Pauch Jr. Picks Up Fourth Win of the Year at New Egypt

NEW EGYPT, NJ  – For the fourth time this year, Billy Pauch, Jr. won the 358 Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway. Jason Dunn was victorious in the Crate Modified main event. The Street Stock feature was taken by John Meyer. David Burns and Rick Wegner, Sr. picked up wins in the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman features.

As the 30-lap 358 Modified feature got underway, Bryan Kuhl jumped to the front with Chris Grbac and Andrew Bohn next in line. By lap six, Kuhl had developed a comfortable lead over his rivals with Grbac and Bohn dueling for the runner-up spot. After ten tours, Kuhl’s advantage was a full straightaway with Grbac, Bohn, Steve Davis and John McClelland racing in the top five. On lap 13, Davis drove by Bohn to gain third and began to battle Grbac for second. Just as Kuhl was catching the rear of the field, the seventeenth place starting Billy Pauch, Jr. continued his ascent towards the front by moving into fourth place on the seventeenth circuit. By lap twenty, Kuhl was maintaining his lead by maneuvering through lap traffic with Davis in second and Pauch, Jr. in third. Two revolutions later, Pauch, Jr. worked his way by Davis with Ryan Godown in fourth. The first caution of the race took place on the twenty-third lap for Ryan Krachun. On the restart, Pauch, Jr. outgunned Kuhl to take command of the pack. The second yellow flag waved one lap later again for Krachun. When the green flag was shone, Pauch, Jr. kept his lead with Godown motoring into second and Kuhl slipping back to third. Pauch, Jr. survived one additional restart with two circuits remaining to secure his fourth win of the year. Godown, who started the race in thirteenth, was the runner-up. Kuhl’s strong performance resulted in a third place finish. Fourth place went to Steve Davis with veteran Willie Osmun taking fifth. The 358 Modified heat winners were Andrew Bohn, Rocco Infante, and Steve Davis.


In the Crate Modified feature, Jason Dunn took the lead on the second tour from Jordan Cox and paced the field for the remaining circuits to win the 16-lap event. The race, originally scheduled for 20-laps, was shortened when the thirty minute time limit was met. The win was Dunn’s first in the Crate Modified division after two previous victories in the Sportsman class. Dan Fleming was second. Eighteenth place starting Ryan Simmons finished in third. Cox was fourth and fifth was taken by John Criscione. Jason Dunn, Jordan Cox, and John Criscione won the Crate Modified qualifying races. Kyle Kania was the victor in the consolation contest.


John Meyer led from start to finish to grab his second career feature win in the 15-lap Street Stock feature. Ron Frees came home in second. A good battle for third place was earned on the last lap by Mick Search. Bill Liedtka, the heat race winner, was fourth and Billy Wroble completed the event in fifth.


In the first 8-lap feature for the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman, David Burns overtook Joseph Brown on the fifth circuit to collect his fifth feature win of the year. Brown, Rick Wegner, Sr., Rob Mancini and Walt McIntyre completed the field.


Rick Wegner, Sr. was awarded the victory in the second 8-lap Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman feature after the car of the apparent winner, David Burns, did not meet the minimum post-race weight. Walt McIntyre, Joseph Brown and Rob Mancini rounded out the top four.


On Saturday, June 10, the May Modified Madness Finale takes place for the 358 Modifieds. Four drivers, Danny Bouc, Steve Davis, Ryan Godown and Billy Pauch, Jr., will battle it out for the May Modified Madness title with the top finishing driver in the feature taking home the 2017 title.  The Hammer Sportsman, Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman and the Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club will be in action as well. The pit and spectator gates will open at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps crank up at 6:00 p.m. and the first green flag flies at 7:00 p.m.Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.


New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike.   A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country.  New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house.  The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.


For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.




358 Modifieds


Heat 1 – 1. Andrew Bohn 2. David Van Horn 3. Chris Grbac 4. Danny Bouc 5. Chad Barney 6. Kevin Vaclavicek


Heat 2 – 1. Rocco Infante 2. Bryan Kuhl 3. Willie Osmun 4. PJ Oliver 5. Billy Pauch, Jr. 6 Ryan Krachun


Heat 3 – 1. Steve Davis 2. Brandon Grosso 3. Ryan Godown 4. John McClelland 5. Jimmy Blewett 6. Doug Ostwald





  1. BILLY PAUCH, JR. 2. Ryan Godown 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Steve Davis 5. Willie Osmun 6. David Van Horn 7. John McClelland 8. Danny Bouc 9. Ryan Krachun 10. Andrew Bohn 11. Brandon Grosso 12. Rocco Infante 13. Lou Cicconi 14. Kevin Vaclavicek 15. Jimmy Blewett 16. John Pakenham 17. Chris Grbac 18. Tim Apgar 19. Doug Ostwald 20. Chad Barney 21. PJ Oliver


Crate Modifieds


Heat 1 – 1.  Jason Dunn 2. Alonzo Morales 3. Dakota Kessler 4. Billy Osmun, III 5. JD Cranstoun 6. Steve Hicks


Heat 2 – 1. Jordan Cox 2. Dan Fleming 3. Johnny Bangs 4. Connor King. 5. Tommy Tanner 6. Eric Palmer


Heat 3 – 1. John Criscione 2. Aaron Weaver 3. George Gareis, Jr. 4. Jason Bittner 5. Frank Dorry, Jr. 6. Ryan Simmons


Consolation – 1. Kyle Kania 2. Jeremy Martino 3. John Aumick 4. Tom Princiotta 5. Joseph Brown 6. Robbie Dunn



  1. JASON DUNN 2. Dan Fleming 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Jordan Cox 5. John Criscione 6. Frank Dorry, Jr. 7. Eric Palmer 8. Aaron Weaver 9. Kyle Kania 10. Tommy Tanner 11. Jason Bittner 12. Alonzo Morales 13. Billy Osmun, III 14. George Gareis, Jr. 15. Rick Wegner, Sr. 16. Walt McIntyre 17. David Burns 18. JD Cranstoun 19. Johnny Bangs 20. John Aumick 21. Dakota Kessler 22. Connor King 23. Tom Princiotta 24. Jeremy Martino 25. Steve Hicks 26. Joseph Brown 27. Robbie Dunn


Street Stocks


Heat 1 – 1.  Bill Liedtka 2. Mick Search 3. John Meyer 4. Ron Frees 5. Billy Wroble 6. Darren Cox 7. Marty Derr 8. Joe Reid



  1. JOHN MEYER 2. Ron Frees 3. Mick Search 4. Bill Liedtka 5. Billy Wroble 6. Darren Cox

DNS: Marty Derr, Joe Reid, Spider Ensinger, Sr.





  1. DAVID BURNS 2. Joseph Brown 3. Rick Wegner, Sr. 4. Rob Mancini 5. Walt McIntyre





  1. RICK WEGNER, SR. 2. Walt McIntyre 3. Joseph Brown 4. Rob Mancini


DQ: David Burns