Rudolph Dominates Big Block Mods at Tri-City

GUY MILLS, PA — Tri-City Raceway Park opened up the 2017 on Sunday, May 14, with Erick Rudolph scoring a dominating win in the Big Block Modified Division. Other winners included Brent Rhebergen (E-Mods), Ralph Engle (Allegheny Sprint Tour Racesaver 305 Sprints), Josh Seippel (RUSH Modifieds) and Chris Ketch (Vintage Modifieds).

An “Invert Zero” redraw saw heat race winners Brian Swartzlander and J.R. McGinley lead the 15 car Big Block Modified field to the green. The racing action was short lived as Swartzlander and McGinley got together just past the flagstand. Jeremiah Shingledecker, Jason Sines, Tom Glenn, Ryan Riffe and Kevin Hoffman also got collected in the accident. Swartzlander and McGinley were towed to the pit area. Shingledecker, Sines and Riffe drove away from the scene but also retired to the pits.

When green flag racing resumed Rudolph immediately took the lead and dominated the event, lapping all but second place finisher Brad Rapp. It was Rudolph’s third victory in his three visits to the Venango County oval. Chris Haines, Jim Rasey and Rod Laskey completed the top five.

Veteran Sprint driver Ralph Engel scored his first ever victory at the raceway as he led the entire distance of the 20 lap Allegheny Sprint Tour Racesaver 305 main event. Engel was driving the George Frederick owned machine and dedicated the win to his father Ralph Engel, Sr., who passed away last year. Jacob Gomola challenged Engel but settled for second at the checkered flag. Dakota Schweikart, Dale Schweikart and Rob Felix completed the top five.

Gomola and New Jersey’s Jeff Taylor won the prelims with Engel scoring the win in the dash.

Brent Rhebergen has picked up quite a few wins at Tri-City Raceway Park in E-Mod action over the years and the Clymer, NY driver continued his winning ways on Sunday. Scott Stiffler led the first seven circuits until the event’s lone caution flew for a spin by rookie Chris Rudolph. When the racing action resumed, Rhebergen wrestled the lead away from Stiffler and went on to score the win. Long time Tri-City supporters Mike Potosky, Matt Lux, Shawn Shingledecker and Carl McKinney rounded out the top five.

Rhebergen and Stiffler picked up the E-Mod heat wins.

Oil City driver Josh Seippel scored his first ever RUSH Sportsman Modified victory. Seippel led the 15 lap main event wire-to-wire defeating Billy Myers, Brian Schaffer, Kole Holden and Brandon Ritchey.

Holden and Chelsie Kriegisch won the heat events for the 20-car field.

Ransomville, NY invader Chris Ketch held off a late race charge by local favorite Les Meyers to score the win in PA Vintage Modified action.

Tri-City Raceway Park will be back in on Saturday, June 3 with the USA-East sanctioned Truck and Tractor Pulls. The next oval track event will take place on Sunday, June 18, as we present the Fathers Day Spectacular featuring the 410 Sprints, the “Bill Emig Memorial” for the RUSH Late Models, Allegheny Sprint Tour Racesaver 305 Sprints and RUSH Sportsman Modifieds. Pit Gates for these events will open at 3:00PM with Grandstand gates opening at 4:00PM. The action will begin promptly at 6:00PM.

To keep up to date all of the latest news from the raceway be sure to visit our website at You can also follow us on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at For additional information please contact the Speedway Office at (814) 795-0718.

May 14, 2017 Results

Big Block Modified Finish: Erick Rudolph, Brad Rapp, Chris Haines, Jim Rasey, Rod Laskey, Rodney Beltz, Tom Glenn, Kevin Hoffman, Kevin Mohney, Rich Whitney, Brian Swartzlander, JR McGinley, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Jason Sines, Ryan Riffe, Justin Rasey, DNS.

Allegheny Sprint Tour Racesaver 305 Sprint Finish: Ralph Engel, Jacob Gomola, Dakota Schweikart, Dale Schweikart, Rob Felix, Kyle Colwell, Rob Bartchy, Zach Hawk, Jermy Hill, Glenn Noland, Greg Dobrosky, Jeff Taylor

E-Mods: Brent Rhebergen, Mike Potosky, Matt Lux, Shawn Shingledecker, Carl McKinney, Scott Stiffler, Jeff Johnson, Bud Watson, Amanda Stiffler, Chris Rudolph, Josh Ferry.

RUSH Sportsman Modified Finish: Josh Seippel, Bill Myers, Brian Schaffer, Kole Holden, Brandon Ritchey, Jeremy Weaver, Steve Slater, Justin Shea, Chelsie Kriegisch, Kyle Martell, AJ Gillespie, Nick Ritchey, Tiffany Williams, Will Schaffer, Jessica Shea, Blaze Myers, Jessica Kriegisch, David Kalb, Jr., DNS, Jordan Ehrenburg, DNS, Preston Cope, DNS.