Buffalino Gets by Pauch Late for “Garden State Gunfight” Win

NEW EGYPT, NJ – At New Egypt Speedway’s Garden State Gunfight, Dominick Buffalino fought off his rivals to win the 60-lap Modified feature while Matt Stangle bested the field in the 25-lap Sportsman event.

As the Modified feature got underway, Wade Hendrickson grabbed the lead with Steve Davis and Ryan Godown next in line. Godown would advance into the runner-up spot with six circuits completed. With ten laps recorded, Godown was cutting into Hendrickson’s margin with Davis in third and Anthony Perrego in fourth.

Godown pulled even with Hendrickson on the twelfth lap and took over the lead one tour later. As the green flag circuits clicked away, Godown began to approach the tail end of the field on the eighteenth lap with Perrego in second.

With the top two runners in the midst of lapping cars, Billy Pauch, Jr. and Dominick Buffalino were making moves to gain third and fourth place respectively by the twenty-first revolution.

As Perrego was closing in on Godown, the first caution of the event took place as Rick Laubach collided hard with the outside wall in turn one and collected Brett Kressley in the incident.

On the ensuing restart, Godown maintained his edge with Buffalino jumping into second, Pauch, Jr. staying in third and Perrego dropping back into fourth. The high line running Buffalino began to challenge Godown for the top spot when PJ Oliver’s ride slowed on lap twenty-eight.

When green flag racing resumed, Godown and Buffalino dueled for two tours with Buffalino switching to the inside lane to take command of the contest just before the caution flag waved for the mid-race fuel stop.

At the halfway point, the top five runners were Buffalino, Godown, Perrego, Pauch, Jr. and Davis. After the brief break, action returned with Buffalino still on top but Pauch, Jr. taking over second. Pauch, Jr., who started the event in fourteenth, catapulted to the front on the thirty-third lap following a caution period for Ryan Krachun.

Once on top, Pauch, Jr. began to distance himself from his foes with Buffalino and Godown dicing for second with twenty laps remaining in the contest. Five tours later, Buffalino was slowly carving into the comfortable margin that Pauch, Jr. had established.

By the forty-sixth lap, the top two began to enter lap traffic. Over the next several revolutions, Buffalino began to slice into the leader’s advantage. With only four tours left, Buffalino had reeled in Pauch, Jr. and was ready to contend for the lead.

On lap fifty-seven, Buffalino motored by Pauch, Jr. to assume the front running spot. Buffalino paced the field for the final circuits to claim the $6,000 first place prize. Pauch, Jr. came home in second with Godown claiming third. Duane Howard drove up from his twelfth place start to finish in fourth. Perrego’s strong run netted him fifth.

The Modified heat winners were Danny Bouc, Rick Laubach, Ryan Godown and Dominick Buffalino. Frank Cozze and Jeff Strunk were victorious in the consolation races.

In the 25-lap Sportsman event, Matt Stangle gained the lead on the sixteenth lap and remained on top to collect the victory. Steve Davis led the opening fifteen tours before Stangle assumed the advantage following a restart.

Second place was taken by Mike Lyons. Involved in a caution on the eighth circuit, JR Fulper came from the back of the pack to finish in third place.

Jim Housworth, who started the race in eighteenth, was fourth with Jason Dunn taking fifth. Mike Lyons, Steve Davis, Jason Bittner and Jason Dunn won the Sportsman qualifying races. The consolation contests were taken by Tommy Tanner and Jim Housworth.

On Saturday, July 1 at New Egypt Speedway, the Firecracker 40, presented by
48 Barriers.com, will see the 358 Modifieds competing in a 40-lap feature.

The Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Hammer Sportsman and an amazing fireworks display will be on the docket as well. The grandstand and pit gates open at 4:00 p.m. Warm-ups get underway at 6:00 p.m. and racing starts at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $25, $23 for seniors 65 & older, $15 for teens 12-15, $15 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great
Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt
oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online: www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



Heat 1 – 1. Danny Bouc 2. Anthony Perrego 3. Brett Kressley 4. Jimmy Horton

Heat 2 – 1. Rick Laubach 2. Duane Howard 3. Wade Hendrickson 4. Billy Pauch, Jr.

Heat 3 – 1. Ryan Godown 2. Ryan Krachun 3. John McClelland 4. David Van Horn

Heat 4 – 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Steve Davis 3. Tim Buckwalter 4. Jimmy Blewett

Consolation 1 – 1. Frank Cozze 2. Lou Cicconi 3. PJ Oliver 4. Kevin

Consolation 2 – 1. Jeff Strunk 2. Ryan Watt 3. Andrew Bohn 4. Keith Hoffman

DNQ: Chris Grbac, Brandon Grosso, Bryan Kuhl, Chad Barney, John Pakenham, Willie Osmun, Rich Rutski, Sam Martz, John Willman, Steve Young


1. DOMINICK BUFFALINO 2. Billy Pauch, Jr. 3. Ryan Godown 4. Duane Howard 5.
Anthony Perrego 6. David Van Horn 7. John McClelland 8. Frank Cozze 9. Danny Bouc 10. Lou Cicconi 11. Jimmy Blewett 12. Brett Kressley 13. Andrew Bohn 14. Steve Davis 15. Wade Hendrickson 16. PJ Oliver 17. Jeff Strunk 18. Jimmy Horton 19. Ryan Krachun 20. Keith Hoffman 21. Tim Buckwalter 22. Rick
Laubach 23. Kevin Vaclavicek 24. Ryan Watt


Heat 1 – 1. Mike Lyons 2. Jeremy Martino 3. Cale Ross 4. JR Fulper

Heat 2 – 1. Steve Davis 2. Matt Stangle 3. John Aumick 4. Frank Dorry, Jr.

Heat 3 – 1. Jason Bittner 2. Tom Princiotta 3. Ryan Simmons 4. John Criscione

Heat 4 – 1. Jason Dunn 2. David Burns 3. Dan Fleming 4. Pat Wall

Consolation 1 – 1. Tommy Tanner 2. Eric Palmer 3. Kyle Kania 4. Dakota

Consolation 2 – 1. Jim Housworth 2. Will Dupree 3. Aaron Weaver 4. Mickey Kessler

DNQ: Joe Dill, Jesse Dill, Bill Liedtka, Johnny Bangs, Marty Resnick, Walt McIntyre, Billy Osmun, III, George Gareis, Jr., Jason Kosch, Justin Moench, Jimmy Amato


1. MATT STANGLE 2. Mike Lyons 3. JR Fulper 4. Jim Housworth 5. Jason Dunn 6.
Frank Dorry, Jr. 7. Jason Bittner 8. John Criscione 9. Kyle Kania 10. John Aumick 11. David Burns 12. Tommy Tanner 13. Jeremy Martino 14. Cale Ross 15.
Dakota Kessler 16. Tom Princiotta 17. Mickey Kessler 18. Dan Fleming 19.
Steve Davis 20. Will Dupree 21. Pat Wall 22. Ryan Simmons 23. Aaron Weaver
24. Eric Palmer