Louis Jackson Jr. Wins Championship Night At Mohawk; Chris Raabe 358-Mod Champ

AKWASASNE, NY – For a few drivers Championship Night is one to enjoy their hard work and dedication to the sport of dirt racing. For others, it becomes a season of “what ifs”. On this night the Mohawk International Raceway would crown 5 track champions and celebrate a season which began in May and concluded on this evening. The track crew had prepared one of the finest surfaces of all season and that’s saying something due to the notorious wet season we’ve had. After the heat races were over and a few valuable points were collected, it was time for feature action.
First up, it would be the Turtles Nest Mini Stocks as CJ Smith and Curtis Smith were locked into a mere 5 point separation atop the division and a champion would be crowned. The front row would see CJ Smith and Curtis Smith see the first green flag for 15 laps. Lindsay would experience mechanical issues on the green flag with Smith leading. Jamie Larocque would take the top spot on lap 2, until the first yellow would come out as Kevin Greenfield stopped on the front stretch. On the restart, Larocque would take the lead again with Smith in 2nd. By lap 6 Frances White would take the lead coming off of turn 4. Not to be bested Larocque would hang tough running second. The two drivers would race side by side until lap traffic became an issue on lap 11. White was able to use the lap traffic to his advantage to hang on to the lead. Frances White would park his car into Victory Lane. CJ Smith was crowned Track Champion in the Turtles Nest Mini Stock division. Tehanonshakhanien Thompson was the Rookie of the Year.
The King Kanna Limited Sportsman was set to battle for their 15 lap feature as Jacory Thompson would start on the pole. Thompson was up to the challenge as he took off like a rocket from the start. Ty David was able to get to the second spot by lap 7. However Thompson would not face a challenge in the green to checkers feature to pick up the win.  Ty David would earn the Track Championship in the King Kanna Limited Sportsman. Devon Guyette would win Rookie of the Year honors.Ty David would be named Track Champion.
The 358’s would be on tap next for their 30 lap affair on Championship Night. With the point title already decided with Chris Raabe taking the honors, all that was left was to race for the win.  Louie Jackson Jr and Perry Francis would start on the front row. Jackson would quickly move to the topside and begin to pull away. Francis and Preston Forbes would run 2nd and 3rd respectively. By lap 4 Jackson would have a quarter track lead over the 2nd place car of Francis. By lap 10 Jackson’s lead would increase to half a track lead. Preston Forbes would take the number two spot away from Francis on lap 11. The restart would see Jackson take off once again to the top spot . The yellow would come out again as Greg Atkins would have mechanical problems on lap 16. Once the cars fired again, Jackson would set sail into turn 1 and begin to pull away once again. Jackson would lead it wire to wire to pick up the win.
The Famous Aye’s Pro Stocks were ready to go for their 20 lap event as Eric Jean Louis was ready to go from the pole. Blayne NIchols would fire from his outside. Nichols would make his way around Louis for the lead and bring Denis Gauvreau with him to second by lap 6. At the half way point Nichols would start to break away from the field from the highside. On lap 14 Melvin Rush would come to a stop in turn 3 to bring out the yellow. On the restart, Zach Daniels would pull a slide job to gain the lead coming off of turn 4. Daniels would hold off NIchols for the win. The 2023 Famous Aye’s division track champion would be Kevin Fetterly Jr.. Natscha Lebrun would win Rookie of the Year honors.
The final feature of the evening would be the CrossRoads Tobacco Sportsman for 25 laps. Starting on the front row it would be Kristian Smoke  and Dan Jalbert.  On the start, Thomas Cook would make his way to the front to take the lead on lap 1. Cook would quickly power off the turns to keep the lead. On lap 4 Cedric Gauvreau would begin to challenge Cook for the lead and would complete the task on lap 5. By lap 9 Gauvreau would open up a commanding lead over Cook with current point leader Nick Heywood running 4th. Gauvreau would lead the feature the rest of the way to pick up the win. Nick Heywood be named Track Champion for the second time at Mohawk. Blayden Arquette would be Rookie of the Year.
