Lineman and Godown Get Wins at New Egypt on Fan Appreciation Night

NEW EGYPT, NJ – At New Egypt Speedway’s Fan Appreciation Night presented by Black Horse Racing, Bob Lineman, Jr. registered the win in the Mr. Sportsman Classic contest. The Mr. Northeast Wingless Sprint Car Classic was taken by Ryan Godown. John Criscione took top honors in the Crate Modified feature. Mick Search schooled the field in the Street Stock
main event while Joe Garey, Sr. won the 4-Cylinder race.

Bob Lineman, Jr. recorded his second win of the season in the 30-lap Mr. Sportsman Classic for the Hammer Sportsman. Steve Desmelyk led the opening three circuits in the extra distance affair before Lineman, Jr. gained command. Lineman, who started the contest in sixth, paced the field for the remaining revolutions to take the win. Billy Osmun, III finished in second place after passing Mike Lyons with one lap remaining. With Lyons finishing third, Pat Wall was fourth and JR Fulper completed the race in fifth.

Wall and Lineman, Jr. won the Hammer Sportsman heat races.

In the non-stop 25-lap Mr. Northeast Wingless Sprint Car Classic, Ryan Godown grabbed the lead from Duane Nixon on the fifth tour and went unchallenged the rest of the way to score his ninth checkered flag of the season. The runner-up spot went to Lee Nardelli. Rich Mellor came home in third. Fourth was taken by Larry McVay and Nixon captured fifth.

The Northeast Wingless Sprint Car qualifying race was taken by Larry Drake.

John Criscione overtook JD Cranstoun on the fifth circuit to score the victory in the 25-lap Crate Modified feature. The win was Criscione’s first in 2017 and the second of his career at New Egypt Speedway. Tommy Tanner, who won last week’s race, followed Criscione across the finish line. A strong run by George Gareis, Jr. netted the improving driver third place. Dan Fleming was fourth. After starting in twenty-second, Stephen Kemery drove to a fifth place finish.

Tom Princiotta, John Aumick and John Criscione were victors in the heat races for the Crate Modifieds.

After winning the heat race, Mick Search took the lead from John Meyer on the second circuit and led the remainder of the way to win the 20-lap Street Stock main event. The victory was Search’s first of the year. Bill Liedtka claimed second and Meyer finished in third. Spider Ensinger, Sr. outdueled Darren Cox for fourth place.

The 15-lap 4-Cylinder race was won by Joe Garey, Sr. Justin Dunn controlled the race for the opening seven circuits before Garey assumed the top running position. Todd Francis was second. Scott Dunn, Justin Dunn, and Brendon Hires completed the top five.

On Saturday, September 2 at New Egypt Speedway, the Flemington Family of Dealerships presents Championship Night. The 2017 point titles for the 358 Modifieds, Hammer Sportsman, Crate Modifieds, Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars and Street Stocks will be decided on this special evening of racing.

Mechanic Races have been added to the agenda after being postponed from the August 26 program. All gates unlock at 4:00 p.m. Warm ups begin at 6:00 p.m. and the first qualifying event kicks off at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. Pat Wall 2. Mike Lyons 3. Steve Desmelyk 4. JR Fulper 5. Will Dupree 6. Jason Kosch 7. Joe Reid

Heat 2 – 1. Bob Lineman, Jr. 2. Cale Ross 3. Billy Osmun, III 4. Jimmy Amato 5. TJ Lilly 6. Ricky Wegner 7. Marty Resnick


1. BOB LINEMAN, JR. 2. Billy Osmun, III 3. Mike Lyons 4. Pat Wall 5. JR Fulper 6. Will Dupree 7. Jimmy Amato 8. Steve Desmelyk 9. Ricky Wegner 10. Marty Resnick 11. Joe Reid 12. Andy Visinski 13. Eric Conk 14. TJ Lilly 15. Shaun Ratchford 16. Cale Ross 17. Jason Kosch

Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1. Larry Drake 2. Ryan Godown 3. Duane Nixon 4. Heidi Hedin 5. Lee Nardelli 6. Larry McVay 7. Jermain Godshall 8. Whitey Kidd, III 9. Rich Mellor 10. Joe Vandenbogart


1. RYAN GODOWN 2. Lee Nardelli 3. Rich Mellor 4. Larry McVay 5. Duane Nixon 6. Jermain Godshall 7. Heidi Hedin 8. Larry Drake 9. Whitey Kidd, III 10. Joe Vandenbogart

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Tom Princiotta 2. Dan Fleming 3. Jason Dunn 4. Tommy Tanner 5. Walt McIntyre 6. Johnny Bangs

Heat 2 – 1. John Aumick 2. Jason Bittner 3. Eric Palmer 4. JD Cranstoun 5. Alonzo Morales 6. David Burns

Heat 3 – 1. John Criscione 2. George Gareis, Jr. 3. Jordan Cox 4. Ryan Simmons 5. Robbie Dunn 6. Jeremy Martino


1. JOHN CRISCIONE 2. Tommy Tanner 3. George Gareis, Jr. 4. Dan Fleming 5. Stephen Kemery 6. Frank Dorry, Jr. 7. Jordan Cox 8. Kyle Kania 9. JD Cranstoun 10. Jeremy Martino 11. Tom Princiotta 12. Aaron Weaver 13. Jason Bittner 14. Alonzo Morales 15. Joe Toth 16. Robbie Dunn 17. Johnny Bangs 18. David Burns 19. Walt McIntyre 20. John Aumick 21. Joseph Brown 22. Jason Dunn 23. Eric Palmer 24. Rob Mancini 25. Ryan Simmons

Street Stocks

Heat 1 – 1. Mick Search 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Darren Cox 4. John Meyer 5. Spider Ensinger, Sr. 6. Todd Dige 7. Jimmy Avery 8. Dennis Seeley 9. Rob Shultz 10. David Kramer


1. MICK SEARCH 2. Bill Liedtka 3. John Meyer 4. Spider Ensinger, Sr. 5. Darren Cox 6. Jimmy Avery 7. Todd Dige 8. David Kramer 9. Tom Princiotta 10. Dennis Seeley 11. Rob Shultz


1. JOE GAREY, SR. 2. Todd Francis 3. Scott Dunn 4. Justin Dunn 5. Brendon Hires 6. Joe Garey, Jr. 7. Kevin Rivella