Buffalino Marches To His First Win Of The Season At New Egypt Speedway

NEW EGYPT, NJ – At the Salute to Our Veterans Night at New
Egypt Speedway, Dominick Buffalino marched to his first win of the season in
the Modified feature. Connor King took the checkered flag in the Crate
Modified contest. The Street Stock race was won by Bill Liedtka. Ryan Heim
came out on top in the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie feature. Joe
Garey, Jr. was the victor in the 4-Cylinder race.

As the extra distance 40-lap Modified feature got underway, polesitter
Dominick Buffalino jumped to the head of the pack. Eighth place starting
Brandon Grosso was quickly advancing forward and trekked into the runner-up
position with four circuits completed. Following a caution period on lap
five, Buffalino retained his lead with Billy Pauch, Jr. zipping from sixth
into second and Grosso slipping back to third place. David VanHorn, who
started the event in eleventh, had just moved into fourth place when a flat
tire on John McClelland’s car caused the yellow lights to illuminate on lap
nine. Green flag action returned very briefly as Rich Rutski’s ride rolled
over in turn one and the red flag was displayed. On the ensuing restart,
Buffalino repelled Pauch, Jr. to maintain his edge with Grosso still in
third. Danny Bouc, who won the last Modified feature on May 5, entered the
top five on lap twelve. On the fifteenth circuit with Buffalino and Pauch,
Jr. in close quarters, action slowed as PJ Oliver and Bryan Kuhl tangled in
the fourth corner. When racing resumed, Buffalino rebuffed another strong
challenge from Pauch, Jr. to keep the lead with Grosso remaining in third
and Bouc climbing past VanHorn for fourth. At the halfway point, Buffalino
was still holding off Pauch, Jr. with Grosso and Bouc dueling for third.
After a good stretch of green flag racing that saw the leaders knifing
through traffic, a string of caution periods on lap twenty eight occurred.
During this time, Pauch, Jr. was forced to retire from the event with a fuel
pump malfunction. Following the multiple yellow flags, Buffalino was still
in front with Bouc and VanHorn driving past Grosso for second and third
respectively with eleven tours remaining. As the race entered the final few
laps, a bobble by Buffalino allowed Bouc to inch closer to the leader.
Buffalino quickly recovered and navigated through some slower traffic to
take his first checkered flag of the season. Also, the win automatically
qualifies Buffalino for the final round of the May Modified Madness Series.
With Bouc coming home in second, VanHorn was third. In the last quarter of
the race, Ryan Krachun was able to motor by Grosso to finish in fourth. The
Modified heats were claimed by Brandon Grosso, Billy Pauch, Jr. and Dominick
Buffalino. Rich Rutski won the consolation event.

Following a restart, Connor King used a third to first place advancement to
win the 20-lap Crate Modified feature. Robby Dunn led the field for the
opening two tours before Tom Princiotta became the leader. After a lap ten
caution, the third place running King, who started the contest in
fourteenth, drove by the top two of Princiotta and Eric Palmer to take
command. The win was King’s fifth career victory. Princiotta held off Palmer
for second. Jeremy Martino finished in fourth and Dan Fleming came home in
fifth. Ryan Simmons and Tom Princiotta were victorious in the Crate Modified
qualifying races.

In the 15-lap feature for the Street Stocks, Bill Liedtka slipped by Jon
Meyer on the ninth circuit and paced the field the rest of the way to gain
his second win of the season. Meyer, who took the lead from polesitter Joe
Reid on the second tour, followed Liedtka across the line. Third place went
to Jim Avery. Jerry Stanzione and Marty Derr rounded out the top five.

Ryan Heim passed Bobby Holzwarth as the white flag waved and held on to win
the 8-lap Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie feature. The victory was
Heim’s fourth of the year. With Holzwarth finishing second, Paige Brown was
third and Kevin Borden, Jr. was fourth.