358 Mod Feature (30 Laps): 1. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[1]; 2. 66X-Carey Terrance[5]; 3. 45R-Preston Forbes[4]; 4. 01-Chris Raabe[7]; 5. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[9]; 6. 555-Perry Francis[2]; 7. 21-Robert Delormier[3]; 8. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[10]; 9. 28-Jordan McCreadie[11]; 10. 7M-Madison Mulder[17]; 11. 74-Lucas Fuller[8]; 12. 55-Matt Woodruff[13]; 13. 23P-Mike Stacey[14]; 14. 23-Pryor Stacey[16]; 15. 1NY-Greg Atkins[12]; 16. 151K-Brian McDonald[6]; 17. 34-George Foley[15]; 18. 12W-Keith Weston[18]; 19. 55R-Dan Reif[19]
Sportsman Feature: 1. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[6]; 2. 04-Dale Gonyo Jr[8]; 3. 29-Nick Heywood[5]; 4. 35-Thomas Cook[4]; 5. 03-Joshua Jock[9]; 6. 95J-Dan Jalbert[2]; 7. 83D-Dustin Bradley[7]; 8. 9-Kristian Smoke[3]; 9. 54G-Greg Snyder[10]; 10. 22E-Eric Gauvreau[12]; 11. 7D-Eugene Tarbell[11]; 12. 1W-Brad reif[14]; 13. 18-Blayden Arquette[1]; 14. (DNS) 94-Gabriel Cyr; 15. (DNS) 44-Casey Swamp
A Feature 1: 1. 30-Zack Daniels[8]; 2. 22B-Blayne Nichols[2]; 3. 8-Marc Lalonde[6]; 4. 9-Eric Jean Louis[1]; 5. 6-Stephane Lebrun[12]; 6. 72G-Denis Gauvreau[4]; 7. 1X-Ian Bressette[7]; 8. AK47-Joel Herne[3]; 9. 22-John Green[10]; 10. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[9]; 11. 69-Bill Thwaits[14]; 12. 11-Melvin Rush[11]; 13. 71-Delbert LaGrow Jr[15]; 14. M2-Anthony Mossow[13]; 15. O6-alex labrun[16]; 16. 7S-Chad Vallance[17]; 17. 3-Jonathan Rush[21]; 18. 23-Russell Alloggio[18]; 19. 9S-Keegan Stowell[20]; 20. 5-Sid Harmer Jr[5]; 21. 6J-Natacha Lebrun[19]; 22. (DNS) 4-Roch Aubin; 23. (DNS) 28-Burton Ward
A Feature 1: 1. 60-Francis White[7]; 2. 12A-Jamie Larocque[3]; 3. 7-Antoine Dumouchel[6]; 4. 88D-CJ Smith[1]; 5. 9-Jordan Terry[5]; 6. 22-Jacob Fountain[4]; 7. 114-Felix Lavictoire[9]; 8. 7D-Macy Tarbell[13]; 9. 73-John Brown[12]; 10. 43-Richard Thorton[11]; 11. 50-Cale Manor[10]; 12. 59-Tyler Noel[16]; 13. 88X-TEHANONSAKHNION THOMPSON[14]; 14. 11R-Shawn Reid[15]; 15. 11A-Kevin Greenfield[8]; 16. 0D-Tyler Woods[17]; 17. 88C-Curtis Lindsay[2]
Limited Sportsman Feature (15 Laps): 1. JR7-Jacory Thompson[1]; 2. 14-Ty David[6]; 3. 16-Dustin Woods[3]; 4. 11X-Devon Guyette[5]; 5. 21L-Skylar Ladouceur[8]; 6. 21-Bob Laware[4]; 7. 314-Nick Mallette[2]; 8. 18JR-Denis Rose[11]; 9. 04G-Dale Gonyo[14]; 10. 18-Justin Lazore[12]; 11. 25S-Steven Tremblay[13]; 12. 1W-Kyle Reif[10]; 13. (DNS) OOT-Terry Lamica; 14. (DNS) 72-Kevin Foster