Ferguson Tops Night 1 Of Mohawk Fall Nationals

AKWASASNE, NY – When the September air is felt its a sign of many different things, children returning to school, the weather is changing, summer is coming to end but most importantly it is time for the Mohawk Nationals. This evening on Friday September 15th the skies were clear and the temperatures were ideal for a great night of racing. On hand, it would the final leg of 3 series. The final events would be the Good Leaf series for the 358 modifieds, the Twin Leaf Sportsman series, and the Marijuana World series for the Pro Stocks. Also on the card this night, it would be the Limited Sportsman and the Mini Stocks. With an ideal racing surface for the drivers and fans alike it would a great evening of racing action.

The first feature of the evening would see the Mini Stocks set to go for 15 laps. Starting from the pole it would Frances White along side Jamie Larocque. White would begin to pull away on lap 2 but the yellow would be displayed. On the restart, White would once pull away until lap 5 when the yellow would come out again. Once the green flag came out and White would take the lead again. White would dominate the 15 lap feature to pick up the win.

The final race of the Twin Leaf Sportsman series for 35 laps, it would be Casey Swamp on the pole. Swamp would set a torrid pace with Adam Rozon in second. Dustin Bradley would slip past Rozon for the 2nd spot on lap 4. Swamp would lead the first 15 laps until Nick Heywood would overtake Bradley and Swamp for the lead on lap 16. The feature would remain green until lap 29, as Bradley would clip a yuke tire coming off of turn 2. Heywood was becoming caught in lap traffic as Swamp was beginning to work his way to battle for the top spot. On the lap 29 restart, Heywood and Swamp would set up a fantastic finish. Heywood would not be challenged again and would park it in Victory Lane.

The final series race for the 358’s would see a 40 lap race. Shawn Shaw would be the first car to see the green flag. Ryan Stabler would start 2nd to his outside. Stabler would pull even on the first lap then pass Shaw coming off of 4 to lead the first lap. By lap 10 Stabler and Jonathan Ferguson would put on a clinic for the rest of the field as they broke away. The yellow would come out on lap 20 as Mike Stacey stopped entering turn 1. On the double file restart, Ferguson would pull off a hard charge coming off of 4 to become the new leader on lap 22. By lap 27 the yellow would come out as Louie Jackson Jr stopped entering turn 3 and would require assistance back to the pits. On the restart, Ferguson would again maintain the top spot with Stabler in pursuit. Ferguson would not feel any pressure again and would make his way to the win.

The Pro Stock Marjiuana World final race was ready to go as Bruno Cyr and Eric Jean Louis would fire from the front row for 30 laps. Jean Louis would get past Cyr and rim ride around the top with Cyr and Luke Hornung trying to catch him. Horning would take over the lead on lap 4. Denis Gauvreau would take the lead away on lap 7. Horning was not going away quietly as he would pull even with Gauvreau. By lap 16 Gauvreau would go off the speedway and need help getting his car back on track. On the restart, Horning would take to the top side and begin to set sail in hopes of finding Victory Lane. Sid Harmer Jr would ride second trying to figure out the fast way to the number one spot. However it was to no avail as Horning would pick up the win in the Marijuana World series race.
The final feature of the evening would see the Limited Sportsman for 15 laps. Rico Hernandez and Brady Howard would start one and two. By lap 2 Howard would take the lead with Hernandez running in second. At the half way point it was the Brady Howard show as he began to flex his muscle on the top side. Howard would find Victory Lane on night one of the Mohawk Fall Nationals.

358 Modifide Feature (50 Laps): 1. 44-Johnathon Ferguson[3]; 2. 77E-Ryan Stabler[2]; 3. 01-Chris Raabe[12]; 4. 151K-Brian McDonald[7]; 5. 28-Jordan McCreadie[5]; 6. 15X-Justin Stone[9]; 7. 7S-Shaun Shaw[1]; 8. 21-Robert Delormier[19]; 9. 45R-Preston Forbes[13]; 10. 74-Lucas Fuller[17]; 11. 66X-Joshua Jock[16]; 12. 9-Tyler Meeks[18]; 13. 36B-Dan Beachard[22]; 14. 55-Matt Woodruff[14]; 15. 13A-Troy Audet[11]; 16. 23-Pryor Stacey[21]; 17. 1NY-Greg Atkins[20]; 18. 14B-Brendan Darrah[24]; 19. 12W-Keith Weston[25]; 20. 23T-Tim Smythe[23]; 21. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[6]; 22. 555-Perry Francis[10]; 23. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[8]; 24. 7M-Madison Mulder[4]; 25. 23P-Mike Stacey[15]; 26. (DNS) 1W-Brad reif; 27. (DNS) 55R-Dan Reif

