike Bowman, who lost power on the opening lap and did not finish. Darren Dryden drove up from 9th starting spot to contend for the win, but even on restarts, was not able to hang with Dykstra for long. Lap traffic made Dykstra have to work to maintain the lead, and ultimately, he would capture the checkers with Dryden 2nd, and Allan Downey 3rd. Austin Roes drove from 17th to finish 4th and Brett Stratford finished 5th.

Terry Smith and Trevor Wright led a field of twenty Right Choice Auto & Leisure Sportsman to green, with Smith getting the early lead. Billy Bleich Jr. battled for the lead with Smith for multiple laps after starting 4th. Adam Leslie would then take the lead after battling door to door with Bleich. Leslie would hang on to return to Pleasentview Victory Lane at Merrittville Speedway with Bleich 2nd, Terry Smith 3rd, Cody McPherson 4th, and Brent Begolo 5th.

On sponsor night, the Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 cylinders did not disappoint with what could be the race of the year. Randy Alway and Mark Deagle were on the front for the start of the feature, however multiple early cautions shuffled the running order. Clinton Barrick, Tyler Lafantaise, Ken Hair, Austyn Werstroh and Trevor Deboer put on a show with 5 cars swapping paint and positions for multiple laps until the caution fell coming to the white flag which set up a green, white checkered finish. Barrick, who held off multiple challenges under for the lead, would once again keep his teammate Lafantaise at bay and score his first career win in the 4-cylinder division at Merrittville Speedway.

June 12th will see Merrittville Speedway welcome the Rona Doidge Building Centres “Monsters of Merrittville” show accelerated by 97.7 HTZ FM with Monster Trucks, Freestyle Motocross, and School Bus Racing. The Pre-Race Pit Party runs from 11:30 to 12:30 with the show beginning at 1:00pm Rain or Shine. Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Racing returns June 18th with Rankin Construction presenting Vintage T-Shirt night. The Corr/Pak 358 Modified’s, Right Choice Auto & Leisure Sportsman, Hoosier Stocks and Rona Doidge Modified Lites will all be in action, while the Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 Cylinders compete in their second home track event in the Insta-Panels Duel on the Dirt. Pit gates will open at 5:00 pm, grandstands open at 5:30, and racing will begin at 7:00 pm.

Follow Merrittville on social media including Facebook (, Twitter (@Merrittville), and now Instagram (@merrittvillespeedway). For results, point standings, and more, check out the brand new

RACE RESULTS –- June 11th, 2022

Corr/Pak Merchandising 358 Modifieds – MAT WILLIAMSON, Gary Lindberg, Fred Carleton, Pete Bicknell, Boyd MacTavish, Ryan Susice, Brad Rouse, Shayne Pierce, Chad Chevalier, Todd Gordon, Ryan Ferri, Scott Wood, Derek VanMil, Dylan Davidson, Dave Flannigan Jr., Ken Schrader, Brandon Gruhl, Luke Carleton

Qualifying Heats: Scott Wood, Mat Williamson, Fred Carleton

Action Sprint Tour Powered by Pinty’s: JACOB DYKSTRA, Darren Dryden, Allan Downey, Austin Roes, Brett Stratford, Mathieu Bardier, Jonah Mutton, Curtis Gartly, Steven Beckett, Adrian Stahle, Steven Murdock, Seth Roy, Lance Erskine, Luke Stewart, Tyeller Powless, Terry Baker, Brian Nanticoke, Johnny Miller, Ashton VanEvery, Tyler Ward, Joshua Hill, Darrell Pelletier, Mike Bowman

Qualifying Heats: Mike Bowman, Jacob Dykstra, Joshua Hill

Right Choice Auto & Leisure DIRTcar Sportsman: ADAM LESLIE, Billy Bleich Jr., Terry Smith, Cody McPherson, Brent Begolo, James Friesen, Trevor Wright, Nelson Mason, Jay Mallory, Rob Knapp, Taylor Vanderzanden, Justin Sharp, Darrell Farraway, Curtis Friesen, Jason VanMil, Jordan Cosco, Noah Mamo, Chris Hawkins, Nathan Peattie, Daniel McKay

Qualifying Heats: Trevor Wright, Jason VanMil, Cody McPherson

Vansickle Pet Valu/Pv on the Lane 4 Cylinders: CLINTON BARRICK, Tyler Lafanstaise, Ken Hair, Austyn Werstroh, Trevor DeBoer, John Lubeck, Brian Aube, Vincent Pagnotta, Fabio Olivieri, Cole Hardy, Jordan Denobriga, Matt Christie, Randy Alway, Richard Hadler, Sam Iftody, Mark Deagle, Cierra Keus, Danny Wurster, Mason Anderson, James McDonald, Jay Moulton, Alex Riley, Dustin Duga, Kyle Rothwell

Qualifying Heats: Clinton Barrick, Jay Moulton, Vincent Pagnotta