Joe Garey, Jr. held off his dad to win the 15-lap 4-Cylinder contest. After
winning the first two races, Joe Garey, Sr. finished in second. Justin Dunn,
Ian Ashford and Doug Ashford completed the top five.

On Saturday, June 2, Premio Foods presents Jeep Night as “The Slideways Six”
(Round of 6) of the May Madness Modified Series takes place at New Egypt
Speedway. Along with the Modifieds, Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast
Wingless Sprint Cars, Hammer Sportsman, Crate Modifieds and the Lyons
Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman will be in action. All Jeep drivers
receive half-price general admission and can participate in a parade.
Competitors may begin to enter the pits 4:00 p.m. and the grandstand ticket
windows open at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps get revved up at 6:00 p.m. with racing
getting underway at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults,
$18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal
and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is
$30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great
Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval,
New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best
competition in the country.  New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature
daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the
house.  The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear,
and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from
Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online: www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on
Facebook at www.facebook.com/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on
Twitter @nesspeedway.



Heat 1 – 1. Brandon Grosso 2. Chad Barney 3. JR Fulper 4. Ryan Godown 5.
Ryan Krachun 6.David VanHorn

Heat 2 – 1. Billy Pauch, Jr. 2. Danny Bouc 3.Matt Stangle 4. Jim Bobbitt 5.
Blaine Bracelin 6. Kevin Vaclavicek

Heat 3 – 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Bryan Kuhl 3. John McClelland 4. Davey
Sammons 5. PJ Oliver 6. Jimmy Horton

Consolation – 1. Rich Rutski 2. TJ Lilly 3. John Pakenham 4. Dakota Kessler
5. David Burns 6. Marty Resnick

DNQ: Steve Davis, Eric Engstrom


1. DOMINICK BUFFALINO 2. Danny Bouc 3. David VanHorn 4. Ryan Krachun 5.
Brandon Grosso 6. John McClelland 7. Kevin Vaclavicek 8. Davey Sammons 9. JR
Fulper 10. Jimmy Horton 11. Matt Stangle 12. Ryan Godown 13.  PJ Oliver 14.
TJ Lilly 15. Blaine Bracelin 16. Jim Bobbitt 17. David Burns 18 Dakota
Kessler 19. Billy Pauch, Jr. 20. Chad Barney 21. Bryan Kuhl 22. Marty
Resnick 23. Rich Rutski 24. John Pakenham

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Ryan Simmons 2. Steve Desmelyk 3. Rob Mancini 4. Eric Palmer 5.
Dan Fleming 6. Jeremy Martino 7. John Criscione

Heat 2 – 1. Tom Princiotta 2. Joe Toth 3. Connor King 4. John Aumick 5.
Steve Hicks 6. Kyle Kania 7. Robby Dunn


1. CONNOR KING 2. Tom Princiotta 3. Eric Palmer 4. Jeremy Martino 5. Dan
Fleming 6. John Aumick 7. Joe Toth 8. Steve Hicks 9. Kyle Kania 10. Ryan
Simmons 11. George Gareis, Jr. 12. John Criscione 13. Johnny Bangs 14. Kevin
Borden, Jr. 15. Rob Mancini 16. Bobby Holzwarth 17. Glenn McIntyre 18. Aaron
Weaver 19. Robby Dunn 20. Steve Desmelyk 21. Paige Brown

DNS: Matt Miller


1. BILL LIEDTKA 2. Jon Meyer 3. Jimmy Avery 4. Jerry Stanzione 5. Marty Derr
6. Ryan Freshneck 7. Chris Felber 8. Spider Ensinger, Sr. 9. Billy Wroble
10. Joe Reid


1. RYAN HEIM 2. Bobby Holzwarth 3. Paige Brown 4. Kevin Borden, Jr.

DNS: Matt Miller


1. JOE GAREY, JR. 2. Joe Garey, Sr. 3. Justin Dunn 4. Ian Ashford 5. Doug
Ashford 6. Scott Dunn