Sportsman Feature: 1. 29H-Nick Heywood[8]; 2. 35R-William Racine[5]; 3. 44-Casey Swamp[1]; 4. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[19]; 5. 04-Dale Gonyo Jr[7]; 6. 0-Shane Pecore[10]; 7. 3-Adam Rozon[2]; 8. 63M-Franklin Mackin[14]; 9. 92T-Tristan Ladouceur[18]; 10. 0X-Xavier Andrews[21]; 11. 20-Bucko Branham[3]; 12. 18C-Chris Cayea[12]; 13. 19-Jamy Begor[20]; 14. 22R-Dylan Rabtoy[13]; 15. 10X-Cory Castell[24]; 16. 7-Codie Aubin[17]; 17. 88-Fire Swamp[25]; 18. 29-Tanner Forbes[11]; 19. 54G-Greg Snyder[6]; 20. 33-Travis Bruno[15]; 21. 95J-Dan Jalbert[16]; 22. 18-Blayden Arquette[22]; 23. 7D-Eugene Tarbell[27]; 24. M70-Billy Cook[28]; 25. 9-Kristian Smoke[9]; 26. 16-Dustin Woods[23]; 27. 314-Nick Mallette[26]; 28. 83D-Dustin Bradley[4]

Pro Stock Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2H-Luke Horning[5]; 2. 5-Sid Harmer Jr[3]; 3. 1X-Ian Bressette[7]; 4. 8-Marc Lalonde[14]; 5. AK47-Joel Herne[18]; 6. 9-Eric Jean Louis[2]; 7. 30-Zack Daniels[12]; 8. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[6]; 9. 6-Stephane Lebrun[21]; 10. 22CA-Gabriel Caouette[16]; 11. 22B-Blayne Nichols[10]; 12. 28-Burton Ward[17]; 13. 22-John Green[11]; 14. 4-Roch Aubin[22]; 15. 33-Bruno Cyr[1]; 16. 15-Jonathan Viens[9]; 17. 38JR-Justin Chaput[20]; 18. 0N-Owen White[24]; 19. 7S-Chad Vallance[25]; 20. 71-Delbert LaGrow Jr[28]; 21. 122-Rene DAmours[26]; 22. 64-Dan Desnoyers[13]; 23. 194-Yves Hamel[8]; 24. 00-Bill Thwaits[23]; 25. 72G-Denis Gauvreau[4]; 26. 11-Melvin Rush[15]; 27. 23-Russell Alloggio[19]; 28. 61-Levi Bombard[27]

Mini Stock Feature (15 Laps): 1. 60-Francis White[1]; 2. 7X-Terry Green Jr[3]; 3. 114-Felix Lavictoire[5]; 4. 75-Emily Massy[11]; 5. 64-Brad Jerome[13]; 6. 71-TERRY GREEN[6]; 7. 21C-Evan Griffith[7]; 8. 21-Marc Voyer[4]; 9. 12A-Jamie Larocque[2]; 10. 88X-TEHANONSAKHNION THOMPSON[8]; 11. 11R-Shawn Reid[9]; 12. 88C-Curtis Lindsay[10]; 13. (DNS) 7D-Macy Tarbel

Limited Sportsman Feature (15 Laps): 1. 54-Brady Howard[2]; 2. 4-Rico Heranadez[1]; 3. 14-Ty David[6]; 4. 21L-Bob Laware[4]; 5. 1-Thunder Anderson[8]; 6. 29C-Mathew Lavalley[3]; 7. 935M-Brian McGinley[7]; 8. 417-Riley Francis[9]; 9. (DNS) 114-Jake Granacker; 10. (DNS) 1W-Cameron Reif