Rutski Races To His First Career 358 Modified Feature Win AT New Egypt Speedway

NEW EGYPT, NJ – On Hammer Companies Night at New Egypt Speedway, Rich Rutski raced to his first career 358 Modified feature win.  The Hammer Sportsman contest was taken by Bob Lineman, Jr. Ryan Godown took top honors in the Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars main event with Connor King capturing the checkered flag in the Crate Modified feature.

As the 30-lap 358 Modified feature began, polesitter Bryan Kuhl rocketed to the lead with Rich Rutski and Steve Davis in pursuit. After back-to-back cautions on the second circuit, Rutski passed Kuhl to take command of the field as action resumed. On lap four, the caution lights illuminated for the third and final time for DJ Ruppert. On the ensuing restart, Rutski, who chose the outside lane, outgunned Kuhl to remain on top with Davis in third, David VanHorn in fourth and Ryan Godown in fifth. On lap nine, Davis worked his way past Kuhl to assume the runner-up position. As the event reached the halfway point, Rutski built himself a half straightaway advantage over Davis with Kuhl in third and VanHorn holding off Willie Osmun and Godown in a good battle for fourth. With ten laps remaining, Rutski was approaching slower competitors and Davis was edging closer to him. By the twenty-third tour, Rutski began to reconstruct his margin as he had lapped one of his rivals to put a car between him and Davis. During the final circuits, Rutski maintained his advantage and crossed the finish line ahead of the pack to become the seventh different winner in the last seven features at New Egypt Speedway. A strong run by Davis netted him the runner-up spot. Third place was nabbed by Kuhl. After fourth place was swapped several times in the final five laps, Godown outdueled VanHorn for the position. Bryan Kuhl,
Steve Davis and Lou Cicconi scored wins in the 358 Modified heat races.

In the 20-lap Hammer Sportsman feature, Bob Lineman, Jr. led every circuit to claim his first checkered flag of the season. The victory was his twelfth career win. TJ Lilly finished in second place with Cale Ross completing the race in third. Tenth place starting JT Trstensky came home in fourth with JR Fulper taking fifth. The Hammer Sportsman heat races were captured by JR Fulper and Cale Ross.

For the seventh time in 2017, Ryan Godown won the Northeast Wingless Sprint Car main event. In the non-stop 20-lap event, Jermain Godshall paced the field for the first two circuits before Lee Nardelli grabbed the lead. On lap twelve, Godown, who won the qualifying contest, worked his way past Nardelli for the top running spot and led the remaining distance. With Nardelli finishing second, Eric Jennings took third. Godshall and Rich Mellor rounded out the top five.

Connor King headed his rivals for all twenty revolutions to claim his third victory of the year in the non-point Crate Modified feature. Tommy Tanner crossed the finish line behind King. Eric Palmer drove up from his twelfth place start to take third. Fourth went to Ryan Simmons while John Aumick finished in fifth. Frank Dorry, Jr. and George Gareis, Jr. won the Crate Modified qualifying races.

Eastern Auto Parts Warehouse Night is set for Saturday, August 12 at New Egypt Speedway. The racing docket includes the 358 Modifieds, Crate Modifieds and Street Stocks. All gates will open at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps get cranked up at 6:00 p.m. and the first green flag waves at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike.   A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country.  New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house.  The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on
Facebook at, or follow us on
Twitter @nesspeedway.


358 Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Bryan Kuhl 2. John Pakenham 3. PJ Oliver 4. David VanHorn 5.
Ryan Krachun 6. Ryan Godown

Heat 2 – 1. Steve Davis 2. Billy Pauch, Jr. 3. Rich Rutski 4. John
McClelland 5. Kevin Vaclavicek 6. DJ Ruppert

Heat 3 – 1. Lou Cicconi 2. Danny Bouc 3. Tad Cox 4. Doug Ostwald 5. Tim
Apgar 6. Chad Barney


1. RICH RUTSKI 2. Steve Davis 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Ryan Godown 5. David VanHorn
6. Willie Osmun 7. Billy Pauch, Jr. 8. Tad Cox 9. Ryan Krachun 10. Kevin
Vaclavicek 11. Lou Cicconi 12. Chad Barney 13. Tim Apgar 14. Doug Ostwald
15. DJ Ruppert 16. Chris Grbac 17. Blaine Bracelin 18. Danny Bouc 19. John
Pakenham 20. PJ Oliver 21. John McClelland 22. Derek Krum

Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. JR Fulper 2. Marty Resnick 3. Will Dupree 4. JT Trstensky 5.
Mike Lyons 6. Kyle Lilick 7. Steve Desmelyk

Heat 2 – 1. Cale Ross 2. Bob Lineman, Jr. 3. Billy Osmun, III 4. TJ Lilly 5.
Pat Wall 6. Ryan Lilick 7. Shaun Ratchford


1. BOB LINEMAN, JR. 2. TJ Lilly 3. Cale Ross 4. JT Trstensky 5. JR Fulper 6.
Ryan Lilick 7. Mike Lyons 8. Billy Osmun, III 9. Dakota Kessler 10. Sammy
Piazza 11. Pat Wall 12. Marty Resnick 13. Will Dupree 14. Shaun Ratchford
15. Jason Kosch 16. Andy Visinski 17. Jimmy Amato 18. Mickey Kessler 19.
Kyle Lilick

DNS: Steve Desmelyk

Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1.  Ryan Godown 2. Lee Nardelli 3. Eric Jennings 4. Rich Mellor 5.
Jermain Godshall 6. Larry Drake 7. Duane Nixon 8. Bob Tersillo 9. Anthony
Sesely 10. Joseph Vandenbogart


1. RYAN GODOWN 2. Lee Nardelli 3. Eric Jennings 4. Jermain Godshall 5. Rich
Mellor 6. Larry McVay 7. Duane Nixon 8. Bob Tersillo 9. Anthony Sesely 10.
Larry Drake 11. Joseph Vandenbogart

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Frank Dorry, Jr. 2 Eric Palmer 3. John Aumick 4. David Burns 5.
Jordan Cox 6. Ryan Simmons

Heat 2 – 1. George Gareis, Jr. 2. Connor King 3. JD Cranstoun 4. Dan Fleming
5. Tommy Tanner 6. Steve Hicks


1. CONNOR KING 2. Tommy Tanner 3. Eric Palmer 4. Ryan Simmons 5. John Aumick
6. Frank Dorry, Jr. 7. Steve Hicks 8. Jeremy Martino 9. Jordan Cox 10. David
Burns 11. Dan Fleming 12. Kyle Kania 13. Alonzo Morales 14. Walt McIntyre
15. Tom Princiotta 16. John Criscione 17. Joseph Brown 18. George Gareis,
Jr. 19. Johnny Bangs 20. JD Cranstoun