Sheppard & Friesen Carrying Momentum in Weedsport Heroes Remembered 100

 WEEDSPORT, NY (May 24, 2022) – Weedsport Speedway has long been known as the Home of DIRTcar Modified racing and this Sunday, May 29, The Port will once again welcome the biggest stars and the fastest cars through its gates, led by Matt Sheppard and Stewart Friesen, for the Super DIRTcar Series Heroes Remembered 100.

It’s no secret that Sheppard and Friesen have claimed the lion’s share of Modified laurels in recent years and it’s also no secret that the duo has ruled Weedsport Speedway over the last decade.

Since 2010 Sheppard and Friesen have combined for ten Super DIRTcar Series victories at Weedsport, with Friesen standing as the most recent winner on July 25 of last year.

A former winner of the Heroes Remembered 100 in 2018, Friesen has three SDS wins at Weedsprort since 2017 and is riding a wave of momentum following his most recent NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory at Texas Motor Speedway.

Coupled with a pair of Super DIRTcar Series top five finishes to open the season and the current series point lead, Friesen is poised to claim another $7,500 pay check this Sunday.

While Friesen has displayed recent success at Weedsport, Sheppard has claimed seven SDS wins at The Port since 2010 and comes to Weedsport this Sunday as the most recent winner on the Super DIRTcar Series tour.

Following a dominating win in the Thunder on the Thousand Islands at Can-Am Speedway on May 18, Sheppard is looking for his first tour win at Weedsport since he claimed back-to-back events in 2019.

While Friesen and Sheppard can be considered as favorites, there are a host of other drivers looking to stand on top of Victory Hill including recent series winners at Weedsport such as Mat Williamson, Max McLaughlin and Erick Rudolph.

Williamson is the defending Heroes Remembered 100 champion behind the wheel of the BuzzChew No. 88 and is sitting solidly in third in the current championship with two Top 5 finishes to start the year.

McLaughlin earned his first Super DIRTcar Series win at Weedsport in October of 2020 and has since rejoined HBR Motorsports behind the wheel of the No. 8H.  Currently second in the standings, McLaughlin is itching to get back to home base this weekend.

The 2019 champion of the Heroes Remembered 100, Rudolph, joins Sheppard and Friesen as the only drivers to have won more than one SDS event at Weedsport in the last five years.

Throw in the likes of Jimmy Phelps, Peter Britten, Jack Lehner, Anthony Perrego, Billy Decker, Tim Sears Jr., Tim Fuller, Justin Haers, Larry Wight, Mike Mahaney and more and this Sunday’s action is shaping up to be the official jump start of summer.

The Super DIRTcar Series will be joined on Sunday by the DIRTcar Sportsman and the CRSA Sprints.

Tiger Acoustic will be on the main stage prior to action getting underway, starting at 4 p.m.

Tickets are now available for Weedsport Speedway’s season opener via MyRacePass.

Fans can purchase general admission or reserved seating online by visiting and clicking on the Tickets tab, which will redirect to MyRacePass.  From there, after clicking on the Get Tickets tab, fans are able to select the seats of their choosing.

Fans can also purchase tickets by simply searching for Weedsport Speedway at or by using the MyRacePass App.

Reserved seating for the Sunday, May 29 Heroes Remembered 100 is set at $35 with general admission seating set at $30.  Youth general admission for ages 11-15 is just $15 with kids 10 and under admitted free with a paid adult.

Advance pit passes are also available via Pit Pay.  The Pit Pay App is free to download via the Apple App or Google Play Stores.  From there, search Weedsport Speedway and purchase pit passes for yourself or your entire team.

Member pit passes are available for $35, with non-member pit pass available for $40.

Pit gates open on Sunday at 3 p.m., with grandstand gates swinging open at 4 p.m.  Hot laps for the night will begin at 5:25 p.m. with qualifying slated for 6 p.m.

Camping for the Heroes Remembered 100 is also available online by visiting

Tickets for Weedsport Speedway’s events on July 24, August 21 and September 10-11 are also now available at MyRacePa